We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 93 hotels in Minato
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is very nice and quite luxury for the price. The only thing I would not rate highly is convenience. Whilst it is located next to Akasaka Metro Station, Akasaka Station actually has no other connecting lines. You need to travel to other stations (Kasumigaseki or Omote-Sando) to connect to other major lines. I had bought the JR pass but it was no use as the JR line doesn't go past Akasaka station.

If you have purchased a JR pass then I would recommend staying somewhere on the JR line, better value for money as metro tickets are quite expensive.

Other than that, this hotel is super clean, comfortable and the staff were super lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    71
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
43
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in October on a mini-break to Tokyo. While the hotel has a great position, is tidy, and located just mere steps from the subway, the size of the rooms here are absolutely ridiculous. I know it is Japan, things are smaller and prices higher, but we stayed in a room that was approx 8'x 8'. No joke. My bedroom at home is three times the size!

The room was so tiny it was laughable. It's basically the size of a walk-in closet. Double bed pushed against wall, a tiny wardrobe in the corner, small desk and chair - why these exist in the room I've no idea - they just take up more precious space. A teeeeeny fridge with capacity to hold just three small bottles of water. There was no floor space and no place to put luggage. We stashed our rolling duffel on top of the wardrobe, otherwise, we would've had to step around it. Bathroom is compact and tiny - no place to put any toiletries.

Staff here are very polite - it was our anniversary weekend and they welcomed us warmly and wished us happy anniversary which was sweet. They speak a little English, but very little. There was one agent at the front desk who was helpful and fluent in English, but the other agents could manage little else other than "hello".

There's free WiFi which was nice. Also, small cafe in the lobby but we didn't utilize it - yummy bakeries and Starbucks just down the street as well as a Tully's which we much preferred. It's a safe area, very little street noise, there are TONS of restaurants, bars, etc. nearby within walking distance and as I mentioned, it's very well connected to metro. We spent the entire day and evenings out and about, exploring Tokyo. But when we returned to our claustrophobic closet of a room it was just so disappointing.

Cannot recommend - especially when there are SO many other hotels to choose from in Tokyo. Even if we have to pay a bit more, it's worth it for a larger room. We won't return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on a whim, being not sure about what area we wanted to stay in. The neighborhood is a great location, right off the Akasaka stop exit6. Plenty of different types of shops for food and knick knacks in the area. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. I lost my computer bag on the train coming in and they called the different train lines multiple times until they found it, gave me the information and, believe it or not, I was able to go get my computer from lost and found! I've never seen such dedication and service. Plus, complimentary water each day, bath salts from the lobby for a hot soak after a day of adventure and tea ( or small cans of energy drinks), all included. Just be reasonable about taking them. there's even coin laundry on site, soap for purchase from the desk, or the store the next block down. you can't go wrong here. Just get ready for a tiny room. don't bring lots of luggage unless you can walk on it because you have minimal, and I mean minimal, storage in the room. But hey, you should be out exploring this wonderful city anyways.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is the sort of the hotel that my husband and I try to find when we go travelling - comfortable but not over-the-top; affordable but not "budget". It was great, the concierge staff (available 24 hours a day) were friendly and spoke limited English (enough for two non-Japanese speakers with a phrasebook to get by!) and the rooms, while small, had everything needed for a one-week stay in Tokyo.

Regarding accessibility, it's an easy walk (say 7 minutes with luggage) from the Hotel Excel Toku (the last stop on the Hotel Limousine Bus from Narita Airport, a 1.5 hour drive away). Super-close to two metro stations (Akasaka metro is a minute's walk away, and Akasaka-Mitsuke just 7 minutes' walk away). The area itself is great for travellers - lots of restaurants (frequented by office-workers) at various price points that are open quite late (ie until even 11pm in some cases). Highly recommend and would return if staying in Tokyo in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

That was awesome! Room and bathroom, even corridors are so clean. Staff was very helpful (not only reception, housekeepers too) Very close to metro station (1 min by walking) This hotel is cheaper for this quality in Tokyo. 5/5

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. The room is quaint and uses the space well! The bathroom is clean, and your basic toiletries are included. The room also has a clothing press, a safe, and free wifi access. If you are arriving from the airport, transfer on the C-line, and get off at the Akasana station. If you leave out of exit 6 of the subway stop, you will be about a 1-2 minute walk from the hotel. This hotel is great if you are planning on visiting the fish market, as it is very close. Most Tokyo major attractions (Tokyo Sky Tree, Tokyo Dome & Amusement Park, Akihabara, Shibuya crossing, etc) will be about 15-30 mins away from this hotel via public transit. We had no problems navigating the transit, as this hotel is a great price point. There is no breakfast included or room service with this hotel, but there is a coffee shop in the lobby that sells pastries, toast sets, sandwiches, etc. We normally just grabbed a small bite to eat from the seven-eleven nearby or breakfast at the McDonalds on the street. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: I'm assuming all are pretty nice! Even if you are travelling as a couple, getting a room with tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Visited Tokyo a few months ago. By western standards, the rooms is rather small, however, for the price, the location it was a steal. The rooms were small or rather "cozy", yet comfortable and clean and modern. The staff, although they spoke nearly no English, they were very helpful and I even learned a few phrases in Japanese. The hotel I found was centrally located, nestled in a quiet area. Metro station literally steps from hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Address: 6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#9 Spa Hotel in Minato
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#22 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisun Grand Akasaka Minato
Chisun Grand Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.