We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Tokyo home base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Akasaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Akasaka to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4-9-24 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 317 Reviews
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A nice Tokyo home base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a very nice business-type hotel, but it worked great for us tourists too. We had a standard double room, which had all the amenities you'd like in a very small space. There was still ample room for both our suitcases, and we weren't bumping into each other walking around, but roomy it was not. The bathroom was fine, with a normal-sized shower and the typically amazing Japanese toilet. The staff's English was hit-or-miss, but wasn't a problem, and they were happy to hold our bags for us after checkout for our late-night flight.

Location-wise, the hotel was nice and centrally located, about a 10-minute walk to a metro station serving two lines. Thanks to the efficiency of the subway, we never were more than about 15 minutes ride from our destination. There are also many restaurants and bars near the hotel, covering every price range. If we returned, we might look to stay in another neighborhood, but more out of curiosity rather than of dissatisfaction.

Room Tip: We asked for a room as far from the lifts as possible. It was very quiet, which was great, but I bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    184
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
96
64
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located close to some restaurants and bars. The rooms are, as so often in Tokyo, very very small. The bathroom is OK. But the aircondition too weak, hence very hot for sleeping. I did not try breakfast. Service wwas friendly and efficient. Low price (around 140 EUR/night).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my first, and it was also the best hotel during my vacation in Japan.
Origininally it is a buisness hotel, so the room wasnt that big (Single room), but it was not tiny, like many other hotels in Japan. It had a desk, a very clean and comfortable bathroom, and I slept very well. Wi-Fi worked without any problems.
The staff was very friendly, they spoke English, and all my questions requests were answered without any problems. The access to the metro was quite good, there are many lines avaible from the Akasaka-Mitsuke station, it isnt that far from Tokyo station.
I had no breakfast and I dont ate at the hotel, I never do, so I cant say anything about that.
But there is one negative point: There was no view from my room, but that wasnt bad, because I slept like a baby. And who wants to stay all day in the room, Tokyo has so much to offer! Room was very quiet and temperature was good.
I would recommend this hotel. It was great.
Arigatou gozaimashita!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Cloudi7,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.
We are grateful to you for your compliments of our service and facilties.

Please accept our apologies for the lack of views in some of the guest rooms.
In a congested area in Tokyo, it is almost unavoidable for the adjacent buildings to be so close to our own.

For your information, on our hotel website we offer the best rates along with various stay plans and detailed hotel information. Please visit the site at your convenience. We now have 18 properties across the nation, all in optimal location.
Thank you once again for your patronage, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincere regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed recently at the Hotel Monterey in Akasaka. We were forewarned of the smallness of the room so it did not come as quite the shock that it would have. We found the hotel to be quite comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location is not far from the subway station where the trains will take you to anywhere in Tokyo at very little cost. Lots of bars and cafes in the area but be careful of the "Table Charge" - a cost for just sitting at one of the tables in some cafes - a total rip-off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A lovely business hotel. Absolutely gorgeous breakfast buffet. Lovely service. Bit out of the way of everything though. Great room and a nice desk to work at. They had a couple if weddings there, the foyer is really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and we were very pleased with our choice of hotel. Choosing a hotel in central Tokyo can be a daunting task but we felt that we made a good choice with this hotel. It is located just a short, slightly uphill walk from Akasaka metro station. We had booked a standard double room but on arrival were offered the oportunity to upgrade to a queen size bed for a small extra cost. That was one of the best decisions we made. The room was still small but we had enough room for two medium sized suitcases and ourselves. I wouldn't have wanted to be in a smaller room. We were at the back of the hotel overlooking some appartments and a car park. It was very quiet at night as, unlike most large cities, people actually seem to sleep in Tokyo! The surrounding area is lively and there are several convenience stores and coffee shops nearby. Early Friday evening and the streets are full of people and there is some kind of parade taking place in one of the side streets which are lined with bars and restaurants. Absolutely brilliant. Breakfast at the hotel is the usual buffet style set up. We were there for two breakfasts. The first morning it was fine, plenty of everything. On the second morning, there were a lot of people wanting breakfast and the service was stretched to the limit. The staff were having difficulty keeping the rapidly emptying dishes replenished and several times we went to find an item and the dish or plate was empty. The scallop curry dish was not refilled in time for my husband to try it so we gave up waiting and he went away feeling a bit cheated! However, service was generally excellent with the high standards we came to expect in Japan. The staff,even with limited English spoken, were very helpful and polite and we would have no reservations about using this hotel again. I just hope I get the chance to stay in Hotel Monterey again.

Room Tip: Less of a view at the back of the hotel but rooms here are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

found a relatively affordable bargain rate on the internet.
the hotel is situated in the middle of akasaka area in tokyo, japan.
the room size was slightly tight however you are paying for the location.
many restaurants and bars surround the hotel.
we found a supermarket but a little hard to find if you are a first time traveller to tokyo.
overall, great little stay but look hard for their bargain rates.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Akasaka

Address: 4-9-24 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Minato
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#25 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Akasaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monterey Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Akasaka Minato
Monterey Akasaka Hotel Minato
Hotel Monterey Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.