We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good except for room temp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai to your Saves list
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-14-24 Higashi-shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0021, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Generally good except for room temp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I agree with the majority of positive reviews here. I had a very nice room with a view of Tokyo Tower.

However a warning for those people staying in the in-between seasons (spring and autumn). I was there during a warm spell in April, however the air-con is centrally controlled and set on heating. (The girl at the front desk read from a prepared script in English basically saying it's April therefore the heating is on regardless of the actual weather).

So I was left with the choice of sweltering at night or opening the window (which meant it was very noisy with a construction site nearby).

In other hotels in a similar price range you do have much more control over the temperature in your room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    190
    42
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
71
50
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights.
Pros:
*Good location, close to many train stations, a nice 25-min walk to Ginza/Imperial Palace, a 10-min walk to Tokyo Tower, right next to a convenience store
*Spotlessly clean, not big but a systematic room with nice and simple decor, laundry facilities on the top floor in the public bath area
*Friendly and efficient staff

Cons:
*The all-you-can-eat dinner at the restaurant was pretty average.
*This is essentially an upgraded Japanese business hotel. The pillow is quite low (just one) and the bed quite firm. I personally like it but some might find this difficult.

Overall a great hotel in this price range. We had a great start to our 10-day holiday in Japan thanks to this hotel. Thank you!

3日間泊まりました。
良い点:
*ロケーション たくさんの駅に近く、銀座、皇居などへ25分で散歩でき、東京タワーも10分。コンビニもとなりです。
*小さめですがシステマティックな部屋で、とても清潔でした。内装もシンプルかつモダンです。コインランドリーが最上階の浴場についていたので助かりました。
*スタッフもフレンドリーでした

残念な点:
*バイキングの夕食をいただきましたが、残念ながらあまり美味しくありませんでした。

Room Tip: If you're using JR, get off at Hamamatsucho as it's closer. Subway Ginza Line Shimbashi is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great little hotel.
Room is small and tight - but that is to be expected here in Tokyo !
5 min walk to station
Nice and quiet
Clean public bath on 13 th floor that is VERY HOT!!!
My hubby and two boys had the buffet for breakfast one day and got their money's worth ( kids were 6000 yen, hubby was 16000 yen)
I prefer to pop around to the family mart or the lawson ( about 4 within 100 metres) and pick up breakfast and daily snacks for about 500 yen!!
Superb pizza bar across the highway walkway called trico or triest or something like that... Anyway the pizza is the best I have ever eaten... It's on a corner near a car park
Our room didn't have air con which was no problem cause it was cold, but would have been a major issue if it was hot ...
Reception staff have limited English but were very helpful with maps and trains and directions
Would recommend this hotel no probrem... He he !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Reception don't seem to speak a great deal of English but it was OK at check-in. Receptionist was apologetic about the possible smell of smoke in a non-smoking room.
Double room was a little small with the bed pushed against one wall so only one bedside table. However, it was quiet, nicely (if plainly) decorated and everything worked. All-singing and all-dancing toilet in the bathroom with a nice heated seat! Our room was on the east side and looked out toward Tokyo Tower. Room had a humidifier, trouser press, slippers, tea and coffee making facilities, Wifi and LAN. I had trouble connecting to the Wifi so pulled out the Travel Wifi adapter I'd brought with us and plugged it into the LAN creating our own Wifi which worked fine.
Plenty of power outlets for charging appliances but only the two pin variety, I could not find a 3 pin in this room.
To get to the hotel from Tokyo station by taxi cost us about 1300Yen and took between 10 and 15 minutes around 8:30pm on a Friday night.
To get to Hamamatsucho JR station from the hotel, go out the front door, turn left, go slightly round the corner of the hotel, cross the road and go down the side road in front of you. It does a dog-leg to the left and then right and then its straight on to the station. We timed it and it took us 7 minutes from the hotel to the station platform.
To get to the hotel from the station, take the North exit, cross the main road at the crossing and bear slightly left then take the narrow road to your right. It looks a little dark and lonely but its fine even late at night. The road does a dog-leg to the left, then right and the hotel is straight in front of you.
There are some Italian restaurants (a little expensive from what we looked at) and a CocoCurry house on the street the hotel is on, go out the front door and bear right.
There are more restaurants, pubs and bars on the streets near the station.
Tokyo Tower is within walking distance (I think maybe 20-25 mins), we also walked back from the Tokyo station area through Ginza.
There is a good view of the City from The World Trade Center Observatory, on the same road as the station.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms on the west side would get train-noise but otherwise the hotel is in a very quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

As mentioned in the title,
the hotel is very well located, close to Rail and metro station and is very well connected to the rest of the city and japan.
the staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful.
the staff paid full attention to ones needs and went out of the way to help and make oneself comfortable.
we traveled in a group, one of us fell ill at the last moment and hence we had extra rooms, the staff went ahead and understood our issues, cancelled and modified the bookings on the day of arrival, thereby reducing the financial burden on us.
the hotel was excellent with regards to cleanliness, room quality, comfort and services like, coffee, tv, air purifier, iron, free wifi, good mattresses etc

Room Tip: we were in small double rooms (as they were cheaper), they were small but good for two people. i gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hotel centrally located with lot of food joints around particularly a Japanese curry restaurant a few minutes down the road. Railway stations are also in close proximity, stations like hamamatsucho , daimon and Tokyo . At least one English speaking person is available at the front desk all the time. I d say the hotel is good value for money. Wi fi and lots of toiletries are thrown in as goodies. Overall a good hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Good location with easy access to the public transportation system in Tokyo. Less than 10 minute walk from Daimon or Hamamatsucho subway stations. Rooms were decently sized for Japan - very efficient use of space and clean. Free wifi although it was certainly spotty at times. Room included humidifier/air purifier (much needed as Tokyo is very dry) and safe (I've realized that not all Japan hotels have this). Staff was very helpful and courteous - not everyone speaks English though, but there is usually an individual or two at the front desk to assist. 24 hour Lawsons right next door for easy access to snacks and late night eats. Public bath house with a nice added bonus - again, very clean. Access to washer ($3) and dryer ($1 per 30 minutes); although dryer was not particularly strong and needed 90 minutes for clothes to dry. Breakfast was decent and good way to start the morning with a variety of Japanese/Western dishes. Depending on how much you are paying for it and if it's included in the deal, going to Lawsons or other nearby eateries might be cheaper. Very good value based on the other prices that we were seeing during our trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai

Address: 2-14-24 Higashi-shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0021, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#21 Business Hotel in Minato
#22 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Minato
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-Gai Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.