We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel and very convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-6-2 Roppngi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Santa Clarita, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel and very convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Villa Fontaine is a nice budget hotel with central locale in Roppongi Hills. I've spent more than 2 weeks total here this past year on business trips. It's literally a 3 min walk from the Roppongi Hills train station. The hotel has a traditional Japanese breakfast in the lobby every morning with free WiFi. The room only have wired internet which you can easily create a hotspot with if your laptop has that option. The Villa is right next to the Izumi Garden where you can go out for walks and runs. The hotel does not have a fitness center or a pool. The building next store has a fitness center for $20 fee, however note, if you have visible tattoos they state they won't let you use the gym. There's also a Starbucks less than 5 min away which does have free WiFi if you sign up from your laptop before stopping in. If you need a reasonable place to stay in Roppongi this is a fine hotel for that.

Room Tip: This hotel is about a $30 cab fare from Haneda airport. Most cab drivers don't know Villa Fonta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    123
    55
    13
    6
See reviews for
17
48
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

There are any number of great hotels in Tokyo, especially if you want to spend a lot. This hotel is not in the luxury category, but it is a good value for the money and we spent about $130 per night for a room with a decent sized two person bed.

These are small rooms, without a lot of storage, but they are functional and clean. The rooms are getting a little beat up from the years of use, but are not bad at all.

The staff is very helpful and efficient.

As I travel in some locations of the world where in-room wifi is still not standard, I always bring a small wireless router with me. Hook this up to the Ethernet cable in your room and you have in-room wifi.
If you do not bring a wireless router, then the only available wifi is in the lobby.


The breakfast is very good if you like any form of semi-Japanese food. It is buffet style with rice, rotating fish, rotating meatballs/hot dogs of the mini japanese sort, miso soup, hard boiled eggs, lettuce/cucumber salad, coffee and tea. Rolls and croissant are also available. Yes, this not a continental breakfast that you would find in a U.S. based hotel and nothing like the great breakfast in a European hotel, but for a quick start to your day, it is fine.

The location is very good. A few minutes walk to Roppongi for connections and the Roppongi itchome subway on the Namboku line is directly in front of the hotel. The hotel entrance is set off te street, so you have to look closely for the sign.

The Ark Hills and Izumi Gardens complex is connected to the subway station and the hotel. You can find many decent restaurants here and a nice rooftop beer garden on top of the South Ark Hills tower. When we were tired we found good Tonkatsu, sushi and shabu shabu restaurants off the escalators that go to the subway station. In the rainy days of July and August, you might find that a good option after a day of wet or humid sightseeing!

Because of the proximity to the Namboku line and the five minute walk to Roppongi, you can get to any of the areas most visitors would want to go to in the urban centers of Tokyo. The front desk staff is happy to give you a subway map and show you the station interchanges you need to use.

Overall, a very good value and the rooms are very quiet.

Room Tip: There are some different rooms. Some have a decent size two person bed, some have twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nürnberg
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a business trip. The first, unbelievable, surprise was that they do not offer WIFI in the rooms. Neither for free, not for a fee. Its just not available. I could not imagine that this is still possible. The rooms were clean, but very small and the bed was like a camp bed. Very uncomfortable. At check out the staff refused to help me with sending a local letter. This is something even a youth hostel would do for a tip. I can definitely not recommend this hotel and wonder how they got their 4 stars.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

There are far better hotels in Tokyo so I would not stay here again or recommend it. The location is not great, it's part of a mixed use complex with office towers, a shopping mall and metro station, but apart from that there is not much in the way of things to do or see in the neighbourhood and it's about a 15 minute walk to Roppongi's main area where there are shops, restaurants and bars. The rooms are fine, but the hotel has a lack of facilities (there is no bar or restaurant) and there is no wifi available in the rooms (only the lobby) which is simply not good enough in this day and age. The staff didn't shine either - I asked for assistance with the Narita Express and was told they only book airport shuttle buses.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed there with my 12 year old son. The room was pretty small as I expected it to be. Not so many English channels but at least there was CNN. The water pressure in the shower was good. No wifi in the room but I was able to bring a router for the LAN connection. Breakfast was horrible though. I should just have booked the room without the added breakfast. If you have children, they won't enjoy the typical japanese bfast fare. Just buy bread, juice and coffee from the convenience store nearby. Otherwise, since I didn't have much expectation from my stay there, I guess it was passable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed at hotel with my family over April Spring break. Whilst the rooms are small, we found the hotel very conveniently located near the subway (immediately outside hotel), and were happy to stay there. Staff spoke English well but it is worth remembering that most Japanese are not fluent English speakers..there as a communication misunderstanding at the hotel regarding our family's room reservations which was quickly resolved by the Assistant manager (Mr.Taguchi)..with minimal fuss!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to visitors to Tokyo as its convenient location , friendliness and professionalism of staff and overall condition were really great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We needed two hotel rooms in this neighborhood so we chose Villa Fontaine Roppongi for the price and after reading reviews.

PROS
located right on a metro line (metroN stop N05)
located right near Izumi Gardens and Ark Hills with lots of restaurants and shops
super helpful staff
large firm mattress
big bathroom, nice amenities, TV with English CNN

CONS
no connecting rooms
basic room is very basic, no drawers only hanging space
wifi only in lobby

Staff was super great about helping me figure out exact addresses and metro stops, better ways to get where I was going and writing out specific locations for a taxi driver in a few cases. The wifi only in lobby was great for being present and in the moment, only checking email a couple of times a day, but not good if you are in your room and want to look something up. It felt a bit 1980s in the lobby. The breakfast was Japanese style and very good. Tea better than the coffee. A nice mix of all nationalities staying there-- business and personal, some musicians, some groups, some families.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet-- it was on a quiet side, but they all might have been quiet. We were our rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi

Address: 1-6-2 Roppngi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Roppongi
Fontaine Roppongi Hotel
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.