We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful contemporary rooms, top-notch service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato 107-6245, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Connect With You Package
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Portola Valley, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful contemporary rooms, top-notch service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Spent three nights there Feb. 14-17 with my partner in a Club level suite and my partner's sister in a club-level deluxe room - fantastic city views in both. Both superb in decor, fit and finish - very contemporary, somewhat masculine (which suits us) with all bells and whistles but also warm and welcoming. We tend to be demanding on hotel service (reservations, travel arrangements, local questions, transport of things we buy, etc.) and the service here was awesome. For the last 15 years, I've been staying at the Park Hyatt (which is probably still my favorite hotel in the world). Picked this because the surrounding area was going to be a little more interesting for my partner and sister, who hadn't been in Tokyo before. Park Hyatt is still tops for me, but this is close and little bit warmer and softer. Breakfast buffet was very good, eggs benedict superb (I missed the Park Hyatt's nasi goreng). Best food was room service we got from their French restaurant. I like to run in the morning and while it didn't offer the nearby Yoyogi Park I run to from the PH, I was able to run around Akasaka Palace (4.25 miles total) and down to and around the Imperial Palace (8 mi total). Limousine Bus is an option; we splurged and had their Rolls pick us up at Narita. Pricey but wonderful, so decadently nice after a long flight.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    168
    55
    22
    17
See reviews for
157
264
50
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
HK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

The nice part is the internet in the room is free, so does gym and swimming pool.
The hotel is located in mid-town roppongi which gives you easy access to late night snacks. There is a supermarket Preece located in mid-town which opens 24 hours.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

They say you get what you pay for and this could not be more true. A truly world class hotel situated in the heart of the Roppongi District (the nightlife area). Not to mention there is a mall at the bottom of the building which features a 7-11, a supermarket and other eats. The best part of this hotel is the view, it's the highest hotel in Tokyo and views that are amazing!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinaloa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

words to describe my stay in the ritz ,are great staff,great rooms ,great food ,and the best location for tourits on midtown in roppongi ,the price is right for what you receive,i had a executie suite on the 50th floor an the views were beatiful,we could not go to sleep watching them ,its a the best place to stay when you visit tokio,people makes you feel at home ,thanks for everthing ritz carlton ,hoping to see you again .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This is probably my favorite hotel in Tokyo because the rooms and the property itself are pretty nice. They are very spacious (especially for Tokyo standards) and well appointed. The view was breathtaking and we were able to see Mt. Fuji from our room. (I am a sucker for night time city views, and the view from our room did not disappoint.) From what I understand, the hotel was built to make sure all the rooms have excellent views.

The location is also very ideal for us because we love Roponggi for its dining options and night life. The giant shopping center next to the hotel is very convenient. There were a food court, a very cool supermarket and great shopping in the shopping center. Speaking of shopping, there's a Hermes and an upscale jewelry store (forgot the brand) right inside the Ritz Carlton.

We had breakfast at the buffet restaurant in the hotel almost everyday because it was easiest for us. The food was just okay, especially given the prices. We were disappointed that the buffet was exactly the same everyday during the week. We heard that a champagne brunch is served on Sundays, but we checked in too late on the Sunday that we were there to go to the champagne brunch.

We used the concierge a lot during our stay. They were always polite and professional, but I can't say that they were the warmest people. Front desk was the same- polite, professional, but not very sincere.

Also, my husband works a lot (even on vacation) and he needed to work in the middle of night because he was on Los Angeles time. The concierge assured him that he could use the piano lounge in the lobby, even after they were closed for the night. However, that was not the case, and my husband was very rudely shoo'd away on two nights while he was conducting international conference calls.

Housekeeping was generally good, although they were not as thorough on two occasions. It may be that they felt rushed because we came back to the room while they were still inside, despite the fact that we left them to do their job upon realizing they were in there.

Overall, I really enjoyed the Ritz Carlton Tokyo. I will probably stay at this property from now on when I visit Tokyo. Nonetheless, there are minor things the RC can work on to be truly spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

Tokyo is a mad fun city, great food, great people, and vibe. Something for everyone here, wife likes to shop, kid and i hit the parks, and we all love the food. If you like city holidays and have not come to Tokyo, I encourage you to make the effort -- even if it's a long journey, it's really something to experience. The Ritz Tokyo is a very nice hotel and a decent base from which to enjoy the city. The pros and cons for us (two adults and one 3 year old) were,

Pros
1. very large room for tokyo -- easily accomodate me, spouse and mildy hyper 3 year old.
2. amazing views of the city.
3. located atop a mall that was convenient when bad weather hit.
4. lux bath and amenities.
5. bought some bubble bath and wife and kid enjoyed.
6 typical Ritz service, attentive but not effusive.
7. lobby bar really is cool, even for a jaded Asia based traveler
8 we had access to free wi-fi internet. came in very handy.

Cons
1. hotel has a biz vibe, and sometimes we felt out of place as tourists.
2. highly personal annoyance, i didn't like taking two sets of elevators each time to exit the hotel.
3. cost, but it's the Ritz in Tokyo so you get what you pay for.
4. cost of in room dining -- i just don't understand why hotels who try so hard to create repeat customers, then abuse those customers with outrageous costs...this a general comment -- not exclusive to Ritz
5. Roppongi, personal, but i don't like the area in general, and particularly sketchy when with family. If you don't know Tokyo, Roppongi is a popular late night district with an extensive red-light scene. It can grate a bit if you're coming back late and need to walk the main road.

Overall, this is a great hotel, access to lots of high end shopping and dining if you don't mind paying up. if you like mid-range shopping and dining (like me), it is probably better to stay in place like Shinjuku. Keio hotel is a nice, much cheaper option. Possibly useless tip, if you like coffee, then buy some Japanese brand coffee beans from any supermarket. It is really excellent, although buying a cup in Tokyo is an expensive and often unrewarding experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, pac northwest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Absolutely beautiful. On the top floors of the tallest building- gorgeous views in each room. Our standard room was anything but- stunning marble bathrooms, plush robes, gorgeous everything. The lounge was amazing as well- stunning views and a couple restaurant options. The concierge was the most memorable-- they learned our names immediately and were immensely helpful and courteous. Ritz did a great job with this property. Location-wise it's in the heart of the Rappongi district with tons of restaurants and clubs right around the hotel. Expensive? Yes. Luxurious? Yes. Would I stay there again? In a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo

Address: 9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato 107-6245, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Minato
#5 Spa Hotel in Minato
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As guests alight from the elevator that takes them to the 45th floor of Tokyo's tallest building, they are greeted by a magnificent sky lobby that epitomizes one of the premier luxury hotels in this cosmopolitan city - The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo. Occupying the top nine floors and the first three levels of the 53-story Midtown Tower, this five-star luxury hotel is located in the Roppongi District, which transfixes visitors with both its vibrant night life and centuries-old attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Hotel Minato
Ritz Carlton Minato
Ritz Tokyo
Minato Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.