We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, basic but well located.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of APA Hotel Shimbashi-Toranomon

APA Hotel Shimbashi-Toranomon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added APA Hotel Shimbashi-Toranomon to your Saves list
APA Hotel Shimbashi-Toranomon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-6-8 Nishi-Shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0003, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Small, basic but well located.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our usual corporate digs were booked out, so I holed up in the APA Hotel Shimbashi on my last visit to to Tokyo. It's a basic business hotel with no frills.

WHAT YOU'LL LIKE:
- Well connected, location-wise. It's a 5-minute walk from multiple train stations (Mita, Shimbashi)
- Walking distance to multiple Izakayas, cafes and convenience stores.
- Modern amenities
- Everything's quite new - it doesn't have that slightly antiquated feel that other aging hotels tend to have.
- Great (free) wifi
- Quiet rooms, well appointed bathrooms.
- Extremely efficient housekeeping.
- Courteous and helpful staff will provide directions to wherever you want to go, but not all of them speak English.

WHAT YOU WON'T LIKE:
- Tiny, TINY Rooms, even by Tokyo standards.
- No cupboard space to hang anything.
- Nothing in the minibar.
- I'm 5'10.5" and my feet stuck out from the foot of the bed when I was sleeping. If you're taller, I'd seriously recommend another hotel unless you sleep fetal.

VERDICT:
If you're going to be out of the hotel (like I was) all day and you're only coming back at night to sleep then it fits the bill. It's a basic business hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't overlook the main road because you'll get traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on my recent business trip to Tokyo due to issues getting a room in the usual corporate hotels. It is a basic business hotel in the heart of Shinbashi. Just 5 minute walk from the Karasumori exit from Shinbashi JR Station, it has an easy access to Haneda Airport ( door to door 30 minutes if you catch the express train from Shinbashi)
The room is small, expected from a business chain hotel in Japan but very clean. Check-in and Check out are very efficient using a self-service machine at the lobby.
There are tonnes of affordable and good places to eat around the hotel and Shinbashi station.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was booked at this hotel because our Corporate hotels are fully booked and this hotel is a further distance from the office. Due to a personal extension at the end of my work trip I decided to continue staying in the hotel and paid for the hotel separately in an online portal. When I first checked in I told them I do not want to change room so put me in the same room throughout my whole stay. The check in staff doesn't understand English properly and when they finally got it through they said they need to check for my other booking. I already arrived very late at the hotel and rushing for a dinner appointment with my colleague so I told them to give me the key so I can go get changed first and we can discuss the other booking after I returned but even though they say yes yes yes they don't get it and continue to keep me waiting. After much waiting, they finally found my other booking and told me to pay but I told them I already paid for it so on and on I have to continue waiting while they verify. They are also a mess as there are 3 of us at the counter and when they charge my credit card they just place it on the table and there were other credit cards around and in the end they pass another girl's credit card to me and my credit card slip to the girl, so much so that the other girl and I looked at each other and say let's check the receipt and credit card statement carefully. Through it all, I don't think the staff get what we were saying even though we were speaking in English. When it was finally correct, they asked me for my passport which they need to make a copy but they already made it and the copy was lying on the counter! And I have to show them and demand they return me my passport. Prior to confirming that I have already paid for my extension the staff was telling me room rate on Saturday was more expensive as it was a holiday but later on when I checked with my colleagues and friend in Japan, they were telling me Saturday was not a holiday.The check-in leaves such a bad taste in my mouth. Room was however clean and small and one day I open the window and can't close it and had to get one of the staff to come to my room to close it for me. Room is so small that I cannot put the luggage on the rack or I cannot enter the room or open the bathroom door so my luggage is put on my table which takes up space for me to work. Room is not really sound proof as you can hear conversation and tv programs on when you are in the hallway, there was also this banging on the wall behind my bed but when I checked, the room is marked private so I don't know if some hotel staff was staying there or it was for the housekeeping. Anyway thankful it only happened one morning. Breakfast was the highlight for me, I really loved the Japanese style breakfast and had it for 5 consecutive days, the other 2 days which is my extension, breakfast was not included so I eat out as it was easy to find food everywhere and the breakfast at the hotel was too expensive. Hotel is located in an alley not by the main road so not much of a traffic noise and the alley is quiet but quite well lit. Hotel is however very far from the subway, probably closest is Onarimon station but still could be a 5-7 mins walk if you know the way. Wifi connection is ok and works and tv programs are all in Japanese. Bed is too soft for my liking and it does affect my sleep quality. On the day of checkout I wanted to delay my checkout for 2 hours but was told if I do so I would be charged a certain amount per hour so I give up and check out early in the morning and leave my luggage downstairs so I can go venture out without having to worry about the checkout time. It also seems it was peak period in Japan because most hotels were fully booked and room rates were horrifying and to think on usual days we pay less than what I paid for this hotel and we get to stay at 5 stars hotel. Such hotels also doesn't have any gym but then I guess all the walking to and from subway and to and fro my office is good enough exercise. This will probably be good for those who are on a tight budget but not travelling on a peak period. Most of all, best not to have any heavy or big luggage with you if you are taking the subway to and from the airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

First time in Tokyo, brand new hotel, small rooms but very nicely appointed with all the necessary amenities as was the bathroom. The front desk was efficient and helpful. Very comfortable bed, nice Italian restaurant on lobby level with really good and authentic food and reasonable prices. Great location.

Room Tip: location location location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, near the train, but I do not recommend this hotel. My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our 12 day trip to Japan. We knew that space may be limited in Japanese hotels, so we brought small luggage. Even though we considered the space, our luggage barely fit in the room and there was no closet in our room. We had reserved a non-smoking room and when we arrived, there were not any left. Our room wreaked of smoke and the window did not open for any ventilation. If traveling solo and for business, this may be a good short term option.

Room Tip: Be sure to verify non smoking with the hotel prior to check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I m travelling quite often in Tokyo fir business and even though the personal is nice like every jp people, hotel should be avoid.

Positive points : good location for business area, good wifi.

Negative points: nothing in the fridge (after a 12 hours flight, tests painful.) , horrible pillows, no international tv channels, no closet..., very tiny room, no space for luggage, very tiny bathroom and we have to turn the water on all the time under the shower otherwise pressure goes away, no isolation , can hear neighbours...

Horrible Italian cafeteria with frozen food.

I won't come back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have stayed in many value Tokyo hotels and this is larger than most. A great location near Shimbashi Station and good connections to rest of Tokyo and very easy to get Haneda Airport.

Area has a great range of places to eat, cafes and C-stores.

Can walk to Ginza in maybe 20 minutes.

Wifi was free and very good.

Definitely a winner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to APA Hotel Shimbashi-Toranomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Shimbashi-Toranomon

Address: 2-6-8 Nishi-Shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0003, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Shimbashi-Toranomon 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Rakuten, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your APA Hotel Shimbashi-Toranomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APA Hotel Shimbashi-Toranomon Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage APA Hotel Shimbashi-Toranomon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.