We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for layovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu to your Saves list
Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-4-2 Hanedakuko, Ota 144-0041, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Ota
4.0 of 5 stars 538 Reviews
Osaka, Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ideal for layovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed one night due to an early morning international flight. The hotel was very convenient-being located in terminal 2. top hotel, good service and quiet considering its location!
However please be warned if taking an early morning flight, that the advertised free shuttle bus to the only terminal that is open for early flights does not start until 5am so your only option is to take a pretty pricey taxi (3000 yen for a 3 minute journey).
The hotel mentions none of this when you book your early morning wake up call but can get a taxi pretty quickly.
Not entirely their fault but there was another foreign hotel guest having a meltdown over this issue as she was about to miss her flight due to the shuttle bus times not being mentioned anywhere-so be warned!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    302
    78
    14
    3
See reviews for
126
80
137
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Chose this hotel on our inbound leg from the US because we arrived at 10 pm on a 9 hour layover and the hotel's restaurant is still serving (until 1 am). I did not know whether we would be hungry and need to eat then.

Getting to the hotel late night after a long flight is not straight forward. After winding your way out of the international terminal and taking the airport shuttle, you walk a couple hundred meters past the part of domestic terminal 2 that is closed at night before entering the hotel. I did not spot the 24 hour convenience store supposedly near the hotel entrance.

We were waited on immediately at check-in. A nice young woman escorted us and our bags up to our room, then gave us the Wi-Fi code. Note that the elevator is on one end of the hotel and most rooms are a long walk. The room is OK with BBC and CCTV international news. The beds are firm and we mostly slept well. The shower/tub is long but shallow, and there are plenty of high quality toiletries.

The bar at the restaurant is not a traditional one, just a long, low table, and no one was using it the night we stayed there. Just as well. The hotel was pushing special holiday menus of up to 12,500 yen per person. The vending machines provide beer, wine, water and soft drinks.

If you are making a short connection to an international flight, there are cheaper, more convenient options. But if you are connecting to a domestic flight or have a longer layover (mid afternoon arrival), Excel will work for you better. The Tokyo monorail is close by and is very quick to downtown. The KK train goes directly to Tokyo Station and is cheaper.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. If you can't walk long distances, request a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a top hotel. Great service, and you would expect this as you pay over $300 a night for this hotel. I have a family of 6, so we had to book two ajoining rooms (ouch!). This worked out just perfect. The staff were ready for us even after close to midnight, and the kids got a bag of special treats on arrival (typically Japanese service).
But it's all worth this stay because it is quiet and it is built into the Domestic 2 terminal. Gates are literally outside the hotel room and also the busses are just a floor down from the main departure level.
The only bad thing was the English instructions to get to the hotel from the international terminal. If you arrive at the international ternimal you just have to catch the free shuttle bus to Terminal 2 from Bus stand 0.
The breakfast was varied and great. Both western and Japanese styles available, but you pay for this separately, of course. Great study desk in room and free Wifi.
If I had long layovers at Haneda, I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Gt your Wifi code on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here 2 times on a recent trip to Japan. 5 min walk to security and Terminal 2 flights at Haneda. Need to take the green shuttle bus downstairs to get to the international terminal and the white shuttle bus to Terminal 1. Cant walk to terminal 1 or the Intl Terminal from the hotel. Convenient to walk to the Friendly bus for the non stop ride to Narita. The rooms here are small but extremely clean and effective. Comfortable bed. Fast wifi. Would stay here again. Not a luxury hotel but very efficient for business travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, N.Y.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with excellent quality service at Haneda Airport. Rooms are nice size. Everything is very clean, and it is conveniently located in Terminal One at Haneda Airport, near many shops and restaurants. If you need to be held up at an airport hotel, this hotel will not disappoint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Since I had to take shinkansen from Tokyo early morning, I decided to stay 1 night as my flight was supposed to arrived at 10:30pm. Thank god I reserved as the flight got delayed and arrived at midnight. Trains/buses were all out of services. Some Japanese didn't want to stay in hotel so they opted to sleep at the terminal. I had to take a taxi as the hotel free shuttle bus was also closed. It was about 1000yen plus as the starting price was 700yen. THe hotel is located in terminal 2. Hotel was good and room was wider than the typical Japanese hotels.
Bath tub was also western style size. Overall, it's good and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
1,029 reviews 1,029 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
1,039 helpful votes 1,039 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Due to the fact we had a 6am flight from the airport and using public transport to get there by the required time seemed impossible, we decided to stay overnight at the airport. Admittedly the cost for one night was rather extravagant, however when looking at the cost of getting taxis at 3am, it worked out roughly the same.
The hotel is located in terminal 2 and for an airport hotel it’s very nice. The reception is smart and spacious. The rooms are a reasonable size, although fairly functional and without any frills. The bed was very comfortable and we had a very good nights sleep. For those people needing transfers to other terminals there is an hotel bus before 5am. Otherwise there is a free shuttle bus starting at 5 just outside the airport.
I’d certainly stay here again if I had an early morning flight. It a very easy and convenient way to get to the airport early.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu

Address: 3-4-2 Hanedakuko, Ota 144-0041, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Ota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Ota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haneda Excel Ota
Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.