We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel if you don't spend much time in your room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9-2 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato 105-0021, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Montreal
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ok hotel if you don't spend much time in your room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Tokyo was our last stop on our 3 week trip to Japan. The hotel was ok, nothing spectacular.
It is about a 15 min walk via the passage from Shinbashi station - if you arrive in Tokyo via the bullet train or JR. However, the directions we received from the hotel made the walk even longer. Shinbashi is huge and very crowded and we couldn't find the proper exit, even the signs are confusing! Once we found the skywalk (inner passage), we got lost several times, it is not easy to navigate the way to the hotel. Unfortunately I can't provide detailed directions, since I only took the passage from Shinbashi once!
On a positive note, the Oeda line Shiodome subway stop is about a 1 minute walk from the hotel and very easy to find. It is also a great line, easy access to get to many different areas in Tokyo and it connects well with some of the other subway and train lines.
Check-in was fast, but we only noticed the luggage carts after lugging our heavy suitcases to our rooms. It would have been nice if the carts had been pointed out to us while we were checking in! This was the only hotel where our suitcases were not already in our room, after being shipped from our last stop. We used the wonderful luggage shipping service throughout the country and at each hotel, our luggage was already waiting in our rooms when we arrived!
For anyone arriving or departing via airport limo, it is an easy walk over to the Conrad hotel next door, no need to even take an escalator. As soon as you get to the entrance of the Conrad, someone takes your suitcases and then loads them onto the limo bus. Nice!
The rooms at the Shiodome aren't very big. I had a Premium single and there wasn't room to open my suitcase on the floor, without blocking the way to the bathroom and exit door. I ended up by clearing off the desk and putting the suitcase on top!
Although we had asked for rooms with views, mine consisted of an office building next door. I had to keep the curtains closed all the time, in order not to give a 'free show' to the office workers - who work late into the evening!
The wallpaper in the room was peeling and stained and the carpets were in deplorable condition and stained as well. The room was not as clean as other hotels we stayed in - there was noticeable dust on the top of the headboard.
I had to request more towels, as only 1 was provided. On a positive note, every day afterwards, additional towels were left on the bed.
The bathroom was the typical Japanese bathroom size - not very big. It was very helpful to have a hot water indicator in the shower though. The bed was big, but absolutely rock hard, The pillows too! There is an easy to use clock with an alarm on the headboard, which came in handy.
I was on the 10th floor and there was a room with a washer and dryer and vending machines.
A complimentary breakfast is served, however double-check the times as they can change. The only Western food seemed to be 2 types of rolls and hard boiled eggs + coffee. There is more of a selection if you don't mind eating a Japanese style breakfast.
The hotel is relatively convenient, Shiodome is a business area with a lot of tall buildings and throngs of office workers rushing through the skywalk, fun to see.
There didn't seem to be many restaurants and convenience stores on the streets outside of the hotel. However all the inner connecting buildings have restaurants, coffee shops and cafes. There is also a convenience store, drugstore and restaurants in the connecting building closest to the hotel (I don't remember the name of the building, but it's less than a minute walk from the hotel). Definitely check out the restaurants on the higher floors of the Shiodome City center (about a 4 minute walk via the passage) and the 46th and 47th floor of the Carretta building (2 minute walk). Absolutely amazing city views!
Tsukiji Fish Market and the Hara-rikyu gardens are within walking distance - don't miss a visit to either! Tsukiji is only 1 stop away on the subway and very easy to find. It was the best sushi breakfast we have ever eaten - the best sushi period, a real OMG moment! Next to the check-in desk is a display with information on Tsukiji and other attractions, as well as a good map of the inner skywalk (corridor).
The hotel staff were very pleasant and polite - typical in Japan! English was widely spoken as well, which was helpful when asking for directions and general information.
There is no in room WIFI, however you can use it in the lobby. Apparently there is a business center for hotel guests, with free computers. No one ever told us about it though, someone in our group discovered it accidentally!
I don't know if I would stay at the Villa Fontaine Shiodome again. Although the location was good, on my next trip to Tokyo it would be nice to stay in a different part of the city.
I am also not certain if I would recommend this hotel. There were assets, but most of these related to the location and accessibility. I guess if you don't mind average 3 star accommodations, don't plan to spend much time in the room and don't want to blow your budget on a hotel in Tokyo - you may be happy here. But if you want a more upscale hotel, look elsewhere.
Tokyo is an amazing city, so much to explore, see and do...and eat! The subway system was surprisingly easy to navigate, stations are designated by colors, letters and numbers and subway lines are color coded and have a corresponding letter. Buy a Pasmo or Seismo refillable card, to avoided buying individual tickets each time you use the system. You will be travelling by subway a lot, Tokyo is huge!! Also don't forget to go to Tsukiji market for an early sushi breakfast - if you love sushi you will feel like you have died and gone to heaven!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    307
    84
    16
    7
See reviews for
50
162
78
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Villa Fontaine several times, although mainly as it is chosen by my company rather than by choice. The good is that it is well located in Shiodome and you can follow the skywalk to get to the nearby stations and restaurants. It is not too far from the fish market and next to a pleasant park. It also gives a free breakfast in both Western and Japanese styles, which is a available quiet early - great if you have jet lag. The slightly strange is that it is attached to an office block and there is no lobby area, just a big dark empty cave like space. Some of the rooms do not have outward facing windows but instead look inward with blinds for privacy. These rooms are very dark indeed. On the other hand those rooms are quiet whereas some of the outward facing rooms have a great view of the railway lines... and all the sounds as well. The rooms are comfortable enough and there is tea and internet in the rooms. The people at reception are friendly and helpful and the hotel is good value - but just a bit strange and I always feel disoriented staying there, like entering a dark other world.

Room Tip: Dont get one facing inwards, do get one on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

During our visit in Japan we stayed in the business area Shiodome. It's impressive during business days to see all the black suited white color workers in such a huge amount. The skywalk between the skyscrapers is one point we liked very much. Use the skywalk to the hotel, when you arrive in the Shinbashi Station. So it will be an easy walk to the hotel. The modern hotel offers nice rooms. Japanese breakfast - in the hall - is like in a canteen-style, but it was ok so far (croissants, marmelade, margarine are available). You are situated near Shiodome Station, appx. 10 minutes walk to the Shinbashi Station or 5 minutes walk to the ginza line. Two Starbucks are in the nearby area. Friendly hotel receptionist, english knowledge is called 'so la la', but it works for us so far. In rooms you will find body soap, shampoo and smoother face soap (Shiseido) and a hairbrush and hair dryer. A nightgown, toothbrush, toothpaste and Q-Tips were also available. Free wlan, in rooms is a cable installed. You can wash your clothes by yourself and will find vending machines with beverages on the floor. It's easy to reach your room without stairs. Each room has magnetic sings for the cleaning staff. The rooms offer a mobile door holder on the ground. For recommendation: travel with one suitcase and a rucksack per person not more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've stayed at the Villa Fontaine Shiodome several times before and location-wise, I do like it. But I think my recent stay here will be my last. The hotel is fast losing its shine as a hotel of value. Bed is hard, rooms are dark and while I still get a decent Japanese breakfast, it is nowhere the size/variety of the Dormy Inn chain. The night staff are also not helpful and clueless about offering suggestions/help which is really frustrating. I'm definitely looking elsewhere for accommodation the next time I go to Tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is my second time at Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome and stayed there for 3 nights.
I must say that service is still good. The staff were friendly & helpful both at our arrival & departure; helping us to store our heavy suitcase for more than 5 hours.
The main plus point for this hotel is the location as there is not much facilities (other than breakfast, there is no other services provided thru the rest of the day) which is great for a no frill/fuss traveller. The subway is conveniently located within a short 5 min covered walk.Walking to nearby Ginza is also a breeze.

Great value hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We got a superior room and found it plenty big for the two of us. Our bed was a little smaller than an American queen size and was against a wall on one side, but pretty good for Tokyo. Shiodome is a nice area to stay in, walking distance to Tsukiji and Hara-rikyu gardens. The buffet was simple, but good (there are plenty of options if you like Japanese breakfast items, but its sufficient if you don't). If you go on a JR pass, you can get within one stop for free, but the train from Shimbashi to Shinjuku (right outside the door of the hotel) is another railway (I think it was 280 or you could just do a 5 minute walk). From Shimbashi station, you can get up on the raised walkways on the south side of the station and walk above the street all the way to the hotel, avoiding crosswalks, etc. Restaurants in the actual building are limited, but there are about 20 restaurants in the building next door (mostly Japanese), including a Starbucks for a morning latte (if that's the kind of thing you think you might be into).

Room Tip: The superior room was big enough for the two of us, though it was a bit smaller than a queen size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here 10 nights. We traveled with 2 children but unfortunately the hotel cannot provide child's cot so my 7 months old daughter had to sleep in our bad. However, the size of the bed was big so it was not that a big problem. We stayed in a twin room which was very big and it was comfortable for this long stay. The location of the hotel is very good, it is 5 minutes walk from Ginza and the Shinbashi station. The breakfast was OK, however, they have only 3 types of offers (meatball, sausage, meat and scrambled egg) which they repeat after 3 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome

Address: 1-9-2 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato 105-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#23 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome 3*
Number of rooms: 497
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Shiodome
Fontaine Shiodome Hotel
Villa Fontaine Shiodome
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.