We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONLY for small business owners.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-6-2 Roppngi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ONLY for small business owners.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located in a very nice location. However, there is no room service and minibar. Breakfast is at the front desk which is very weird to me. Rooms are very clean, though very small. If you leave early in the morning and come back very late, it is okey. Amenities at rooms are enough. No view from the window at all. Anyway, if you have limited money, you can stay at this hotel. But do not expect even the minimum luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    113
    49
    11
    5
See reviews for
17
43
29
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location is excellent, right in Roppongi and close to most western business and Government / embassies. Our partner company had corporate rate, so instead of staying at rip off ANA hotel we stayed here, saving $300/night.
This is very typical Japanese business hotel, minimal front desk service, poor breakfast choice, but what bothered us the most was losing our reservation and manager told us it was our fault for not confirming before arrival. Fortunately our partner in Tokyo got us an alternative hotel (ANA) and stayed for one night while we waited for the room to open next day. It was big turn off.

Aside of that, room is okay size, if you are an American with big luggage, select next level up on room grade for more space, you might have to sleep on your bag otherwise. My room actually had a computer, which I wasn't keen on using.

If you are using the place to take shower and sleep, this is great place. If you want comfort, look for ANA or somewhere else, because Villa is not for that purpose.

Room Tip: If you are into fitness, this isn't for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is modern and very clean. We had a superior room which was a good size (we had heard horror stories about tiny Japanese hotel rooms so we were very pleased!) and comfortable. The area around the hotel is right by the main road so it is not particularly scenic but the hotel is actually very quiet. It is also in a great location right above the subway station and only ten minutes walk from the main nightlife of Roppongi. The breakfast is pretty good, there is a lot of choice but you do have to eat in the main lobby which is a bit odd. We found the staff to be very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

On a recent business trip to Tokyo I stayed here. It was fine, clean and functional with no frills. Breakfast was ok for the 2 days I was there but may have been a bit samey had I been there longer. I arrived just after midday after a long flight and transfer and they wouldn't let me check in, not impressed! Ok but not amazing.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near the underground/metro station and is close to the centre of Roppongi. The staff speak excellent English and are very attentive.

The bedrooms are small by European standards but not by Japanese standards. There are controls in the bedroom for central heat and air conditioning. The bathroom is very modern and the bath and shower are very good. Clean pajamas, robe and slippers are supplied daily along with fresh towels and linens.

The breakfast buffet is sufficient. It was very busy on weekday mornings.

There are a number of places to eat dinner nearby, some within the same complex. It is not far to walk to restaurants in the centre of Roppongi and we felt very safe walking back to the hotel late at night.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again or try another of the chain's locations in Tokyo to get to see another part of this fantastic city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were introduced to Villa Fontaine hotels via our friends in Tokyo. We made our reservations via Hotels.com. This was our second time at a Villa Fontaine property; our first time in Otemachi. I am a frequent business traveler in the States. I highly recommend this property. First, it is in a prime location. Roppongi is a beautiful area that offers a bit of everything: restaurants, nightlife, Embassies. We stayed in a Queen-bedroom. While the hotel does not offer incredible views of Tokyo the hotel is very comfortable and accessible. The hotel is near many different train lines that are within walking distance. It has just the right amount of amenities: tv, small desk and two chairs. There is not a big drawer for clothing so we kept our clothes in our bag. The rooms are not very big but I suspect most of the guests are business travelers or families on holiday and therefore not spending much time in the rooms. The mattresses at both locations were harder than typical hotel mattresses but so comfortable. The bathroom has a heated seat and is a full sized bath. Guests receive complimentary toothbrushes and hair brushes in the bathroom. We also really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning. The staff was very polite and allowed us to keep our bags up front as we arrived hours before check-in from an international flight. Highly recommended to business travelers or those looking for an affordable hotel as they sightsee the wonderful city of Tokyo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had stayed at Villa Fontaine Roppongi hotel last week. It wasn't my first visiting at this hotel. And VF Roppongi is always one of the hotel in my mind when I planning a vacation to Tokyo. I chose this hotel is because my friend is living around that area and the reasonable room rates with breakfast (altho, not so good but at least free). Free wired internet. The room size is OK according to Japanese standard. One bad thing is there could be very noisy at night for the room which is faced to taffic streets and a big tour group of hotel guests. This hotel is located at the top of the metro station Roppongi 1 chome(business area) in Namboku line. So it is convenient enough to go anywhere. And there are number of restuarants just around the hotel property. So it is not a bad choice for business traveller and tourists who wanted to stay away from center of tourist & shopping area. Besides, there is about 20 mins walking distance to Roppongi Hill or Midtown if you know the way to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi

Address: 1-6-2 Roppngi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Roppongi
Fontaine Roppongi Hotel
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.