We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for (maybe a bit more!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-6245, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Season Package
Ranked #8 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for (maybe a bit more!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Located in Roppongi part of Tokyo, its nestles in the "Beverly Hills" of Tokyo.. A 53 floor glass tower, gleaming in sunlight. This hotel, for me anyway, is "perfect" in every sense of the word. From check-in to check-out, its pure sophistication.. Club Lounge is large, warm, and exquisite. Was that 007 just being served a Vodka Martini? - If you like unpretentious luxury, this is for you! Value for money?, not really, but then again, when you stay here, you don't worry about the price. Breakfast? Very nice, eggs cooked to order, even asked if I wanted my eggs soft, medium, or hard. Tables in the Club Lounge were a bit small at breakfast. Evening cocktails, overlooking Tokyo at sunset , should not be missed.. Romantic with stunning views, make this THE best hotel in Tokyo, bar none.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    159
    51
    22
    16
See reviews for
146
247
46
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very nice hotel centrally located. There are probably others that are as good are better with respect to atmosphere of the lobby and restaurants. Lobby is on the 45th floor. Doesn't feel open like hotels with entrances on the first floor. Great traditional afternoon tea. CONCIERGE ARE FANTASTIC! Really helpful and knowledgeable. They're great for Americans who don't speak Japanese. Restaurants are not exceptional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Tokyo Tower / Tokyo harbor. Great sunrises and views after sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a great hotel. Concierge and bell desk are great. Fantastic bathrooms. And the place smells nice too.

If I had to come up with anything critical it would be two things.

1) The lack of an a decent onsen for regular hotel guests. It's Japan! The onsen spa is reserved for Ritz Carlton club members. The Dormy Inn offers a better onsen sadly.

2) I get the feeling more and more that the "Ritz" management is so consumed with making their brand the number one luxury address in every city that regular guests lose out. Unless you're staying in a club suite you don't really get any access to common space. The lobby lounge is occupied by ladies who lunch, and the spa (above), is reserved for club members. So as a guest, although you're staying at this posh hotel, it often feels like you're an after-thought to the visitors.

###

That said, I've still found myself staying here repeatedly. They get most of it right.

Room Tip: They all have awesome views. I guess you could request a Mount Fuji view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent 4 days here and experienced all that this hotel had to offer: the rooms (we changed midway through to experience a different view), restaurants and lounge, spa, exercise facilities/pool and utilized the concierge service. EVERYTHING was incredible and we did not experience any hiccups or flaws. We have stayed at many RC properties and this one was by far the best. The service was phenomenal and the staff were incredibly accommodating. While it is difficult to point out 'highlights' when everything is so great, some of the areas that stood out were:
1) Breakfast buffet: Incredible selection of western and Japanese food that was expertly prepared. The wonderful view added to the experience.
2) Swimming Pool: Very clean and well maintained with all of the supplies (goggles, caps, flutter boards) that you need readily available and brought to you by one of the attendants.
3) Cleanliness: The rooms, linens, public areas were all impeccable.
Definitely one of the best hotels in Tokyo, especially with the recent downgrading that took place at the Four Seasons Chinzan-so, which was equivalent in quality.

Room Tip: Pick a view that works with you: i.e., if a morning person, get an east facing room, etc. The views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Everything about this hotel truly meets what you would expect of a Ritz-Carlton. The ambiance and amenities are plush and luxurious, the views from all windows are amazing, and service is impeccable. The location in Tokyo Midtown is very convenient to the train lines, with easy access to any part of the city. There's also plenty of nightlife and food in the Roppongi area.

I must give due credit to the concierge staff, who never once led my husband and me astray with their restaurant recommendations. Every meal suggested to us by the concierge was superb, and very considerate of our requests for fine or casual dining, or for a quick bite for lunch. The staff was also very helpful with assisting us in navigating the city, finding places of interest, or even venturing out into further parts of the city for specific needs.

The room itself was a spacious retreat - very well-appointed with excellent details, even in the turndown service. We loved the porcelain tea set in the room so much, I ended up purchasing one from the same designer in the shopping center of the lower levels of the building. The bathroom had all the comforts one could ask for. We could not have had a better or more comfortable stay during our trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is seriously high class. It’s luxurious, while still being warm, welcoming and comfy. Located atop a high-rise building, the hotel has commanding views of the city. As expected, the hotel has blow-your-mind service with usual Japanese courtesy and grace. Stay here to treat yourself to some well-deserved pampering.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The service is impeccable and the rooms are plush, beautiful and big. The King bed was one of the softest Ive ever slept in and the Toto bathroom- well you can imagine the options. The neighborhood is just fabulous with many high end restaurants, a huge starbucks for your morning coffee and a couple of metros close by. Its also easy to get from narita and haneda to this hotel because it has an entrance in the metro and you can walk right into the hotel.
I had to change two trains from narita but the subway system in Japan is so clean and efficient its much nicer than taking a cab which would cost you $300 for a one way ride from narita. The hotel has a bar which is lovely but pricey and they did try and charge us a cover which, we refused and were surprized by, since we were guests at the hotel. They waived it so maybe it was just a language issue. The concierge made all our restaurant reservations and helped us everyday with maps and directions.
We had a very good room service breakfast on our last day. Not the best Ive had but pretty good.

Room Tip: there arent too many hotels in Japan that will give u a king bed. So if you can get one at the Ritz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo

Address: 9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-6245, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Minato
#5 Spa Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As guests alight from the elevator that takes them to the 45th floor of Tokyo's tallest building, they are greeted by a magnificent sky lobby that epitomizes one of the premier luxury hotels in this cosmopolitan city - The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo. Occupying the top nine floors and the first three levels of the 53-story Midtown Tower, this five-star luxury hotel is located in the Roppongi District, which transfixes visitors with both its vibrant night life and centuries-old attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Hotel Minato
Ritz Carlton Minato
Ritz Tokyo
Minato Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.