We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in good location, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 93 hotels in Minato
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in good location, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here at the end of Feb for 4 nights and found the hotel really good. The room was standard in Japan I.e. small. We had two medium suitcases with us and only able to open one of them fully. The hotel was easy to get it and a very short walk from exit 6 of the Akasaka station but please note that this exit only opens till 10pm.
The little touches from the hotel were great, free facial masks and massage gel, as well as a very good selection of tea in the lobby. There were also free bottles of water in the fridge, so we didn't have to buy water at all when we were there. They have most of the things that you need in the bathroom provided, shiseido shampoo, conditioner and body wash, as well as hairbrush, toothbrush, body sponge, q-tips etc, so basically I didn't really to bring most of my bathroom necessities.
The area was good with many convenient stores and a few places to eat around but the area was not crowded at all. The hotel was only 10-15 mins walk from the Roppongi area too.
The wifi Internet was excellent and super quick. We stayed in a number of hotels in Japan and this one was one of the best ones we have stayed in, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    63
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
38
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Only four stars because the room was so small. Everything else was great so I would recommend this hotel so long as you don't need space. The bed was against the wall and the room was only slightly wider than the bed. I had paid a bit more for a 'grand' room and when I queried the size was told that a 'grand' room just meant a room on a higher floor! We were also beside the lift shaft which was very annoying. The area is lovely - lively but safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is very well located, 1 minute from Akasaka tube station. I advise to take exit 6 go up the two escalators. Once you are on the street turn to the left and walk the street. The hotel is just after FamilyMart (24 hour supermarket which I can recommend).

The hotel has just installed wireless internet in the rooms so previous reviews are no longer valid on this point. The rooms are really tiny (but something normal for Tokyo) but comfortable and have everything necessary. The staff is nice - English as everywhere in Japan is a bit of a problem but keep calm and remember that they are really trying to help you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had 2 nights in Tokyo on our way back home, and stayed at the Grand Fresa. Its true, the rooms are very small, and with 2 of us we did find it tricky finding room for 2 suitcases. But for such a short stay it didnt bother us, we were out and about and not spending much time in our room! So the room is clean and comfortable and whilst small, has everything you need. The location is the best feature of the hotel, with numerous bars and restaurants within the immediate area, and roppongi and other places a 5 minute walk away. For a trip when you plan to be out seeing the sights rather than staying in, its a great hotel! Staff at the front desk were also very helpful in giving directions for local sights and how to get to the airport etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This has always been one of my Favourite Areas of Tokyo to stay in including this hotel, which used to be Chisun Grand.
The rooms a small, but bathroom is larger then most, bed in comfortable and entrance to metro across the road.
Plenty of place to eat in the area, and a short walk to Midtown and Roppongi.
Give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

There was not so big room, but enough size for business person like me. Also there were clean, air refresher machine was. There were good amenities. I got face-lotion,face soap from front desk. Location also very good. It was in front of Akasaka station. around hotel, there are a lot of convenience store, restaurants and Izakaya. I really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We were here for three days while exploring the city. The rooms are very typical of business type hotels, VERY small. The bathroom size is large however. In comparison. I was not happy about the service. There were a couple of different instances. It is a good location. Just a min to the subway. There are restaurants within walking distance but it is not a very happening, it is casual which is nice.
My biggest complaint is not the area but the help!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Also Known As:
Chisun Grand Akasaka Minato
Chisun Grand Akasaka
Chisun Grand Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka Tokyo, Japan
Address: 6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#22 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.