We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-6-2 Roppngi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Uk
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

On a recent business trip to Tokyo I stayed here. It was fine, clean and functional with no frills. Breakfast was ok for the 2 days I was there but may have been a bit samey had I been there longer. I arrived just after midday after a long flight and transfer and they wouldn't let me check in, not impressed! Ok but not amazing.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    112
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
17
43
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near the underground/metro station and is close to the centre of Roppongi. The staff speak excellent English and are very attentive.

The bedrooms are small by European standards but not by Japanese standards. There are controls in the bedroom for central heat and air conditioning. The bathroom is very modern and the bath and shower are very good. Clean pajamas, robe and slippers are supplied daily along with fresh towels and linens.

The breakfast buffet is sufficient. It was very busy on weekday mornings.

There are a number of places to eat dinner nearby, some within the same complex. It is not far to walk to restaurants in the centre of Roppongi and we felt very safe walking back to the hotel late at night.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again or try another of the chain's locations in Tokyo to get to see another part of this fantastic city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were introduced to Villa Fontaine hotels via our friends in Tokyo. We made our reservations via Hotels.com. This was our second time at a Villa Fontaine property; our first time in Otemachi. I am a frequent business traveler in the States. I highly recommend this property. First, it is in a prime location. Roppongi is a beautiful area that offers a bit of everything: restaurants, nightlife, Embassies. We stayed in a Queen-bedroom. While the hotel does not offer incredible views of Tokyo the hotel is very comfortable and accessible. The hotel is near many different train lines that are within walking distance. It has just the right amount of amenities: tv, small desk and two chairs. There is not a big drawer for clothing so we kept our clothes in our bag. The rooms are not very big but I suspect most of the guests are business travelers or families on holiday and therefore not spending much time in the rooms. The mattresses at both locations were harder than typical hotel mattresses but so comfortable. The bathroom has a heated seat and is a full sized bath. Guests receive complimentary toothbrushes and hair brushes in the bathroom. We also really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning. The staff was very polite and allowed us to keep our bags up front as we arrived hours before check-in from an international flight. Highly recommended to business travelers or those looking for an affordable hotel as they sightsee the wonderful city of Tokyo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had stayed at Villa Fontaine Roppongi hotel last week. It wasn't my first visiting at this hotel. And VF Roppongi is always one of the hotel in my mind when I planning a vacation to Tokyo. I chose this hotel is because my friend is living around that area and the reasonable room rates with breakfast (altho, not so good but at least free). Free wired internet. The room size is OK according to Japanese standard. One bad thing is there could be very noisy at night for the room which is faced to taffic streets and a big tour group of hotel guests. This hotel is located at the top of the metro station Roppongi 1 chome(business area) in Namboku line. So it is convenient enough to go anywhere. And there are number of restuarants just around the hotel property. So it is not a bad choice for business traveller and tourists who wanted to stay away from center of tourist & shopping area. Besides, there is about 20 mins walking distance to Roppongi Hill or Midtown if you know the way to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel location (there are several) is Roppongi in central Tokyo, so convenient to subway lines. The Villa Fontaine's market niche can only be described as a business hotel. That is, basic, clean, frills free rooms for what in Tokyo is a very modest price.

The front desk staff are always polite, and at this Villa Fontaine location, fluent in English. The rooms are modest in size, but not as cramped as other Japanese business hotels. The mattress is fairly hard, but larger than average so good for tall foreigners. The chair at the desk is not comfortable (and no height adjustment), so working with a laptop isn't optimal. An example of the no-frills approach is that rooms only have wired ethernet access, which is free and fast. There is also free wi-fi in the lobby area.

The bath-shower are comfortable with plenty of hot water; small but not as cramped as many. All the basics are present. There is free coffee and tea in the room, but no room service, only vending machines on each floor. However the hotel is part of a subway station building complex with a variety of restaurants and convenience stores, and a short walk from the major (but noisy) Roppongi Crossing entertainment district.

Breakfast comes with the room price, and it Japanese oriented (rice, miso soup, etc.), with a few western items, and self-service. While not luxurious, it's filling and guests can go return for more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi is a very good japanese hotel hence the rooms are small and the beds are hard. The room was really clean and was well kept after. Some of the staff spoke good english and they were eager to help. The rooms were quiet and well equipped with amenities.

I can't give this hotel a five since they serve the japanese breakfast in the lobby and your clothes catches a bit of that aroma. I had the breakfast while my wife wanted something more Western so she went to Maison Paul on the backside.

Rooms has free available internet by cable, free WiFi in the lobby so bring your Macbook and if you want to have free WiFi in the room as well.

The hotel is well located, the underground stops under it and taxis were queueing outside. The cherry trees were in bloom while we were there.

I will stay here next time when I am in this part of Tokyo.

Room Tip: The rooms with number x30 x31 have a view to the back so you do not look straight into another build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great hotel within a complex with access to Metro (Namboku line), 7/11 and a wide variety of restaurants (Japanese and other asian cuisines) without having to go outside. Room size was fine with plenty of room to work comfortably and wired internet that was fast enough to allow for Skype video conferencing. Would have liked WiFi in room to allow use of tablet and mobile phone, instead had to go to lobby where free Wifi was provided. Bath was good size allowing for a proper lie-down soak at end of day. Breakfast was typical Japanese fare and plentiful if not inspiring. Reception very helpful and all had good english.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi

Address: 1-6-2 Roppngi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Roppongi
Fontaine Roppongi Hotel
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.