We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't that impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gonpachi Shibuya

Gonpachi Shibuya
3-6 Maruyamacho 14F E Space Tower, Shibuya 150-0044, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-5784-2011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 4,556 Restaurants in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 stars 72 Reviews
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Bar
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wasn't that impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We went to the one in Shibuya & weren't that impressed. I have the feeling that by asking for the English menu, we got a different selection of food. We had a set & the sushi were "international rolls". There was also a translation error and we ended up with a 2L bottle of sake (our fault though).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    39
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great to go with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I followed the path to this restaurant from this website
http://www.picrumb.com/gonpachi-shibuya/

I thought it was a sushi restaurant, but it actually was separated in 2 different restaurant; sushi and yakitori.
I was thinking of having another sushi night, but since we hadn't tried yakitori, I went to the yakitori restaurant. The restaurant was fairly big, I didn't have to wait to get in (weekday evening), and I found the ambiance good to spend time with friends, the food was good as well, and it wasn't expensive either. I would recommend this restaurant to anybody.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, helpful staff, great setting/atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Really great food - we had yakitori beef, eel with rice, buckwheat soba noodles (cold) and teriyaki yakitori chicken and a few beers. Cost was 6400 yen each (v. Cheap compared to an equivalent meal in Australia!). The setting is very open, loud and fun.

Would recommend you book - we had to wait 30mins for a seat (though you can get a drink while you wait)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“One of the better sushi retaurants in Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I've eaten here several times when in Japan on business. It's a fairly large place on the upper floor, with some nice views and a warm atmosphere. I usually sit at the sushi bar and let the chef make recommendations. It's not exactly cheap, but the good sushi places never are. The staff is very friendly, and you can get by with English. Nice selection of sake.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit - Good Food, Atmosphere and Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After reading the reviews we disided to give this place a vist

Location - Finding it was difficult but the info given by fellow tripadvisor was great
14th floor of what looks like an office block just to the right of the little Police Station



The Food was cooked infront of us and was to very good. There is a good choice of Dishes and the Menu is in English

The staff were exellent , very helpful and Friendly. We didnt have a reservation but would recommend one .

Up on the 14th floor there were great views , the Design of the resturant is excellent

Cocktails
Starters
Vegetables dipped Crab Sauce, Asparagus Wrapped in Bacon, and Tomatoes in Bacon

Main Course
Duck and Beef Skewers with Rice

I wood recomend This place is for Couples , Freinds
We will be back another day

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gonpachi Shibuya also viewed

 

Been to Gonpachi Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gonpachi Shibuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.