We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy Restaurant, Reasonably Priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gonpachi Nishiazabu

Gonpachi Nishiazabu
1-13-11 Nishi-Azabu, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0031, Japan
+81 3-5771-0170
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 6,403 restaurants in Minato
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Touristy Restaurant, Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Like the Ambience, and being told this was the hotel on which the Kill Bill Movie had the Crazy 88 fight sequence, i was more looking forward to the 5.6.7.8 performance. this mention did increase my interest in the place

Saying this, loved the ambience, and liked the food. if the Kill Bill relation wasnt mentioned, i would consider this as another restaurant frequented by tourists

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    63
    134
    70
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must do if you go to Tokyo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great Value,Fantastic atmosphere. We sat at the bar and you must book. It was our favourite place in Tokyo.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi in ok ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great sushi served in several waves. Loved the non-traditional salmon.
The waitress spoke English very well.
The ambience was good but not fantastic.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Kill Bill Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Famous landmark in Nishi Azabu gets a bit dated and had more variety in the menu before. Food is consistent but there is better Japanese fair in that part of town. Great spot for people that come to Tokyo for the first time. English menu

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere, a bit too touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Celebrated my 10th wedding anniversary at Gonpachi a few days ago while on holiday in Tokyo.

The manager was extremely attentive and friendly, which made up somewhat for our not being able to get a private booth despite making reservations in advance. Our seats at the bar were right in the centre of the entire restaurant, so we were in the absolute heart of our Tarantinoesque surroundings. It was great fun to observe the very varied crowd all around us.

The constant shouted greetings of the staff at new arrivals proved a little grating, but with we minded less and less as we imbibed more and more of our sparkling rose...

The fact that almost half of the customers and 70% of the kitchen staff were not Japanese made it feel a little less than authentic. Also, one of the dishes was delayed but the manager was quick to notice and personally made sure that it arrived soon after.

The standard of the food was very good overall, though I will say that you can get better food and much better value elsewhere. However, what everyone goes to Gonpachi for is to soak in the atmosphere, which is truly unique and enjoyable. While this is not an absolute staple for visitors to Tokyo, it's good fun and makes for some nice memories and photos.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gonpachi Nishiazabu also viewed

 
Minato, Tokyo
Minato, Tokyo

Been to Gonpachi Nishiazabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gonpachi Nishiazabu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.