We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi

Save Saved
You added Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-26-21 Shibuya, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0002, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Shibuya
Seattle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great value, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We liked this hotel for several reasons:
1) The room was larger than we expected. Not huge, mind you, but not bad considering the stories we've heard about Tokyo hotel rooms.
2) The price was quite good.
3) Breakfast was included. It was perfectly adequate food that arrived quickly and filled us up until lunchtime.
4) The hotel is located a few blocks from the Shibuya train station, which is a great base for exploration, but the hotel area itself was more quiet than expected.
5) Free internet.

The only issue we had was that cab drivers could not seem to find this particular Tokyu Stay hotel to save their lives. There is another Tokyu Stay in Shinjuku and it's close to this one, so as long as the cab driver got us there we could walk the extra three or so blocks to our hotel.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone I knew traveling to Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    27
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
1
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've stayed at Tokyo Stay several times over the past 2 years traveling in Japan and I think the rooms are quite sufficient for a business trip. The rooms are typical size for the area but having the washer/dryer and kitchen made up for so much. I was able to pack much lighter and brought a carry on and backpack for 14days. They provide shampoo, conditioner and body wash as well as any other toiletries you made need - brush, razor, toothbrush and toothpaste. They also provide a sleeping gown and slippers - so even less to pack. Bring less but pack a small ziploc of powdered soap so you can do laundry. If you want internet bring a LAN cable - they don't have wifi. If you forget it, no worries - you can borrow one from the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

When I arrived at the hotel I inquired about getting a larger room as the single A room type was too cramped to myself and one piece of luggage. I've stayed in other hotels in Tokyo so I am knowledgeable of the room sizes being smaller than typical western standards. They told me that because I booked through a travel agent they could not change the room type. I spoke to management that I would pay any additional upgrade charges but in their polite way of course told me NO, not allowed. Besides the room being unlivable cramped, the toilet leaked water, their was urine from the previous guest on the bathroom floor, internet in the room did not work, bed an pillows were horrible making it difficult to get any sleep and the room faces the LOUD trains.
I did however like the FREE breakfast at Johnathan's Family Restaurant, they were very nice, food was prepared with care and were open 24 hours which is also nice for a late night snack.
Overall my experience with Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin- Minimaguchi was POOR and I would never stay there nor would I recommend the hotel to friends

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Good size room for Tokyo, located very close to the train station and near the Shibuya centre making is very convenient to get around. Lots of shopping and eating joints close by.
The breakfast is in an attached restaurant and it was not great, but otherwise nice place to stay in, with the included washing machine and cooking facilities in the room.

Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in a single 'D' room. The hotel is located on a quiet street, just a short walk away from the new south exit of shibuya station.. Exited through the main exit and ended up walking about 10mins to the hotel. Would recommend the hotel if you would like it to be near to where the main shopping street (about 5 mins walk) is without the disturbance of traffic and street noise. If you are taking the Narita Express(NEX) to Narita Airport, this would be a good place to consider as the station is just below the new south exit of shibuya station. Although the towels are changed everyday, bed making services and sheet changing services are not included. Nevertheless, the breakfast menu(5 set menus) at the restaurant (jonathan's) serves delicious toast.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

When I had to attend the Tokyo international Bookfair, I intended to stay at the Washington Tokyo Bay Ariake Hotel (which i reviewed here last year) right across the Tokyo Big Sight convention center on Odaiba. Unfortunately, no single rooms were available. Instead, I looked up the Tokyu Stay website on the recommendation of a friend who visited Tokyo often.

E-mail booking was easy. Access from the airport was via the dependable Ariport Limousine Bus service plus a very short cab ride. Was pleasantly surprised by this apartment hotel. The room was well-appointed, the staff a bit reserved but helpful. And since it was so close to the Shibuya station:
1. moving around Tokyo was a breeze
2. and the proximity to so many eating places and food shops (some of the best under Shibuya Station itself), I was able to indulge and cook a beautifully marbled Kobe steak and some enormous mushrooms at a fraction of the cost in a restaurant.
Oishi!
For more details and photos of my room there, you can go to my
blog at [---]

  • Liked — Location, kitchen, proximity to good food, free internet access, washing machine, trouser press
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi

Address: 3-26-21 Shibuya, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0002, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-Minamiguchi Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.