We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfortunate choice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa to your Saves list
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“unfortunate choice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

i suppose this hotel must have thought that four college grads on vacation were out of place among the businessmen who frequent it. we were treated with disdain nearly the entire time. my experience was colored by a combination of a language barrier and substandard service.
the following is a horribly detailed account of my point of view.

upon arrival, we were first told that we were at the wrong hotel (which we were not; we had a printout for a reservation there). after the receptionist bumbled about for 20 minutes trying to check us in (i have no idea why it took so long), we found that we were being given smoking rooms. because we like to preserve our pulmonary health, we asked for another option. i suppose we should give them points for attempting to accommodate us, but the result was that we were made to switch rooms three times in four nights (one night in a smoking room) because they were fully booked. again, we DID have a reservation. from the staff, no apologies were made and no sympathies were expressed.

the whole check in process took about an hour, during which we interacted with the same male receptionist who made several other errors (not noticing the type of beds we had requested in the reservation, for example). as my travel companions and i sat in bored dejection waiting for our check-in to finish correctly, the hotel staff stood around and smiled and bowed and offered to carry luggage--for the suited up businessmen. we were completely ignored.

after we were finally checked in, no bellhops offered us any services and we lugged our own stuff up the elevators. not that we minded doing that, but we were also paying customers. why were we not afforded the same respect?

as we changed rooms throughout the duration of our stay, the quality of our accommodations declined. on the first night, we had a nice room with two desks and a comfortable sitting area. the pillows were fluffy, the bathroom was clean, the comforter was nice, and there was a spacious entryway. the next room was slightly smaller in both the entryway and the living area, with awkwardly placed furniture that made it hard to move around. the last room change presented hair in the bathroom; a water boiler that made a strange spitting noise; deflated, grainy pillows; a flat, worn, comforter; no entryway section; and an even smaller size than the previous room. we paid the same rate for all rooms.

calling the front desk to ask for feminine hygiene products was both embarrassing and frustrating. i attempted to explain my plight to the very confused man who answered the phone and kept mumbling something about "item boat." i kept asking for someone preferably female who spoke english, and it took five more minutes of unproductive back and forth before he finally passed on the phone to a lady who resolved the issue in under 15 seconds. i should mention that i had specifically dialed the "ENGLISH" line to begin with as well.

the receptionists we interacted with during our string of checkins and checkouts were not outwardly rude, but they made no effort to be as polite and respectful as they clearly were being to the businessmen. one receptionist looked confused as to why we were switching rooms. the bumbling receptionist who had orchestrated this unfortunate situation for us was standing right next to her, not busy at all. he pretended not to recognize us and left us to explain the situation to her in english. things would have been made much easier had we had a japanese translator, but i guess the available staff was too busy trying to become invisible.

there were a few nice staff members, such as the late night receptionist who came outside to translate and helped us chase down a new taxi driver when our first one didn't know haneda airport (how is a taxi driver not familiar with an airport?! but that's a separate issue). the cleaning staff that we encountered greeted us politely.

i'd rather spend a little bit more money and get some respect for my business elsewhere. i strongly advise casual travelers to STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    204
    61
    14
    4
See reviews for
81
106
36
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice grand hotel - walking distance from JR Shinagawa station with a beautiful Japanese garden. My room had a view of the Tokyo Tower and was able to see Sengakuji temple, where the 47 ronin are buried. English speaking staff were very courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. Service was excellent, as expected from a Prince hotel. Surrounded by other Prince hotels, Grand Prince New Takanawa, Sakura Prince, and Shinagawa Prince.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I found the hotel on internet, and it is 10 m walking from shinagawa station. In summer it is too hot to walk, so i would next time change to prince shinagawa facing the station, and probably cheaper. No gym, and the pool is to the other side of the compound. It is an old stupyle luxury hotel.
Reataurant were not great and service so and so. It is frequented for weddings by locals.

Room Tip: I would recommend another place actually
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel has everything 5 stars hotel can be. The view from the room was amazing, we were looking at the Tokyo tower from our hugh bay window (very impressive and super romantic when it was lit up at night). There are so many prince and pricess hotels, becareful not to book the prince one closest to the train station, as it seems bombarded with group tours.

We book the hotel because of the proximity to the shinagawa station, and we had.

Room Tip: The is a shuttle running to and from the hotel from Haneda and Narita, which you can book from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel right after being at the New takanawa (which no longer had room when I booked) and to be perfectly honest, I liked it better.
The room (as seen in the picture) is quite big, and while it could use a refubrish here and there, there was nothing wrong with it or with its cleaness. Probably the best thing was the night view I had from my bed, with the tokyo tower right in the middle proudly lit. During the day you could also see the Skytree far away. To me, this was great, as it was a constant remainder that you are in Tokyo.
You should also take into account that, while there was no free wi fi in the room (there is in the lobby), it had a modem cable, so you'll fine as long as you take your notebook.
The staff was nice and gentle everytime I asked something (I had my luggage delivered from the New Takanawa), and most of them knew their way around in English.
Location wise, It's great. It's only a 5 minute walk to the Shinagawa Station (where some bullet trains stop, like the ones coming from Kyoto), and there are a few restaurants nearby as well, aside from the convinnience store. There was also a Catholic Church one block away.
The hotel has a garden that conncets it with the New Takanawa and where many married couples went to have their photos taken ( Everytime I went out, there was a couple).
All in all, I highly recommend this hotel, probably even more so htan the New Takanawa, as it was better in pice/quality relation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The oldest of the four Prince Hotels near Shinagawa station and its starting to show its age. The staff are very helpful, public areas very relaxing and the gardens are beautiful. However, the rooms are very much in need of refurbishment, although spacious and comfortable, they are shabby and lack any real charm. Wi-Fi is not readily available (you have to hire a modem at 1000 Yen) and is sporadic at best. My bathroom (on the 7th floor) was in poor condition with badly stained grouting and a very unpleasant looking waste bin. On the plus side the rates are reasonable (circa 12,000 Yen per night, plus 10% tax) and these seem to reflect the condition of the hotel. In short, this is a lovely old hotel badly in need of some TLC.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear of the building as these overlook the lovely gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We found a deak on the hotel website for ¥4,800 per person per night...which was good for the area around Shinagawa Station.
I explained to our kids "Grand" does not mean great, but more like grandparent. The facility is old, but solidly built and well maintained. The age old garden is beautiful...our kids were astounded by the size of colorful Koi carps in the pond. The serenity of this garden us worth the 10-minute walk from Shinagawa Station. 7-11 right outside the property (halfway to the station) makes an economical source of supplies.
Hotel staff is very friendly...the bell staff even declined a tip. Wi-Fi is spotty...or maybe I was not supposed to get the signal at all in my room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#17 Family Hotel in Minato
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.