We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya

Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya
1-12 Dogenzaka | Shibuya Mark City East 4F, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture (Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu)
+81 3-5458-0002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 4,894 Restaurants in Shibuya
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
sydney
Level Contributor
134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We arrived about 5:30pm on a Monday and took our ticket and lined up. About 15 minutes and we were ordering. Us only speaking English and the waitress trying her very best we didn't do too badly at all. Pointing (politely we hoped) to the plate a person had next door and to a few pictures in the menu we ended up with a great variety of very, very good sushi. Sweet and soft as only never frozen and very, very fresh fish has, presented very well, we enjoyed this very much.
Yes, you do line up, Yes it is in a mall. No, it isn't a romantic setting. But it is good sushi at a fair price. Wile ever they keep doing what they are doing, that line will remain.
2 of us, some beers, a small 200ml bottle of wine, a large deluxe set platter and an 8 piece roll set added up to ¥7100. I thought that was very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    106
    25
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The place to have sushi and other Japanese seafood delicacies..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Worth the wait in the queue for an hour. Go there, you will not regret it. Try Burikama Yaki and Yubamaki Salad.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Organised chaos results in great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Found this place by accident the first time.

Looked at the line of people and figured "This must be good"

We were wrong. This was brilliant.

Once inside and seated at the long counter we watched the sushi chefs preparing our food from fresh ingredients and with minimal fuss. The food when presented was fantastic, fresh and clean in flavor and texture.

As more people entered the noise level increased with loud shouted greetings to them from the staff.

Great food, reasonable prices.

We went back again before our return home and again we were not disappointed. Be prepared for a wait to get in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“best sushi ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

queued for a long time but worth it.
Totally worth it for the mouth watering sushi. The sushi here really lives up to it's name.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sushi heaven!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wow the sushi here is amazing- yes it was a long wait (which we were expecting) via a ticketed machine- but once seated by the counter, we were right in the action seeing the sushi being prepared. We ordered a bit of everything and it all tasted amazing- so fresh. It was busy the entire night and very popular with both locals and tourists. I want to go again! Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya also viewed

 

Been to Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.