We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, service to match and will deliver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Priya Indian Restaurant

Priya Indian Restaurant
5-2-25 Hiro | Hongoku Bldg. 3F, Shibuya 150-0012, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-5941-6996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 4,552 Restaurants in Shibuya
4.5 of 5 stars 30 Reviews
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service to match and will deliver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Priya is a favourite among the ex-pat's here in Tokyo, they have an extensive menu and if something isn't on the menu then you can be pretty certain they will make it for you. All the dishes are excellent, authentic Indian food they can also cater to Vegetarians and Vegans and if you want Gluten-free that is no problem either. Eating in is a good option, although it does get busy so book ahead, the interior is modern and clean and they have a good selection of beers. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best Indian in Tokyo by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a hidden gem.The staff are incredibly accommodating and very friendly but most of all the food is fantastic.They will tailor the food to suit any palate and will take requests for dishes that are not on the menu.Everyone I have recommended this restaurant to has always been just as impressed as I am with it .
Decor is modern and the Bollywood videos in the background a nice touch and creates a good ambience.All in all , excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The service and the food really stand out here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

When my wife and I over excitedly ordered a korma curry together with peshwari Nan and mango chutney the waiter politely informed us that all the dishes we had ordered were sweet and that we might want to change our order. He suggested that we order the massala instead of the korma which we did. After he made that suggestion I remembered eating at Indian restaurants in the past and regretting having ordered peshwari Nan together with a sweet curry. The food was excellent some of the best I've ever had. Together with the great service I highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This is the best Indian restaurant in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A regular hang-out for the expat community, including, the Indians, Priya is on the third floor of a dingy looking building. The food is great and includes some things that are not often found in Tokyo - whole cauliflower tandoori, biryanis - together with all the usual stuff. Very friendly and efficient service, a good selection of beers (including a rare Japanese stout) and reasonable prices.

Can be crowded sometimes, and not yet smoke- free, but otherwise fantastic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food I've eaten in years...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A friend brought me here on the 20th and was absolutely blown away by what I found and tasted - unequivocally the best Indian food I've eaten in years. Everything was fresh, spiced well, but not overly so. And absolutely NO CREAM in the cooking (which happens to be the bane of Indian food in America). We had mutton curry, along with a flight of appetizers. It was fantastic.

And then the cherry on top was the service, which was nothing short of immaculate. We were doted upon like French royalty, but with the warmth and friendliness of home. The owner, Mr. Pandey, seems to know the business from top to bottom.

Seriously, who would've thought that one could find an authentic home cooked Indian meal in the middle of Tokyo? Go eat here. It's worth your while.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Priya Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Priya Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Priya Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.