We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka) (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good location and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is very well located, 1 minute from Akasaka tube station. I advise to take exit 6 go up the two escalators. Once you are on the street turn to the left and walk the street. The hotel is just after FamilyMart (24 hour supermarket which I can recommend).

The hotel has just installed wireless internet in the rooms so previous reviews are no longer valid on this point. The rooms are really tiny (but something normal for Tokyo) but comfortable and have everything necessary. The staff is nice - English as everywhere in Japan is a bit of a problem but keep calm and remember that they are really trying to help you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    96
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
72
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had 2 nights in Tokyo on our way back home, and stayed at the Grand Fresa. Its true, the rooms are very small, and with 2 of us we did find it tricky finding room for 2 suitcases. But for such a short stay it didnt bother us, we were out and about and not spending much time in our room! So the room is clean and comfortable and whilst small, has everything you need. The location is the best feature of the hotel, with numerous bars and restaurants within the immediate area, and roppongi and other places a 5 minute walk away. For a trip when you plan to be out seeing the sights rather than staying in, its a great hotel! Staff at the front desk were also very helpful in giving directions for local sights and how to get to the airport etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This has always been one of my Favourite Areas of Tokyo to stay in including this hotel, which used to be Chisun Grand.
The rooms a small, but bathroom is larger then most, bed in comfortable and entrance to metro across the road.
Plenty of place to eat in the area, and a short walk to Midtown and Roppongi.
Give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

There was not so big room, but enough size for business person like me. Also there were clean, air refresher machine was. There were good amenities. I got face-lotion,face soap from front desk. Location also very good. It was in front of Akasaka station. around hotel, there are a lot of convenience store, restaurants and Izakaya. I really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We were here for three days while exploring the city. The rooms are very typical of business type hotels, VERY small. The bathroom size is large however. In comparison. I was not happy about the service. There were a couple of different instances. It is a good location. Just a min to the subway. There are restaurants within walking distance but it is not a very happening, it is casual which is nice.
My biggest complaint is not the area but the help!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great location, small rooms but great value. Have had friends stay since. Akasaka restaurants minutes away. Great helpful staff who spoke good english. Is above the subway which can take you straight to omtesando and shibuya. Loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

In mid Jan 2013 we stayed at Grand Fresa Hotel in Akasaka Tokyo.

We were there for 6 days and had a standard double room plus a triple room for our three children. As you would expect of Japanese hotels, the rooms are small by western standards but as long as you keep your stuff tidy they are plenty big enough. The rooms we had were western style and the beds were very comfortable. My 18 year old son found the bed a bit short for him but he is 6 feet tall. Bathrooms were small but practical and everything is very clean.

The rooms appeared to be very quite but too our surprise the whole city was incredibly quite anyway so the rooms don't need any special sound proofing. There are only 3 rooms on each floor of the second building where we were (and we had 2 of them)) so noise from other guests was also not a problem.

The location is great for restaurants. There are more than you could possible need and all in walking distance. If this is your first time in Japan there is an all chicken restaurant across the road called "Yaki Tori" that is a great introduction to the Japanese restaurant routine with one staff member who speaks excellent English and is happy to explain how everything is done.
The hotel's breakfast options looked to be over priced compared to local offerings outside so we didn't use the hotel option for breakfast.

The hotel is almost on top of the C06 subway station so transport is easy. Although you do need to change lines a few times to get to some of the popular tourist sites.
We used Bookings.com to book our rooms and it seemed good value to us although this was our first time in Tokyo so we don't have much to compare it to.

Overall we were very happy with our experience at Grand Fresa Hotel Akasaka.

Room Tip: Street front rooms have a more interesting view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Address: 6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Minato
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#32 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisun Grand Akasaka Minato
Chisun Grand Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.