We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great bath & Great room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai to your Saves list
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-14-24 Higashi-shimbashi, Minato 105-0021, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location, Great bath & Great room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This Hotel was one of the best Value Hotels in Tokyo, I must say. We stayed here for 5 nights and we paid a little over $700 USD. Room was clean and modern.

The best part was, they had this Hot Bath (Onsen) at the top floor where you can enjoy traditional way of bathing in Japan. Hotel was very close to everything. You don't have to catch a taxi, you can walk to pretty much everything. I also liked that this hotel was next to Hamamachi station which was handy as if you land or depart from Haneda airport, you can take a direct train from there.

I would go back there for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    220
    56
    11
    4
See reviews for
64
89
58
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel, period.
The location is great: in a quiet neighborhood and only at 10 minutes walking to Shimbashi train station. We booked a "small room" but in fact the room was quite wide with a big bed. We were lucky as we had a 8th floor room with a nice view to the back (garden and Tokyo skyline). Every day the room was completelly cleaned and all the refurbishments - towels, bathroom, coffee - were made carefully, which was really pleasant. All the details were carefully arranged for us. Bottomline: if I'll visit Tokyo again, I'll book it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was a very nice hotel. The room and bathroom were clean and I would say the location is good because it is close to a metro station. However, bear in mind that you have to walk to the station and it's not under cover at all, so if you are going in the rainy season, you should be aware that you will need an umbrella.
They have a public bath (onsen) and that is quite an experience -- very hot water!!! It's excellent after a long day of walking!
Would I come back? Yes. But there are many other hotels to try first :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

"+" The hotel was perfect clean , with very helpful staff ( have one person who understands English little bit ) and tasty various European breakfast. Very quite area around but with some good restaurants. It' s really close (about 10-15 min walking) to Fish market ,Tokyo tower and to transport stations(5 min).Also there are a pleasant comfortable bed and pillow )))
"-" The same size of rooms for 2 and for 3 people, so the rooms for 3 people was so terrible small (we couldn't move). The hotel has a Japan bath ( open till 1am), but there not swimming pool ( you don't need bathing).

Room Tip: If you 're not smoking person book a non-smoke floor & room. They didn't use a deodorant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for aweek and enjoyed nice location as well ascwell kept room. Room was quite compact but we knew that. We arroved to Hanada airport and there was a direct train from there to nearby Daimon Station. And next to Daimon was very handy Yamanote line JR Station. Shimbashi was also notvfar away. Hotel was modern and served reasonably good breakfast buffet with both western and oriental elements.
Only minus was laundry, where some stains were left to trousers and no explanation was given - full charge. Anyone who has ever done any laundry, would have felt that material was linen and there fore bleach could have been used.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Mitsui Garden would be on the level of say a Hampton Inn in America of course the rooms are 1/4 the size in Tokyo but they function better. This is a step up from the business hotel chain Keio Presso. The beds are softer, room has a coffee maker, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in-room pants press. We had a double room which had enough room to store two bags, a desk with chair plus lounge chair and a small closet for about 5 pieces of clothing. For business the room had free, reliable in room wi -fi and adjustable air conditioning. We could get the room cool enough to sleep. It did not lock at 68F. The bathroom size was fine - it had a tub and shower with detachable head. Towels were thin. They had basket on counter with razor, toothbrush, etc in case you forgot. The hotel buffet did not look good and it was expensive so we skipped it. Elevators were fast - ours has three. They held our luggage on day of checkout. The location was easily walkable (about 8 min) to Hamatsucho or Shimbashi station (both on Yamanote JR line). Also Daimon subway station was right next to Hamatsucho. Shiodome is a new neighborhood so it doesn't have a lot of charm but the location was convenient and much quieter than Shibuya or Shinjuku for example. There are a lot of food options by the stations. Family Mart around the corner and a Pronto coffee a few blocks away as well. My two negatives were the pillows (like a thin rock) and second that I booked with otel.com. I got a good rate but I could not choose non-smoking and in Tokyo that is a major problem because almost all hotels are still half and half so we were on a smoking floor and the room smelled like an ashtray. Beware. Otherwise I would recommend this as a good business hotel option in Tokyo at the right price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Booking this hotel was confusing. I thought I had scored a real bargain. Different booking sites showed very different prices for the "Mitsui Garden Hotel" in Tokyo. On the map both seemed to be in the same place, yet the prices varied wildely. So I was eager to book via the cheaper site, ready to enjoy some luxury and feel smug for having paid so little.

Now that I'm actually in the hotel I understand. "Mitsui Garden" is a chain of hotels. They have one hotel in Shiodome, which is on the edge of the "Ginza" area. There's another Mitsu Garden hotel mere minutes away actually in Ginza. The latter is seriously expensive, the hotel in Shiodome is of average price.

The Mitsu Garden of Shiodome is located in a neighbourhood with houses in European style. The pharse "little Italy" would overdo it, but there are several Italian restaurants, an Italian supermarket and some Italian themed shops here. The Mitsui Hotel doesn't have a restaurant of its own, but on the base floor (connected to the central lobby) is a buffet restaurant. And yes, it is Italian style. For those not so keen on a daily dose of cheese, pizza and olive oil there's a "Natural Lawson" supermarket next door. Very convenient!

A walk to Ginza mainstreet takes about ten to fiveteen minutes. Mitsui Garden Shiodome is located between Shiodome stationa and Daimon station (the latter is also known as Hamamatsucho). Both require a 5 minute walk. That's not so bad every day, but when you have heavy luggage or in bad weather a hotel right on top of a station might be more convenient.

While this Mitsui Garden isn't very luxurious, it doos look new, clean and stylish. The designers managed to set an elegant, modern theme which continues in the room. The room is compact, but there's enough space around the bed(s) for big suitcases. And then there's enough space for a desk and lazy chair as well. Some Tokyo hotels offer far less space for more money. Wifi and cable Internet are available for free. The connection speed is very low during the evening; in the morning and mid day speed is okay.

The room is very well equiped, all basic things one expects at this price are there. Some noticeable things: the window in the room actually opens, which I found very pleasant. Every day roomservice brings two complimentary bottles of water to the room. There's a handy phone charger on the room, so one does not have to fiddle around with adapters.

The cons: be aware that beds in Japan are generally hard and the beds in the Mitsui Hotel are even harder than average in Japan. The cushions seem to be filled with balls, seeds or something like that and are very uncomfortable. The air circilation in the bathroom is always on and can be pretty noisy. The room key is a paper (!) card and the staff urged me not to bend or fold it. The staff does speak English, or at least gives it a try. Do mind that this hotel is a little off centre, so the level of understaning English may leave something to be desired. So while this hotel wasn't a steal at this price, it did feel very Italian to me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai

Address: 2-14-24 Higashi-shimbashi, Minato 105-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#26 Family Hotel in Minato
#28 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Rakuten, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Minato
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-Gai Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.