We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. But” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9-2 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato 105-0021, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 534 Reviews
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great location. But”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Only one English Channel BBC nothing but repeat, repeat
Hotel professes security, but the electronic door key has the room number printed on it - really dumb
Bathroom has no space for personal items. Hard beds.
A late check out will cost $21 us dollars per hour. Not even a 30 minute tolerance past the 11 check out
Wifi only works in the lobby and has the most complicated and totally unnecessary access and password codes that change every day or so, very inconvenient.
Other than the above inconveniences the hotel is well located close to Ginza and Shinbashi.
It is very clean.

Room Tip: Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    301
    83
    14
    7
See reviews for
47
158
78
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location is fantastic,train station down escalators under hotel,great massage place there
called Raffine,P/O,Mini supermarket,bakery,starbucks,chemist and restaurants/cafes down the
excalators or the ones going upstairs.A great pub called "The Crown and Rose" & they speak good English.My husband and I stayed in a Superior room non-smoking, the bed gave us both a sore neck, but the good side of the room that theres plenty of room to put our suitcases under the desk and the bathroom was quite good considering my husband is 6"2 with nice nic nacs(Shamp/Cond,toothbrush,brush etc) ,staff great and very helpful,breakfast is more Japanese & not much Western but you cannot complain as it came with the room.Coffee & tea is good too.
I would stay there again if the was a better bed with no beams and abit more variety breakfast.
Trisha from Darwin Australia.Stayed June/July 2013

Room Tip: Wi fi is in the lobby,Reception very helpful and most speak English.Location is just fantastic. When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Villa Fontaine is without a doubt the best hotel in Tokyo in it's price range. Located directly next to the MUCH more expensive Conrad Tokyo hotel, it's simply impossible to beat the Villa Fontaine for value. Everything else in it's price range is either a backpacker's hostel, rundown, in a sketchy neighborhood, or simply has tiny rooms. The Villa Fontaine, on the other hand, is maintained very well, has spacious rooms, and is located in a quiet, central location.

Pros:
Quiet, central location
Clean and spacious rooms
Unbeatable for the price!
Literally on top of a subway station
Friendly staff
Within walking distance to the famed fish market

Cons:
If you want the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, the area (Shiodome) might be too quiet
The breakfast is merely serviceable (Again, though, for the price, you're lucky to get breakfast at all!)
Hard beds

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is in a massive building and one part is dedicated to it. It is conveniently located at Shiodome station although this tsation is quite big and it takes a bit a while to get used to navigate it. Hotel itself is ok....a usual business hotel. Rooms not massive but has pretty much everything.
Now make sure you don't go there for Breakfast. It is by far the worst I have ever come accross in Japan during my 12 day trip and I have been to hotels of inferior category. There is no service, you get a plastic multilple compartment tray. Food is not good. You sit in the lobby and eat there. It seems nothing has been thought of the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are looking for a nicely located, clean and well-run hotel in central Tokyo this is the place. It's in the midst of the Sumitomo center and very close to a major transportation hub so easy to get to everything. Also a walking distance to Tsukiji Fish market. If you need a place to crash without spending a lot of money this place is adequate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Tokyo was our last stop on our 3 week trip to Japan. The hotel was ok, nothing spectacular.
It is about a 15 min walk via the passage from Shinbashi station - if you arrive in Tokyo via the bullet train or JR. However, the directions we received from the hotel made the walk even longer. Shinbashi is huge and very crowded and we couldn't find the proper exit, even the signs are confusing! Once we found the skywalk (inner passage), we got lost several times, it is not easy to navigate the way to the hotel. Unfortunately I can't provide detailed directions, since I only took the passage from Shinbashi once!
On a positive note, the Oeda line Shiodome subway stop is about a 1 minute walk from the hotel and very easy to find. It is also a great line, easy access to get to many different areas in Tokyo and it connects well with some of the other subway and train lines.
Check-in was fast, but we only noticed the luggage carts after lugging our heavy suitcases to our rooms. It would have been nice if the carts had been pointed out to us while we were checking in! This was the only hotel where our suitcases were not already in our room, after being shipped from our last stop. We used the wonderful luggage shipping service throughout the country and at each hotel, our luggage was already waiting in our rooms when we arrived!
For anyone arriving or departing via airport limo, it is an easy walk over to the Conrad hotel next door, no need to even take an escalator. As soon as you get to the entrance of the Conrad, someone takes your suitcases and then loads them onto the limo bus. Nice!
The rooms at the Shiodome aren't very big. I had a Premium single and there wasn't room to open my suitcase on the floor, without blocking the way to the bathroom and exit door. I ended up by clearing off the desk and putting the suitcase on top!
Although we had asked for rooms with views, mine consisted of an office building next door. I had to keep the curtains closed all the time, in order not to give a 'free show' to the office workers - who work late into the evening!
The wallpaper in the room was peeling and stained and the carpets were in deplorable condition and stained as well. The room was not as clean as other hotels we stayed in - there was noticeable dust on the top of the headboard.
I had to request more towels, as only 1 was provided. On a positive note, every day afterwards, additional towels were left on the bed.
The bathroom was the typical Japanese bathroom size - not very big. It was very helpful to have a hot water indicator in the shower though. The bed was big, but absolutely rock hard, The pillows too! There is an easy to use clock with an alarm on the headboard, which came in handy.
I was on the 10th floor and there was a room with a washer and dryer and vending machines.
A complimentary breakfast is served, however double-check the times as they can change. The only Western food seemed to be 2 types of rolls and hard boiled eggs + coffee. There is more of a selection if you don't mind eating a Japanese style breakfast.
The hotel is relatively convenient, Shiodome is a business area with a lot of tall buildings and throngs of office workers rushing through the skywalk, fun to see.
There didn't seem to be many restaurants and convenience stores on the streets outside of the hotel. However all the inner connecting buildings have restaurants, coffee shops and cafes. There is also a convenience store, drugstore and restaurants in the connecting building closest to the hotel (I don't remember the name of the building, but it's less than a minute walk from the hotel). Definitely check out the restaurants on the higher floors of the Shiodome City center (about a 4 minute walk via the passage) and the 46th and 47th floor of the Carretta building (2 minute walk). Absolutely amazing city views!
Tsukiji Fish Market and the Hara-rikyu gardens are within walking distance - don't miss a visit to either! Tsukiji is only 1 stop away on the subway and very easy to find. It was the best sushi breakfast we have ever eaten - the best sushi period, a real OMG moment! Next to the check-in desk is a display with information on Tsukiji and other attractions, as well as a good map of the inner skywalk (corridor).
The hotel staff were very pleasant and polite - typical in Japan! English was widely spoken as well, which was helpful when asking for directions and general information.
There is no in room WIFI, however you can use it in the lobby. Apparently there is a business center for hotel guests, with free computers. No one ever told us about it though, someone in our group discovered it accidentally!
I don't know if I would stay at the Villa Fontaine Shiodome again. Although the location was good, on my next trip to Tokyo it would be nice to stay in a different part of the city.
I am also not certain if I would recommend this hotel. There were assets, but most of these related to the location and accessibility. I guess if you don't mind average 3 star accommodations, don't plan to spend much time in the room and don't want to blow your budget on a hotel in Tokyo - you may be happy here. But if you want a more upscale hotel, look elsewhere.
Tokyo is an amazing city, so much to explore, see and do...and eat! The subway system was surprisingly easy to navigate, stations are designated by colors, letters and numbers and subway lines are color coded and have a corresponding letter. Buy a Pasmo or Seismo refillable card, to avoided buying individual tickets each time you use the system. You will be travelling by subway a lot, Tokyo is huge!! Also don't forget to go to Tsukiji market for an early sushi breakfast - if you love sushi you will feel like you have died and gone to heaven!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Villa Fontaine several times, although mainly as it is chosen by my company rather than by choice. The good is that it is well located in Shiodome and you can follow the skywalk to get to the nearby stations and restaurants. It is not too far from the fish market and next to a pleasant park. It also gives a free breakfast in both Western and Japanese styles, which is a available quiet early - great if you have jet lag. The slightly strange is that it is attached to an office block and there is no lobby area, just a big dark empty cave like space. Some of the rooms do not have outward facing windows but instead look inward with blinds for privacy. These rooms are very dark indeed. On the other hand those rooms are quiet whereas some of the outward facing rooms have a great view of the railway lines... and all the sounds as well. The rooms are comfortable enough and there is tea and internet in the rooms. The people at reception are friendly and helpful and the hotel is good value - but just a bit strange and I always feel disoriented staying there, like entering a dark other world.

Room Tip: Dont get one facing inwards, do get one on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome

Address: 1-9-2 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato 105-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#24 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome 3*
Number of rooms: 497
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Shiodome
Fontaine Shiodome Hotel
Villa Fontaine Shiodome
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.