We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to have sushi and other Japanese seafood delicacies..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya

Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya
1-12 Dogenzaka | Shibuya Mark City East 4F, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture (Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu)
+81 3-5458-0002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 4,756 Restaurants in Shibuya
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The place to have sushi and other Japanese seafood delicacies..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Worth the wait in the queue for an hour. Go there, you will not regret it. Try Burikama Yaki and Yubamaki Salad.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    71
    18
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Organised chaos results in great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Found this place by accident the first time.

Looked at the line of people and figured "This must be good"

We were wrong. This was brilliant.

Once inside and seated at the long counter we watched the sushi chefs preparing our food from fresh ingredients and with minimal fuss. The food when presented was fantastic, fresh and clean in flavor and texture.

As more people entered the noise level increased with loud shouted greetings to them from the staff.

Great food, reasonable prices.

We went back again before our return home and again we were not disappointed. Be prepared for a wait to get in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“best sushi ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

queued for a long time but worth it.
Totally worth it for the mouth watering sushi. The sushi here really lives up to it's name.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sushi heaven!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wow the sushi here is amazing- yes it was a long wait (which we were expecting) via a ticketed machine- but once seated by the counter, we were right in the action seeing the sushi being prepared. We ordered a bit of everything and it all tasted amazing- so fresh. It was busy the entire night and very popular with both locals and tourists. I want to go again! Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best sushi experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a must-go restaurant in Japan. It might not serve the best sushi in the world. But with this price, you cannot ask for better sushis! The quality of the fish is marvellous. Normally sea urchin (uni) is unbearable if not fresh, but uni here is out of this world. I ordered a 2800 yen set and had an amazing time! The service was as friendly as other Japanese restaurants. Come early for shorter queue!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya also viewed

 

Been to Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.