We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa to your Saves list
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were very happy with this hotel. The location was ideal and easy to get into central Tokyo from. The staff at the hotel were excellent. Our room was fine, clean and not too small. Some of the other reviews had said that the decor was somewhat dated, but it was no problem for us and I'm sure that had it been more up to date in that respect then the hotel would have been much more expensive. As it was, it was good value for money. The setting is xecellent, three connected hotels set around an idyllic Japanese Garden. Very easy to get to and from Narita, take the Airport Limousine bus for the Shinagawa hotels. Cost about 3,000 Yen and takes around an hour and a quarter. Only downside was the coffee, which was so bad we complained and they refunded our money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    205
    61
    14
    4
See reviews for
81
106
36
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

On a business trip, in the crazed rush of Tokyo, a hotel sanctuary is a must for some and really good idea for others. The Grand Prince Takanawa Hotel offers a sense of peace and tranquility in the bustle of Toyko. Your inner balance can be restored by resting in their garden or watchng the koi in the pond.

A traditional looking build and lobby leads to a more modern, western style room. Service was impressive as two ladies escorted me from the front desk to my room to show me the ammenities. You can even exchange $US for Japanese yen at the front desk. Even if travelling alone, be sure to ask for a room with two beds to get more space.

The Grand Prince Takanawa Hotel is conveniently located about a 5 minute uphill walk from the Shinagawa train station. The uphill walk may sound liked a burden but it rewards with good views over the city from rooms higher up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been trying all the hotels around Shinagawa station. There are a lot with almost the same name. The good thing with this hotel is the rooms size. It is getting old but actually very well maintained. The lobby is not a nice experience, like all the other hotels around, but once you are in your room it is a world of silence. My room was a standard one and the size is probably twice what you get in other places. More recent hotels would have newer furnitures but here you have to give space a priority. The garden is lovely and do not hesitate to walk in, especially to go to the next door hotel (forgot the name) which offers international buffet breakfast and is part fo the same group.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near the Shinagawa Train Station but compared to some other hotels in the vicinity, this hotel requires a further distance and uphill walk. Fortunately, the walk is pleasant if the weather is fine. The hotel is also a stop for the airport shuttle bus even though we found the travel to and from the airport via the train is more convenient. No complaints about this hotel, it's clean and the room size is bigger than some other hotels we have stayed in for 2 people in Japan. Will stay in Shinagawa area again but will try hotels that are closer to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I last reviewed this hotel in 2009 and gave it 5 stars. Since then I have been a regular visitor, but sadly there has been no investment in the hotel and the rooms have become shabby with dirty carpeting and are now long overdue refurbishment. The location and Japanese garden remain great features, but I have since stayed at the neighbouring Shin Takanawa Prince, which I have found to be better. How disappointing it is to see such a good hotel flounder due to lack of attention.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

It was a nice stay, the hotel is very close to the metro line. Also the airport limo is very convenient for the airport travel. The staff were friendly, hotel had good amenities.

The room could do with an upgrade else everything was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is in an extremely convenient location, unlike some of the reviews stating that the station is a bit of a walk and you need a shuttle i disagree, it took us just over 5 minutes to walk with our suitcases there, if you have heavy luggage and as it is up a hill get the shuttle but it was fine for us.Station is a JR station so you can exchange Japanese Rail passes here.
The room was big for tiny japanese standards and a relatively nice bathroom with a deep bath tub, everything was very clean couldn't complain about that.
The restaurants in the hotel were extremely expensive we did not use them, but they do look lovely one being in the lovely zen garden they have outside perfect for summer dining.
This hotel does not have a pool but you can share the other Prince hotels pool and gym that is next door but at a cost of of around $15 (Aus).
The only real gripe we had was that we arrived at 6.00 in the morning aware that we couldn't check in until 14.00 but at 13.30 they said we could have checked in hours ago as the room was free at a cost and no one had told us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#18 Family Hotel in Minato
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.