We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning next year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka) (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Returning next year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Upon arrival the front desk agents were all very kind and spoke English (broken but still fairly good). They did charge us for having two people though we had thought we put in the reservation we had two, so that was a little bit of a fee. They let us check in two hours early without any mention of it, it was a Friday too! It was quick and prompt, thankfully, an after traveling for 14 hours I couldn't wait for a nap!
The room- will say, the pictures make them look slightly bigger than reality, however small rooms are everywhere in Tokyo. It was still very manageable for two people and a good amount of luggage! The bathrobes and slippers were super convenient as well as the two free water bottles a day!! All tv channels were in Japanese not sure what I was expecting but it made for a quieter time in the room. AC nice with the humidity as crazy as it was. No traffic noises from below and I was only third floor.
The bed- Hands down the comfiest bed I've ever slept in in my life! I didn't want to leave Tokyo for many reasons but this bed... I wish I could have taken it home! The pillows, comforter, and mattress feel like heaven!!! Especially after a long day out or a rough night in shinjuku!
Bathroom- small but modern and sheek. Toilet equipped with bidet, etc. be warned: don't press the wrong button!

Location: you cannot beat this location, literally, so convenient!! You have three liquor stores in a minute walking distance (2 family marts, 1 seven eleven) and a McDonald's on the corner! Many restaurants line the street as well. You are literally 50 feet, a minute walk to the akasaka station, and from there you can be across Tokyo in about 15 minutes or less! The train is the way to go when here!! Also about a 10 minute lovely walk to roppongi! ((SIDE WARNING: BE VERY SELECTIVE TO WHICH BARS YOU WALK INTO THERE! DO NOT GO INTO ANY NOT ON GROUND LEVEL OR WHERE SOMEONE IS HASSALING YOU TO GO INTO)) We walked through the park at night it was beautiful. Taking a taxi we did have to pull the address up on our phone the taxi driver didn't know where it was or maybe he just didn't understand us.

Things nearby: roppongi, ninja! Themed restaurant (amazing food and atmosphere, 10 minute walk), train takes you everywhere around! You can be in shibuya or shinjuku in about 10 minutes taking two trains, or ueno or tsukiji in about 20 via train. I didn't get a JR rail pass, not sure if it would have paid for itself. I was there for 5 days, and paid the 160 yen for each train, used probably 20 different lines total my whole trip. Tokyo and akasaka seemed very safe to me, I walked alone once or twice but was mostly with my male American friend there, and never once did we feel uncomfortable except in roppongi by one of the Nigerians trying to get us in the bar. People are all very friendly and smile at you!

Definitely stay here for location, bed, and the value!!! I'll be returning next year with my girl friend and we will be staying here! Arigatou gozaimasu chisun grand fresa!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    107
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
84
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

As the hotel is so new the taxi drivers had a bit of a problem finding it. Having said this the hotel is very well location in Akasaka with a 7-11 right next it and the metro station about 10 metres from reception. The rooms are small but this is the same with all hotels in Tokyo. I wouldnt have called the room too small though, still plenty of room for two average sized people to easily get ready. Rooms were very clean and the complementary bathrobe and slippers are a bonus. Rooms are nice and quiet at night time and hardly heard any traffic. All round this hotel is very good value for money and I certainly wasn't disappointed. I would definitely return to this hotel next time I'm in Tokyo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel is directly opposite the number 7 exit of Akasaka Chiyoda-line metro station, or only 20m or so from the number 6 exit on the same side of the street, so it's convenient for transport. The area isn't a great tourist trap like Roppongi or Shinjuku, which is quite nice in my view, so it's a bit quieter than some places.

What you basically get for a moderate price is quite a small but very clean, modern double room with own bathroom. There is a restaurant downstairs. Given the area, most hotel staff will speak at least reasonable English. There is an OK breakfast which may be free depending on your room/rate plan. The beds are very comfortable, which is my No. 1 consideration!

A few doors away is a convenience store (called 'am/pm') which is OK for getting snacks, beer etc. Also, there are lots of restaurants nearby, and a Tully's coffee shop 5 minutes walk away.

All in all, a good place to stay in Tokyo at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I recently enjoyed an eight night stay at the Hotel Grand Fresa. The room was spotless and the bedding was very comfortable. The hotel is right next to a Metro stop - the railway is an ideal way ti get around Tokyo with all signs and announcements in English. The staff on front reception were very helpful ( they booked an Airport Bus for me for a pick up at another hotel) and they spoke very good English. This hotel is great value for money and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Recent business hotel in a very hip neighborhood. Modern decor, clean but the double room we had was small, loyal to Japanese standards.
Right next to akasaka metro, so convenient for check in and dumping your luggage. Lots of nice restaurants nearby, all price ranges and cuisines.

The plus:
- good location and value for money
- nice decor and clean
- English speaking staff and friendly

The minus:
- no wifi in room, available only in lobby. But LAN was available. There were also two slow computers in the lobby for. You to use.
- small for double room, not enough to open two suitcases at the same time.

Overall a very recommendable hotel!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The rooms are small, the hotel doesn't have many amenities, but if you are traveling on your own, this is a great hotel. Right across from one of the subway exits, it is clean, very friendly, and very comfortable. Given that it cost 50% more than a hostel when I stayed, it is a nice alternative if you want a private room.
The bed is a bit softer than the Japanese standard, and there are very good curtains, making for a very restful night's sleep. And the alarm clock system is one of the most intuitive I have ever seen! The view, however, isn't particularly good. But it was all the more incentive to go out and explore Tokyo.
The location is good. Granted, you may need to take the subway a lot, but it is a pleasant 30 minute walk to Tokyo rail station, 25 minute walk to the palace, and a 15 minute walk to Roppongi. There aren't a ton of cheap places to eat, but between convenience stores and a bit of walking, you can find something.
A couple on good terms could manage the room well, but if you need space, then this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Nice hotel. The rooms are small but comfortable. The staff are pleasant and helpful. Not necessarily in the centre of action, but close to many great areas.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#7 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#25 of 98 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#10 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,869 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka
the b akasaka
#35 of 98 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Address: 6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#25 Family Hotel in Minato
#33 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisun Grand Akasaka Minato
Chisun Grand Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.