We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, nice price and cosy area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 155 Reviews
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, nice price and cosy area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great hotel in a quiet street in Akasaka. Rooms are small, but clean and nice. Metrostation nearby, and easy connected to some of the main stations of Tokyo, where you can change lines and easily travel to the rest of Tokyo.The area is quiet at nighttime, but you can easily walking to Roppongi and several other areas where there's party party.
A lot of restaurants and some shopping just around the corner. Wifi in the lobby where really good, and the next door cafe had nice breakfast. Not too expensive to be Tokyo, and a perfect place to start the holidays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    84
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
61
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights while being a tourist in Tokyo.

Very well located in Akasaka, really one minute from the Metro and walking distance from Roppongi (good if you're out partying till late when the Metro is closed) and from lots of tourist attractions. The hotel seems popular with Japanese businessmen and foreigners as well.

I stayed in a single and yes the room is on the small side, but the space is well organized and very functional, so it really felt comfortable.

I arrived late at night, and was given a room that to me smelled like smoke. The night receptionist did not agree with that it smelled smoke, but I was given another room nevertheless. Great service!

Breakfast was not included in the low rate i was paying, but you can buy it as an extra from the hotel or you could just have it at one of the many places around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived at the Grand Fresa after a fairly long trip inside Japan. The room was ready early and they upgraded us. I can't praise this place enough. We obviously had a massive room, the suite we were given actually had two rooms! I originally booked a superior room, as I was concerned the basic rooms would be too small. I didn't see any of those rooms, so I'd recommend doing this.

The staff are great and helped us with 2 phone calls that required local knowledge. Free Wifi in the Hotel Lobby and loads of convenience stores around for Breakfast. We were exhausted and this Hotel provided the perfect remedy. It's in a fairly quiet location and is next to Akasaka station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

hotel only 2 minutes walk to subway, very convenient for getting around!
room was small for oz standard but clean & functional. only got one bedside table as the bed is pushed against the wall due to space!
loved the selection of tea that was provided!
got a few food outlets nearby & macdonnalds, loved the little japanese food shop where you had to insert coins to order a meal!
nice street appeal, quiet & safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Since I wanted to be in central Tokyo and near my office, I stayed at this property last year and was very happy with my stay. Yes rooms are small but then that is to be expected, in this land of limited space. The room is thoughtfully laid out, with a frig and fully equipped bathroom. Even for just one person, there are 2 thick bathrobes and slippers which is a very nice touch (used items are replenished daily). Please note the toilet seat is heated! It is a quiet neighborhood but there are plenty of places to eat or shop. Hotel is directly across the street from the #7 entrance to the subway which is very handy. Be forewarned though that entrance isn't always open, so turn right and walk to the #6 entrance which is open 24 hr. Coming in from Narita, it isn't necessary to taxi anywhere. Just jump on the express train from Narita into Tokyo Station ($36), then switch over to the subway. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for cleanliness, service and location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a great little hotel in a lively and vibrant neighbourhood of Tokyo. The hotel is relatively new, completed in Dec 2011. The rooms does look exactly like the pictures. It is small but enough space for medium size luggages. The room colour is vibrant but relaxing and it is very very quiet. I had a great night sleep.

There is a fridge, kettle, cable LCD TV, ioniser, free internet via LAN cable, and free wifi is available at the lobby. The bathroom is small and unlike alot of places is not the standard TOTO units but comes equipped with a full size bathtub/shower. There are two computers with a printer at the lobby area, printing was 100 yen a page, very handy for us.

Service is great as the receptionist and staff are very attentive. I like this hotel for their little personalised touches like free expresso coffee in the lobby area, a selection of bath salts in the lobby for your bath, facial masks for each night that I was there.

Location wise, it is located almost next to Akasaka station (exit 6). There are a number of convenience stores and two supermarkets nearby. There are a few coffee joints (cafe next door, starbucks etc) around the corner. A multitude of restaurants (multicultural), fastfood joints and bars are a footstep away . There is even a jazz bar two doors down from the hotel. There is no shopping area here and the closest mall is in Roppongi. However, the Akasaka line is convenient to get to Harajuku, Shibuya, Tsikiji, Ueno, Roppongi area and not too far for Shinjuku. We bought the daily metro pass (710 yen) and got around easily.

However, we did found it a tad troublesome (alot of changes in the subway) to get to Haneda airport especially with luggages on the metro/JR. We had an early morning flight and the airport limousine bus is simply not as frequent as shinjuku area, plus the hotel is not one of the dropoff/pickup point.

However, aside from that minor inconvenience I would definitely recommend Fresa Hotel in a heartbeat, especially if you are looking to experience a great little hotel in a different and less touristy side of Tokyo.

Room Tip: request for high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotel is practically next to the Akasaka exit. At this point of time it is still brand new. Rooms were tastefully furnished and complete with basic ammenities PLUS a trouser presser and plasma ionizer!! Added touches were they gave my wife a facial mask for each day of our stay, fragranced bath salts are self service at the lobby and free flow cofee from an expresso machine from 3pm to midnite.
Staff were extremely helpful and conversant in English. Like most hotels in Japan, size is compact but adequate.
Definitely recommend this hotel for its classy touches, good location and great value

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Address: 6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Minato
#13 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisun Grand Akasaka Minato
Chisun Grand Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.