We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Tokyo hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-6-2 Roppngi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient Tokyo hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed at hotel with my family over April Spring break. Whilst the rooms are small, we found the hotel very conveniently located near the subway (immediately outside hotel), and were happy to stay there. Staff spoke English well but it is worth remembering that most Japanese are not fluent English speakers..there as a communication misunderstanding at the hotel regarding our family's room reservations which was quickly resolved by the Assistant manager (Mr.Taguchi)..with minimal fuss!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to visitors to Tokyo as its convenient location , friendliness and professionalism of staff and overall condition were really great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    111
    46
    10
    5
See reviews for
16
43
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We needed two hotel rooms in this neighborhood so we chose Villa Fontaine Roppongi for the price and after reading reviews.

PROS
located right on a metro line (metroN stop N05)
located right near Izumi Gardens and Ark Hills with lots of restaurants and shops
super helpful staff
large firm mattress
big bathroom, nice amenities, TV with English CNN

CONS
no connecting rooms
basic room is very basic, no drawers only hanging space
wifi only in lobby

Staff was super great about helping me figure out exact addresses and metro stops, better ways to get where I was going and writing out specific locations for a taxi driver in a few cases. The wifi only in lobby was great for being present and in the moment, only checking email a couple of times a day, but not good if you are in your room and want to look something up. It felt a bit 1980s in the lobby. The breakfast was Japanese style and very good. Tea better than the coffee. A nice mix of all nationalities staying there-- business and personal, some musicians, some groups, some families.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet-- it was on a quiet side, but they all might have been quiet. We were our rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a basic hotel with everything you'd need, but it's nothing special. The location is very central; perhaps a 15-20 minute walk to the Mori Towers. The rooms themselves are okay; I felt that everything I needed was available, and the room was clean and comfortable. The one downside was that there is no Wi-Fi, just an Ethernet cable. Breakfast is served in the entrance hall and is treated almost like an "add-on" complimentary service, so don't expect anything too grand. All in all, a solid business hotel that does its job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I can't say that Hotel Villa Fontaine stands out for me in the midst of my visits to Tokyo. More than anything it reminds me of the inexpensive city-center business hotels I've been in. The rooms are very functional, not particularly comfort-driven. There weren't any drawers for your clothes. There wasn't wi-fi in the rooms. (Wired only!) The bathroom felt like a plastic modular unit that had been dropped in place. The breakfast (served in the lobby...?) wasn't something I partook in since, as I walked by, nothing grabbed my attention.
The staff were very nice and took care of my various needs. It was super nice to have access to a coin-laundry on site, something that I wish was available much more often.
I can't say I was particularly impressed with the view from my 3rd room - a sun-starved courtyard, a view of the ground floor lobby and direct line of sight into another set of rooms. Needless to say I didn't leave my drapes open... ever.
All that said, I found the location to be very handy. Izumi Gardens has plenty of restaurant choices, you're immediately on top of Roppongi Itchome station with Tameike Sanno and Roppongi stations not but 10-15 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you are in Tokyo, do check this one.Tokyo is famous for very small sized room where everything is literally one hand away ;) But Villa Fontaine is a big relief with rooms of similar size what you find in India. Its a business hotel so there are no restaurant. But it is so well located, that in the same building you have number of eating outlets including Italian & Indian. Than Roppongi main area is 10 mins walk away and there is airport transfer limousine available at ANA InterContinental Hotel which is 5 mins walk. This one is truly value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed a few nights in the hotel in a basic room. As I say it's basic, small and enough for just a night if your stuck or you're on a business trip though the proximity to Roppongi and the nightlife is good.
I arrived at about 5-6am to check in and they charged me for a full night. The breakfast buffet was in the entrance hall/check in area so i guess not much room there for anything else.
In short it does the basics, give you a place to lay your head for the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Perhaps this is more of a reflection on this particular part of Roppongi rather than the hotel itself but there was something incredibly energy draining about this stay and we had a much better experience after switching hotels and location.

If you were on a business trip in Roppongi this would be a conveniently located option. The hotel itself was clean. Rooms were tight - as was expected in Tokyo- but the bathroom was decent sized with a good shower. There was a large electric urn in the room for tea making and boiling water. A pay laundry room with several machines, dryers and and ironing board was helpful. Staff were polite and courteous.

The bed was quite uncomfortable and it was difficult to get adequate ventilation - even with the window open- or natural light. If you're after a western style breakfast I do not recommend the hotel service as you'll likely find better options outside. The yoghurt was nice but breads less of a highlight. The setup was awkward withe the buffet located too close to the seating area and feeling very cramped despite being in a very large lobby area.

Location challenging if you want to walk to a variety of restaurants and be on a major subway line. Once you're at the Roppongi Itchhome station it's super easy to get to the hotel. We found that the interchanges we were having to make at other stations were quite time consuming which diminished the convenience.

Overall we just felt zapped of energy when we were at the hotel- through no fault of the hotel itself but it was noticeable and we had a night & day difference when we changed to another hotel outside Roppongi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi

Address: 1-6-2 Roppngi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Roppongi
Fontaine Roppongi Hotel
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.