We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for the early checkin charge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9-2 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato 105-0021, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“watch out for the early checkin charge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at a few hotels in Japan and this is the 2nd to require an early checkin charge which is quite frustrating after an overnight flight. To checkin at 8am you basically pay for a 2nd night. Probably best to pre-negotiate early checkin or stay with a western brand.
Aside from that the room is fairly basic but decent and functional.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    351
    99
    18
    7
See reviews for
60
193
87
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed in villa Fontaine last Oct. 2012 for a business trip in Tokyo Japan
The rooms are not bad, but the bufeaut breakfast is so poor.
I also lost my jacket there and staff insisted it was not found though I was sure I forgot it on the bed at check out
I also had a problem with having to pay in advance which I guess Japanese style
Finally I had to pay in Japanese yen and I faced difficulty changing currency because the exchange machine at the hotel offers a very low rate

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
194 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome (part of the local Villa Fontaine chain which has multiple hotels throughout Tokyo) is located within a large office building, which explains the unconventional lobby. It's well suited as a business hotel, with complimentary wired internet access in rooms (bring a notebook with a wired LAN jack or a portable wireless router if you need wifi to connect your other mobile devices and create your own wifi bubble in the room. Otherwise, just go to the lobby for free wifi.

Breakfast is included in the room rate, there's slightly more varied Japanese breakfast choice (rice, miso soup and daily variations of meat/fish) and some basic continental breakfast choices (yoghurt, croissant, bread). Breakfast in the lobby is self-serve, cafeteria style, do remember to clear your own trays after your meal. There is no onsite restaurant but plenty of dining choices in the vicinity.

Room sizes are large by Japan standards. A electronic foot massager was provided in my room. Toiletries are of high quality(Shisheido brand facewash!) and lovely bath salts are provided for a good soak in the tub after a long day.

Haneda Airport is about 40minutes away, take the Airport Limousine bus (900 yen each way) and alight at the Conrad Tokyo Hotel. Walk through the Conrad Tokyo lobby and exit through the back to arrive at Villa Fontaine Shiodome. For your return trip to the airport, you can reserve and pay for the Airport Limousine Bus at the Concierge counter at Conrad Tokyo.

The hotel provides printed maps showing the way to Tsukiji Fish market (15 minutes walk) nearby. Ginza is 10 minutes walk away. and there are multiple subway lines within 5 - 10 minutes walk. Nearest station is Shimbashi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The staff was very polite and the room was nice and tidy. The ved and pillows were quite hard, but I think that it is common in Japan. We still slept very well. The room was in third floor and the view was okay too. The late check in time was the only minus for us, but were able to doze off in the lobby while waiting for our room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good location for business travel. The location is centralized and just above the train station. Choose rooms that are facing inside. There is a chance that you may be able to tap on wifi.

Only downside is the lack of seats during breakfast at the lobby. Pretty crowded and the food is the same everyday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located for airport shuttle, trains, and subway. Entry way into hotel is beautiful. Hotel staff and Shiodome staff are helpful. Wifi is only available in the lobby. Breakfast was just ok. Beds were firm, of course, but the hotel provided two types of pillows.

We found the attachment to Shiodome and surrounding area to be helpful during rain or when we were tired. There is a Starbucks and convenience store very close. The guard working at the Shiodome at 5 am even helped us with a map to the Tokyo fish warehouse, despite his not speaking English and us with little Japanese.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is located in the business district and really is aimed at the Japanese businessman. When we first checked in, the man at the front desk was very unfriendly. The room was small (which I expected) and the bed was rock hard with memory foam pillows that also contained little styrofoam balls. Very uncomfortable. The hotel boasts abiut free wi fi which is actually only available in the lobby and you have to ask for a password to connect to it. The free breakfast was traditional japanses style with miso soup, grilled makeral and mini croissants. There was also only one english tv channel BBC which had terrible reception and kept repeating the same programs.
Overall, my greatest frustration with this hotel was the lack of information that was volunteered. Unless you asked the right questions, you were not given any information. The staff at the front desk (apart from the grumpy man) were very helpful with directions and telling us which trains to catch, room was clean and in a great location but, would not stay at this hotel again or recommend it to any foreigners visiting Tokyo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome

Address: 1-9-2 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato 105-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#21 Business Hotel in Minato
#24 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome 3*
Number of rooms: 497
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Shiodome
Fontaine Shiodome Hotel
Villa Fontaine Shiodome
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.