We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely top class sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya

Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya
1-12 Dogenzaka | Shibuya Mark City East 4F, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture (Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu)
+81 3-5458-0002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 4,902 Restaurants in Shibuya
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
HK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Absolutely top class sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ate here a few times. The first time was when we arrived at 4pm and there were no queues at all. When the food came, we were surprised by the freshness of it all. The whole uni is worth a special mention. Other fish such as fatty tuna and akagi were good too. On other days we came at around 7pm, the queue was around 1 hour - this is a highly popular place with locals and tourists alike.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    108
    25
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The lineup looks daunting but loves quickly and the wait is worth it. We went to the one in Mark City twice and it was beautiful both times :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Really fresh sushi you can taste the ocean! I have almost forgotten the real taste of fish after eating so much boring sushi from sushi trains!
This is top quality sushi at a good price. Not a cheap eat you can getting great quality food with great quality food. If you dont like waiting, go there 30min before it opens- I know, still have to wait. But thats the norm for great food in Japan!
If you are the curious type I recommend you seat at the bar so you can take in the whole experience even more and the passion to sushi perfection of the chefs!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Long line, good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is right in the train station in Mark City, so its easy to find. The line was really long, but it actually does move very quickly, so don't give up. Sushi was great! Lots of options, so don't get scared off by the REALLY Japanese stuff that you can't identify. Reasonably priced too. I think we spent about $50 US, for the two of us. The hostess speaks fairly good english too, so you can ask some questions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Before I go there, I read the review of others saying that one usually wait for 30 minutes during lunch and dinner hour. We visited there around 2:30 pm. Fortunately, there was no line. So, we ate without waiting. We ordered the sushi special. It was really tasty and delicious. The food was bountiful. So, my wife and I ate sushi by taking out some rice from sushi. I strongly recommend trying sushi special.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya also viewed

 

Been to Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.