We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-6245, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #7 of 93 hotels in Minato
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was my third visit to the RC in Tokyo in the past three years, and it keeps getting better. Probably my favorite city hotel in the world (located in one of my favorite cities). The staff is unbelievably helpful and kind; the views from the rooms (of Mt Fuji, e.g.) are to die for; and the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms large & smartly designed. And everything works! My only other comment, if any, is that some of the furniture is beginning to look at bit worn, even when compared to 2011. Right now, this isn't a big deal but I can imagine that in another two or three years time, it might negatively impact the overall impression. Be that as it may: five stars all the way...

Room Tip: Worth spending the extra $ and upgrade to club level. Great food and service at the club lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    142
    45
    16
    14
See reviews for
124
224
41
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Don't know whether to brag about the outstanding service or the amazing bathroom.

The service was over the top wonderful. If you had a puzzled look on your face for a few moments, someone was trying to assist you. Even had a small, young lady try to carry my bag for me even though she was barely half my size!

The hotel room was very nice and the bathroom was amazing. It had separate shower and tub areas and two very large sink/vanity areas that gave the two of us more room than we could even use for all our toiletries. We had a 'regular' hotel room, but the bathroom was probably 200 foot square!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

You will be spoiled from the moment you enter the property by the highly trained, professional & accommodating staff! The rooms are the largest in Tokyo, with an enormous bathroom: 2 separate vanities w/all amenities you may need, soaking tub, large shower, & private area for toilet. Large wardrobes (2), desk, ultra comfortable bed, and spectacular views of Tokyo from one of the tallest buildings (the hotel is in the top 45-53 floors of the Tokyo Midtown building). The Club Lounge offers a large variety of snacks/meals throughout the day with even more personalized service. The location of the hotel is convenient for walking to many restaurants, art galleries, shopping, attractions, & night life as it is adjacent to the Roppongi area and only a short taxi or train ride to all other parts of Tokyo. (train station in front of hotel) I won't stay anywhere else in Tokyo now that I've found the Ritz-Carlton Tokyo...it doesn't get any better than this!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Honestly, this is one of the finest hotels I have stayed in.. Ever. And I have stayed in a quiet a few good properties around US and in Europe. We had a room on the 45th floor and what a view it had. We could see Mt Fuji early in the morning ( when the haze was minimal).
Everything about the hotel exudes luxury. The room it self was massive and so was the bath room area.
In terms of dining options- the hotel has quiet a few though on the pricier side. During the day you could head down to the shopping mall on the basement level and there are a plethora of options - food court, bakeries and a 24 hr grocery stores. And did I mention Starbucks too.
And night life in Roppongi is very interesting too - lots of restaurants and bars.
For a tourist, the hotel is well connected via the metro too, though walk to the Roppongi Metro takes about good 10 mins. Be aware of that if you have a lot of heavy luggage. The service staff in the hotel is excellent and the concierge staff was most helpful

Room Tip: Pick room 4915/16 for excellent views of Mori tower and Mt Fuji
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

'Nuff said, the Tokyo Ritz-Carlton was fantastic.

Large room, very comfortable.

The views from the lobby and bar on the 45th floor and also from my room were amazing.

Service was impeccable, and design is very tasteful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I travel to Tokyo 6-8 times each year and have stayed at most if not all of the high end hotels. The Ritz remains a favorite because of its outstandingly friendly and helpful staff. The spa is flawless. The hotel has several restaurants that are excellent and compare favorably with the many choices available in the area. Location in Midtown Tokyo in Roppongi is ideal and is super convenient for business and fun. Rooms are large and views are fantastic. My only criticism is that the rooms are a bit conventional and dated feeling compared to the peninsula or mandarin oriental. In every other regard this hotel is on the same par with the very best hotels in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Tower rooms with a view of Tokyo tower are hard to beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

upon entering this hotel you are greeted nicely , served a nice complementary drink ,
the hotel provides many good services, its a very good location if you want to stay in rippongi area, far better than grand hyatt , does have a privacy factor compared to the hotels in the area.
what makes this hotel good is the club rooms, you get a very lovely club lounge , complementary internet service and so forth.

the hotel lobby is lovely too, very spacious

the sushi restaurant there is waste of money. really auwfull , comparing it with top notch sushi places like kyubey and so forth, its far off.

offcourse the rooms are spacious , but the bed isnt that comfortable comparing it with other hotel beds. and the design does strike me as old fashioned , but thats ritz for ya.

i would defnitly not consider it first choice in tokyo , but relativley first choice in rippongi.

Room Tip: stay at club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo

Address: 9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-6245, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#5 Spa Hotel in Minato
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Family Hotel in Minato
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Hotel Minato
Ritz Carlton Minato
Ritz Tokyo
Minato Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.