We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Akasaka area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Akasaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Akasaka to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4-9-24 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Akasaka area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed in two hotels in the Akasaka area, and this was by far and away the better both in terms of location (near to Akasaka mitsuke underground station, rather than Akasaka, which has better connections). The hotel is also near to the roads of restaurants and bars in Akasaka, but in a quiet location. It is a few minutes walk from both the station and restaurants.

The decore of the room is good, and although the room is small it wasn't the smallest I've stayed in whilst in Japan! It was reasonable, and the bathroom had a bath in (although it's fairly short, it was better than no bath).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    208
    47
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
113
72
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Small well managed hotel with a good location in Akasaka. Rooms are small but tastefully furnished and efficient with good amenities. Bathroom is standard prefab unit-bath style.

Hundreds of restaurants and izakayas within a five minute walk.

Some rooms have a very nice view over the park - something that is rare in Tokyo at this price.

Courteous staff - who unfortunately always try to sell you upgraded room upon checkin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Monterey AKASAKA. We endeavor to provide refreshing hospitality to each and everyone of our guests during their stay.
We highly appreciate your comments about our convenient location, which is near the bayside resort line monorail station.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff was great. The toilet was a Japanese smart toilet. The shower had great pressure. It's about a 5-7 minute from the closest subway station. It's located in a businessey area, looked like a financial district. Be aware, if you are taking the Narita Express from the airport and decide to get off at Tokyo station to transfer to the Marunouchi (Red) line to get to the hotel via the Akasaka-Mitsuki stop, the transfer took us 25 minutes (and we walk fast/being New Yorkers ). There are other options that might be easier, check with the hotel. The room was small but a good size and clean

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've stayed elsewhere in Akasa at hotels in the same price range on previous business trips and have been disappointed in their internet connectivity. I've had problems ranging from having no wireless connectivity at other properties to having very slow connections. The Monterey allowed me to connect all of my devices and I was able to use Skype to attend calls during US business hours. I'll be coming back to the Monterey for the value for the price! Regarding transportation from the airport, take the Airport Limousine bus to the Akasaka Excel hotel. It's a bit of a walk to the Monterey but as long as your luggage has good wheels the price of that Airport "limousine" bus is so reasonable that the little bit of exercise is not a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband, my 5yr-old and I stayed in this quiet hotel at the end of July 2012/start Aug 2012. It is a clean and comfortable hotel with abundance supply of toiletries (from body wash to shampoo/conditioner & toothpaste/toothbrush). The pressure on my shower was excellent! The hotel's vicinity is perfect for a stroll to and fro the metro station and nearby eateries. We particularly liked 'Ootoya' (near the metro station). They have excellent Japanese food (i.e. udon soup, all sorts of tempura and various rice toppings! yum!). Open 24hrs and reasonably priced - we were there everyday, eating before embarking on our sight seeing to other district :) . There are nearby convenience stores like 7-eleven if one would take the back street and Lawson & Starbucks coffee shop on the same street. We took the airport limousine and dropped us off from the nearby hotel (forgot the name) @ Tokyu Plaza which is located at the other end of the metro station (across the street about 10 minute walk to Hotel Monterey - not a bad walk). Helpful front desk staff although stoic and limited English (not major flaw). Bottom line, we had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It's a nice hotel, relatively inexpensive, in a nice neighborhood, and close to everything by subway. It makes a nice base to explore the city and since the rooms are small you will probably only sleep and shower here. There is nothing exceptional about the place, but it fits the basic needs and is quite clean and well run. One odd thing, there is no english translations of the hotel information in the room, and the TV operation appears to be menu based and again no english -- not a problem for us...but thought someone might care.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel (part of a chain) tries to portray itself as a type of British colonial styled hotel. However, when you get to the rooms they are the small and typical Japan style.

The worst part was that the air conditioning in my room would cut out spontaneously in the middle of the night and the room would become unbearably warm.

The rooms were clean and the amenities in the bathroom adequate.

Both the wired internet and WiFi worked well.

The breakfast was standard without much variation and buffet style though the chocolate croissants were quite nice.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Monterey Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Akasaka

Address: 4-9-24 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#22 Family Hotel in Minato
#25 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Akasaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel recreates the style of a London townhouse, combining classical elegance with modern practicality, ensuring the building blends in well with the plush surroundings of Aoyama-dori. In addition, the stylish grey and white facade, mixed with soft tones of limestone, provide a splendid contrast to the greenery around Akasaka. Meanwhile, the central location means that for business and leisure travellers alike, it is extremely convenient for access to the major hubs of Shibuya, Shinjuku and Tokyo Station. Please come and enjoy a relaxing and leisurely stay in the midst of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Monterey Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Akasaka Minato
Monterey Akasaka Hotel Minato
Hotel Monterey Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.