We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shibuya Creston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shibuya Creston Hotel to your Saves list
Shibuya Creston Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shibuya Creston Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-8 Kamiyamacho, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0047, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 hotels in Shibuya
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was adequate, but we found it a bit expensive for how run down it felt in the rooms. The room given to us smelled so heavily of cigarette smoke that I immediately phoned reception to ask them to move us. They were quite hesitant to comply innitially, but I was feeling poorly and to my shame lost my temper a bit, so the poor concierge was bullied into moving us immediately. They moved us two rooms down, and it did not have even of whiff of cigarette smoke to it. I am perturbed by this, as when I made our booking, I did specify a non-smoking room, and when we checked in, I also reminded them that I did not want a smoking room. And then they give us a smoking room.

Apart from this incident, the service was very good, and we were happy with our room. The Shibuya Creston is quite run down, which one would not expect from the star rating or the price, but if you know what you are getting, it is not horrible or off putting.

The hotel is a bit difficult to find, but surrounded by lovely restaurants and shops and a pleasure to get to and from the station.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

We were there taping for NHK and performing at the Parco Theater. This hotel is clean, the staff are helpful, but the location is key. NHK is just up the hill, center gai is just down the hill, and the Korean BBQ across the street is awesome! The area is very quite, but you are just steps away from all the action. There is also a 24 hr convenient store on the next street over. I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

When i showed up at 9am morning, my room was ready but the hotel manager would not let me in before 3 pm (official check in time) without paying an additional night. I had to change in the restroom at the lobby before going to my meetings. Great !

This is absolutely not something which is usual in Japan - where hoteliers are always very friendly and understanding, especially in the post-tsunami climate.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is willing to experience a true Japanese customer service.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel is about 1/2 mile from the train station so you can walk to the hotel. It is located between all the happenings of Shibuya and the Yoyogi park. The hotel staff is very friendly, speak English, and were accommodating to my needs. There are smoking rooms so ensure you ask for a non-smoking room if that's your preference. The room is small but has everything you need. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Small rooms, close to the center, price a little too high

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

If you need a base to explore Shibuya, this is a good option. It is about 10 mins walk from the main junction in Shibuya, and near all the cool bits to see.

Free Wifi works nicely, rooms are clean and a good size for Tokyo. A good idea to try the Japanese breakfast - fish, tofu, soup, yoghurt etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Not far from shibuya station, and you can take a shortcut through center gai. Not a problem with rolling luggage to this hotel. The front desk was very courteous and spoke a lot more english than I expected, no language barrier whatsoever. The room is a little small and tends to get humid in there when taking a shower/bath. If you don't like your pillow, ask for a soft one and they will bring it to you. (in japan all the pillows feel like bean bags.)
I would stay here again, and i am surprised it doesn't have more reviews.
-it has free wireless
-don't bother with their continental breakfast, there are many restaurants for cheaper all around the area. Like donuts? Go to Choco-Cro just down the street and have a yummy chocolate filled croissant.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shibuya Creston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Creston Hotel

Address: 10-8 Kamiyamacho, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0047, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 hotels in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shibuya Creston Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shibuya Creston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Creston Hotel Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shibuya Creston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.