We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato 107-6245, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Summer with You
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Beautiful hotel, nice size rooms, nice gym and with the hotel being on the upper floors you get beautiful views. Also had a nice meal at the restaurant on the lobby floor. it's in a convenient location with several metro station fairly close by. Hotel staff is extremely helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    181
    60
    26
    18
See reviews for
171
292
54
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Probably the best hotel in Tokyo. This hotel is featuring beautiful decorated, well-appointed and spacious rooms, stunning views, outstanding Club Lounge, good location (Tokyo Midtown Shopping mall, Art Center, Roppingi Hills area and other parts of Tokyo are easy accessible through the nearby Tokyo Metro Roppingi Station) and on top that excellent service, as expected from Ritz-Carlton which is from the moment of check in the moment until departure very hard to beat.

I would recommend booking a Club level room or suite which includes access to the Club Level Lounge including breakfast, afternoon tea, cocktails and amazing views over Tokyo.
Will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Book a Tower room or Suite, for even more stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Wow. Might seem a little expensive, but worth every penny. The view from the hotel room is impressive. The hotel is very well located in the heart of Tokyo. The service is impeccable. I enjoyed everty minute of this stay.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just stayed 3 nights at Ritz Carlton Tokyo. Arrived from New York on Saturday July 5th and departed Tuesday July 8th. The personal attention paid to guests is 5 Star. Every need or request is promptly attended to. Our room was on Floor 51 and the views were amazing. We saw Mt. Fuji on a clear morning. The rooms are spacious, beautiful decor, awesome large bathrooms with twin sink and vanity arrangements.

The pool, spa and gym located on the 46th floor is awesome. Great pool and swam every day.

Here is the one flaw. The 45th Floor lobby is such an amazing large open space to enjoy the hotel, the coming and goings of guests, amazing views and great service - but it is ruined by allowing smoking. The room stinks! and so will your clothes and hair. My wife was so turned off by this!

Coming from the U.S. one certainly does not understand indoor smoking anymore and this hotel should eliminate the practice or provide a smokers lounge. End the smoking and the property is perfect.

Final note, the hotel is located within the Tokyo Midtown development which has a luxury shopping center, gourmet market, Dean & Deluca, restaurants and the Suntory Art Museum all located in the basement through 3rd level.

Enjoy your visit. I would return.

Room Tip: Request room facing Mt. Fuji
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Top notch hotel with great amenities and views - like all other reviews state.

PROS
- top floors of Tokyo's tallest building. I wasn't facing Tokyo tower nor Mt Fuji but had great city views
- Large (large!) rooms with very large bathrooms. Toto bidet, multiple sinks, separate shower/tub.
- Effective electric drapes - important in the summer in Tokyo. It starts getting bright at 4am!
- Good dinner options in the mall. Starbucks at the Tokyo Midtown plaza level. Grocery store in the mall basement (24 hrs)
- 10-minute walk to Roppongi Hills and Mori Tower
- really great 46th floor gym and pool area
- Plenty of water bottles and refills
- No internet surcharge. Good internet speeds for video chats.

CONS
- If you need to get to Otemachi, Nogizaka station is a bit of a walk (more than half a mile)
- Oedo line is closest from the mall basement, Hibiya line is a bit of a walk too.
- The access to the Tokyo Midtown plaza is really annoying if you do it on a daily basis. You have to walk all along the perimeter of the building at level 1 to get to the plaza side. Unless you're taking cabs all the time that's the exit you're going to be taking.
- Breakfast will run you approx 5000 JPY. This is the Ritz after all.
- Limited TV cable selection. No HBO - Japanese TV quality is poor (World Cup is on Japanese TV)
- Slow room service (35+ mins) at busy times

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The title of this review says it all. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, the views are spectacular, the location is perfect, but the staff tops them all. Without a doubt the best service I've ever experienced!

At check-in, my wife and I informed them that we were on our honeymoon. They upgraded us to a club-level room with a spectacular corner room view. They gave us a lovely gift of teas to enjoy and sent up chocolates after we were settled.

While enjoying the wonderful high tea service at the club lounge we now had access to (note: there was food constantly being served - breakfast, snacks, hors d'oeuvres, cordials and sweets), my wife and I mentioned how much we enjoyed the tea and asked if there was a way to purchase some for the remainder of our round the world honeymoon trip. Helena, who had stopped by to check on us, returned with a handful of various teas for us.

These are the best examples of their great service, but not the only ones. From the maid service, doormen, and bellmen, to the concierge and the front desk - everyone was extremely polite, giving, and eager to make sure that we were enjoying our stay. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

If you can afford it, do it. Great room, great service, great views, great restaurants and facilities, great location (right above Midtown Tokyo). Can't really think of anything to criticize--it was that perfect. Super-expensive, but I guess that's to be expected.

Room Tip: I had a view of the city, but I'm sure a Mt Fuji view would be just as excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo

Address: 9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato 107-6245, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Minato
#5 Spa Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#10 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As guests alight from the elevator that takes them to the 45th floor of Tokyo's tallest building, they are greeted by a magnificent sky lobby that epitomizes one of the premier luxury hotels in this cosmopolitan city - The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo. Occupying the top nine floors and the first three levels of the 53-story Midtown Tower, this five-star luxury hotel is located in the Roppongi District, which transfixes visitors with both its vibrant night life and centuries-old attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Hotel Minato
Ritz Carlton Minato
Ritz Tokyo
Minato Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.