We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for early flight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu to your Saves list
Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-4-2 Hanedakuko, Ota, Tokyo Prefecture 144-0041, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Ota
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fine for early flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked this hotel purely because we had an early BA flight at 06:25am and a few extra mins of shut eye before 12 hour flight is always welcomed!

We paid Y21,800 for a twin room, expensive because we booked at last minute, room on 7th floor, though it faced part of the runway, you really couldn't hear much and most of the flights from Terminal 2 (where the hotel is located) are departed by 9pm. As mentioned earlier, the rooms are clean, compact and perfectly adequate for a layover. The hotel does provide a free shuttle bus and it leaves the hotel at 03:50am and 04:20am, takes 10mins to get to the International Terminal, with stop at Terminal 1 in between. After these times, the only other options are after 05:00am with another shuttle bus (not hotel's) or the monorail (which is speedy and you can use your JR RailPass on).

We didn't eat in the hotel as there were plenty of dining options in the other terminals, which we hopped between because of our JR Pass, though please note some of the restaurants in T2 did close early at 8:30pm because most of the flights are departed by 9.

Happy to stay here again, convenient and staff are courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    302
    78
    14
    3
See reviews for
126
80
137
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel provides a bare minimum of the amenities that you need.
Location: At the Haneda airport overlooking the taxiways and runways.
Rooms: extremely small, but well laid out. Beds could be a bit better. Appliances- excellent.
Minibar- only drinks- so kept me from having that unnecessary midnight snack!
Gym- none - this is the biggest drawback IMHO for any hotel.
Pool- non-existent.
Wifi- excellent.
Hotel Restaurant: extremely expensive, small portions and very poor selection.
Hospitality - very good as you'd expect in Japan.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is one of my regular places to stay for a few days in Tokyo, even though it's somewhat away from the center of town. I find it convenient because of the direct limousine bus service to and from Narita airport, as well as having the Tokyo monorail and Keikyu railway stations just downstairs. As has been my previous experience, the rooms continue to be up to the same standards as in previous years, as is the service from everyone from housekeeping, to front desk, to bell staff. You are treated like a guest here, and even though I can speak enough Japanese to get by, everyone here appears to speak at least some english. Some minor changes from my previous stays concern the bathroom amenities. The traditional bath towel (long washcloth) is now being provided, and the disposable ones are no longer part of the amenity kit. I view this as a positive change. Don't forget to use the "Green" door hanger if you don't need your sheets, pillowcases, duvet, or pajamas changed, as this hotel actually has a working program as opposed to others that just advertise it, and ignore your wishes. There is no option with respect to replacement of towels yet, they will be changed daily no matter what you do or say. Don't forget to sign up as a a "Comfort Member" for 500 yen, as you can book a room at the "Comfort Members Rate" which will save you quite a bit, and earn you points you can trade for various things, including gift certificates. In essence, besides getting a discount on the room rate, you are getting an addiitonal 5% discount if you manage your points properly. There is a restaurant located in the lobby ("Flyer's Table") which has good food at a decent price, and terrific service. There are also many restaurants in Haneda terminal 2 (where the hotel is located), Terminal 1 and the new International terminal. Katsugen on the fourth floor of Terminal 2 is one of my favorites for pork cutlets, and tempura. This stay I paid (Yen)14,600 per day for the room, no meals. The rate can vary widely depending on when you book, but if the rates change and get lower, you can always modify your reservation online and get the lower rate without any problem. Good value for business travel, but I wouldn't recommend a long term stay here for families. Obviously, this hotel can't be beat for an overnite stay while connecting from or to an international flight.

Room Tip: They are all good, but try and book a deluxe room, they are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We travel frequently to Sapporo from international destinations, and have frequent layovers in Haneda or Narita. These are nice, rather large (for Japan) rooms in a good hotel. And, here's the kicker! When the bellmen (they send two for two guests) they place your luggage carts and you exit the hotel into ANA check-in counters. Plus there are many restaurant choices from hot dogs to elegant (and hotel room service). There are buses every 5 minutes to the o

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed one night due to an early morning international flight. The hotel was very convenient-being located in terminal 2. top hotel, good service and quiet considering its location!
However please be warned if taking an early morning flight, that the advertised free shuttle bus to the only terminal that is open for early flights does not start until 5am so your only option is to take a pretty pricey taxi (3000 yen for a 3 minute journey).
The hotel mentions none of this when you book your early morning wake up call but can get a taxi pretty quickly.
Not entirely their fault but there was another foreign hotel guest having a meltdown over this issue as she was about to miss her flight due to the shuttle bus times not being mentioned anywhere-so be warned!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Chose this hotel on our inbound leg from the US because we arrived at 10 pm on a 9 hour layover and the hotel's restaurant is still serving (until 1 am). I did not know whether we would be hungry and need to eat then.

Getting to the hotel late night after a long flight is not straight forward. After winding your way out of the international terminal and taking the airport shuttle, you walk a couple hundred meters past the part of domestic terminal 2 that is closed at night before entering the hotel. I did not spot the 24 hour convenience store supposedly near the hotel entrance.

We were waited on immediately at check-in. A nice young woman escorted us and our bags up to our room, then gave us the Wi-Fi code. Note that the elevator is on one end of the hotel and most rooms are a long walk. The room is OK with BBC and CCTV international news. The beds are firm and we mostly slept well. The shower/tub is long but shallow, and there are plenty of high quality toiletries.

The bar at the restaurant is not a traditional one, just a long, low table, and no one was using it the night we stayed there. Just as well. The hotel was pushing special holiday menus of up to 12,500 yen per person. The vending machines provide beer, wine, water and soft drinks.

If you are making a short connection to an international flight, there are cheaper, more convenient options. But if you are connecting to a domestic flight or have a longer layover (mid afternoon arrival), Excel will work for you better. The Tokyo monorail is close by and is very quick to downtown. The KK train goes directly to Tokyo Station and is cheaper.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. If you can't walk long distances, request a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a top hotel. Great service, and you would expect this as you pay over $300 a night for this hotel. I have a family of 6, so we had to book two ajoining rooms (ouch!). This worked out just perfect. The staff were ready for us even after close to midnight, and the kids got a bag of special treats on arrival (typically Japanese service).
But it's all worth this stay because it is quiet and it is built into the Domestic 2 terminal. Gates are literally outside the hotel room and also the busses are just a floor down from the main departure level.
The only bad thing was the English instructions to get to the hotel from the international terminal. If you arrive at the international ternimal you just have to catch the free shuttle bus to Terminal 2 from Bus stand 0.
The breakfast was varied and great. Both western and Japanese styles available, but you pay for this separately, of course. Great study desk in room and free Wifi.
If I had long layovers at Haneda, I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Gt your Wifi code on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu

Address: 3-4-2 Hanedakuko, Ota, Tokyo Prefecture 144-0041, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Ota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Ota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haneda Excel Ota
Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.