We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sushi, be prepared to line up, but it is worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya

Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya
1-12 Dogenzaka | Shibuya Mark City East 4F, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture (Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu)
+81 3-5458-0002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 5,453 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $26
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi, be prepared to line up, but it is worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Located on the 4th floor of Mark City Building in Shibuya centre and is easy to find. This restaurant was recommended by our hotel concierge. We had to line up, but they do provide seating while you wait which is nice. If you are happy to sit at a table rather than the sushi bar then you will get in quicker. Fresh, delicious sushi and very well priced. We loved the Mixed Sushi plate, California Sushi & Salmon Norway Sushi. We will be eating here again during our stay in Tokyo because it was that delicious!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible waiter!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The waiter's manner is so wicked!!! I won't recommend any foreigner to come here. The service is also vicious...I got the bad experience when eating the miso soup because I found the fish bone inside. Normally, it shouldn't have that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“real sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Amazingly fresh, real sushi. Affordable price. So far the best sushi I've eaten. It's on the 4th floor of Mark City Mall.

Helpful?
Thank EigoNoSensei
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best sushi in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

After traveling in Japan for two weeks with my wife and son we found this to be the best sushi in all of Japan. This is a chain of sushi restaurants but we only tried the one in the Mark City shopping center just next to the Shibuya train station. The first night we arrived late and had to wait for half an hour to get in and place the last order before ten o'clock. We sat in the bar and saw how our sushi was prepared. We had set menus and my son had kappa maki sushi. The servings were very generous and we had the softest and most tasty fish ever. The next day we arrived about six o'clock and had to wait in line for more than an hour. It was easy and we enjoyed another great meal and the appreciation from the staff for coming back. Both times we had more than we could eat for less than 7,000 yen for all of us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cgra_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best place for sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You're in the sushi capital of the world, but I would have to say one of the most popular sushi restaurants for middle class Japanese people is UMEGAOKA SUSHI-NO MIDORI SOHONTEN. (shortly called MIDORI SUSHI)

MIdori Sushi has several locations. Ginza, Akasaka, Shibuya, Daikanyama and 5 other locations, None of them take reservations and the wait could be as long 90 min especially Shibuya location.

I have a tips for the traveller who can't speak Japanese, choose the booth in stead of the bar, because you can make an order by ipad, have a picture of each items, so never missed .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 155019Foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya also viewed

 

Been to Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing