We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent fried pork chop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tonkatsu Maisen Tokyu-Toyoko Restaurant

Tonkatsu Maisen Tokyu-Toyoko Restaurant
Tokyu Department Toyoko Store (West) 9F, 2-24-1 Shibuya, Shibuya 150-8319, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-3477-4582
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 4,553 Restaurants in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 stars 57 Reviews
Price range: $7 - $8
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“excellent fried pork chop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

excellent fried pork chop not to be missed. priced from 1680yen to 3780 yen. with different variety of prok for you to choose from

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“One of the best Tonkatsu ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Came here from a friend's recommendation. Wasn't thinking that it'll be any special as my No. Tonkatsu was at "Beku" in Bangkok. The restaurant is nicely decorated, spacious with high ceiling(if you were seating on the inside). The menu are the usual tonkatsu, with options of what type of pork you would like. The main one is the black pork, which I had. I did not have the chance to try the other types as one portion is more than enough to fill you up. The plate came and it was good. Softness of the pork is not as great as Beku, but it's meatier and thicker. Sauce for the tonkatsu taste like A1 steak sauce which I like so I have no complaints. I guess the tonkatsu here and Beku are good in a different way, but they are both well made.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great fried Kurobota Black Pork for those craving meat in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This review is for the Maisen restaurant in Shibuya-Ku.

Maisen is one of those places that makes you understand why Japan has total mastery over fried food. The Kurobota fried pork is really crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. I'm not a pork fan, but I visit Maisen every time I can when in Tokyo.
Plus Maisen has an awesome sauce to go with the Kurobota Pork, some sort of Japanese apple chutney, that is absolutely amazing.

Also, the restaurant is quite typical and hidden between alleys. So a nice little adventure :)
Quality over price ratio is also very reasonable.

Go to Maisen for good food, good times, great fried pork!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The quality of the meat is great and unique. The quality of the service is great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Black pork!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I've only been to the main store in Omotesando Hills, though I do see their products being sold in many basement food halls. Go to the mainstore and it is fun. The restaurant there is also in a old bathhouse, coupled with the nice walk through the small alleys of Tokyo to reach the restaurant, it is all in good fun! food is great too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonkatsu Maisen Tokyu-Toyoko Restaurant also viewed

 
Shibuya, Tokyo
 

Been to Tonkatsu Maisen Tokyu-Toyoko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonkatsu Maisen Tokyu-Toyoko Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.