We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real sushi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya

Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya
1-12 Dogenzaka | Shibuya Mark City East 4F, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-5458-0002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 4,556 Restaurants in Shibuya
4.5 of 5 stars 225 Reviews
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“real sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Amazingly fresh, real sushi. Affordable price. So far the best sushi I've eaten. It's on the 4th floor of Mark City Mall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    60
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best sushi in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

After traveling in Japan for two weeks with my wife and son we found this to be the best sushi in all of Japan. This is a chain of sushi restaurants but we only tried the one in the Mark City shopping center just next to the Shibuya train station. The first night we arrived late and had to wait for half an hour to get in and place the last order before ten o'clock. We sat in the bar and saw how our sushi was prepared. We had set menus and my son had kappa maki sushi. The servings were very generous and we had the softest and most tasty fish ever. The next day we arrived about six o'clock and had to wait in line for more than an hour. It was easy and we enjoyed another great meal and the appreciation from the staff for coming back. Both times we had more than we could eat for less than 7,000 yen for all of us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best place for sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You're in the sushi capital of the world, but I would have to say one of the most popular sushi restaurants for middle class Japanese people is UMEGAOKA SUSHI-NO MIDORI SOHONTEN. (shortly called MIDORI SUSHI)

MIdori Sushi has several locations. Ginza, Akasaka, Shibuya, Daikanyama and 5 other locations, None of them take reservations and the wait could be as long 90 min especially Shibuya location.

I have a tips for the traveller who can't speak Japanese, choose the booth in stead of the bar, because you can make an order by ipad, have a picture of each items, so never missed .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Recommended sushi restaurant in Shibuya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

the food is good,the green tea and soup served with the sushi are excellent. It was not expensive. We went at around 7:15 pm and queued for about half an hour. There are seats when you get close.I do recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely top class sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ate here a few times. The first time was when we arrived at 4pm and there were no queues at all. When the food came, we were surprised by the freshness of it all. The whole uni is worth a special mention. Other fish such as fatty tuna and akagi were good too. On other days we came at around 7pm, the queue was around 1 hour - this is a highly popular place with locals and tourists alike.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya also viewed

 

Been to Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.