We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year of the Snake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meiji Jingu

Meiji Jingu
1-1 Yoyogi Kamizonocho, Shibuya 151-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu)
+81 3-3379-5511
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Meiji Jingu like an insider
Top Rated
$43*
and up
Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple...
Ranked #1 of 100 things to do in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Two, large gates frame the entrance to this Shinto shrine that was dedicated to Emperor and Empress Meiji. Completed in 1920, repairs were required after the shrine was damaged during World War II.
Newark,Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Year of the Snake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful , peaceful, serene. This is a must see for anyone visiting the Shibuya area. We tour the shrine right before the New Year (avoiding the Millions who visit on New Years). Everything was decorated for the celebration of "The Year of the Snake". Really cool , "old world" Japan, right in the middle of Modern Day Tokyo.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    959
    720
    142
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A wonderful, relaxing day in bustling Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a week in Kyoto then a week in Habuka playing on frozen fluffy water, Tokyo was to be a few days of hectic crazy city before heading home. But we had made no plans, so with a little research upon arriving, and having enjoyed the multiple shrines and temples of Kyoto, we decided to dedicate one day to the same in Tokyo. What first drew us to Meiji Temple was... Well, CHOCOLATE. Meiji Chocolate is a) delicious, b) ridiculously cheap and c) not on my diet... Anyway, it was at the Temple we learnt for the "love, respect and fondness in the warmest heart in all of glorious Japan that the memory of good Emperor Meiji is held". Well, and we thought he must have made the chocolate...
The grounds are just wondrous, veritable forest in the heart of one of the worlds busiest cities, like Hyde or Central Park on other trips, was an absolute treat.
Cheerio

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Its lovely to sit on a bench there, theres always something going on, you'll have a good chance of seeing a wedding there, and last time I visited there was a bonsai festival^^

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Very important place in Japanese culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was grown up in Japan when my parents worked there in 1970-s and each time I visit Tokyo now I go this Temple - if You want to feel Japanese Soul and have " a taste" of Japanese life and culture , it's one of the best placec!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This shrine is breathtaking, very quiet and calming. The gardens are very nice and the shrine itself is worth the trip to Tokyo. There is a bit of a trail, so bring good walking shoes, most of the trails are made of gravel. There are some donation boxes to help maintain the gardens.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meiji Jingu also viewed

 

Been to Meiji Jingu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meiji Jingu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.