We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay with Uphill Walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa to your Saves list
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinagawa / Gotanda)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay with Uphill Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near the Shinagawa Train Station but compared to some other hotels in the vicinity, this hotel requires a further distance and uphill walk. Fortunately, the walk is pleasant if the weather is fine. The hotel is also a stop for the airport shuttle bus even though we found the travel to and from the airport via the train is more convenient. No complaints about this hotel, it's clean and the room size is bigger than some other hotels we have stayed in for 2 people in Japan. Will stay in Shinagawa area again but will try hotels that are closer to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    224
    69
    18
    4
See reviews for
93
116
39
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I last reviewed this hotel in 2009 and gave it 5 stars. Since then I have been a regular visitor, but sadly there has been no investment in the hotel and the rooms have become shabby with dirty carpeting and are now long overdue refurbishment. The location and Japanese garden remain great features, but I have since stayed at the neighbouring Shin Takanawa Prince, which I have found to be better. How disappointing it is to see such a good hotel flounder due to lack of attention.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

It was a nice stay, the hotel is very close to the metro line. Also the airport limo is very convenient for the airport travel. The staff were friendly, hotel had good amenities.

The room could do with an upgrade else everything was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is in an extremely convenient location, unlike some of the reviews stating that the station is a bit of a walk and you need a shuttle i disagree, it took us just over 5 minutes to walk with our suitcases there, if you have heavy luggage and as it is up a hill get the shuttle but it was fine for us.Station is a JR station so you can exchange Japanese Rail passes here.
The room was big for tiny japanese standards and a relatively nice bathroom with a deep bath tub, everything was very clean couldn't complain about that.
The restaurants in the hotel were extremely expensive we did not use them, but they do look lovely one being in the lovely zen garden they have outside perfect for summer dining.
This hotel does not have a pool but you can share the other Prince hotels pool and gym that is next door but at a cost of of around $15 (Aus).
The only real gripe we had was that we arrived at 6.00 in the morning aware that we couldn't check in until 14.00 but at 13.30 they said we could have checked in hours ago as the room was free at a cost and no one had told us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is well located, very close to the shinagawa station and since I stayed here just the last night before coming back to Italy, it has been very confortable to find the train narita express leaving directly from such a station and a shuttle service (offered by the hotel) to join it.
The lobby and the garden are very nice, quiet, calm and cozy and in the lobby there's also a free wifi service.
Rooms are big (according to Japanese standards), a little old style but with a nice view over the city. The bath was also big and clean (the courtesy kit was a little poor).
I han no breakfast, nor dinner...so I don't know haw are restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa for 3 nights in June 2012. This hotel is conveniently located for easy access to all parts of Tokyo and the airports since Shinagawa Station is only 8-minute away. Hotel staffs are very professional, friendly and helpful. They provided us with excellent service.

We got room #959; it is a superior twin room (two beds) with garden view. This room is spacious and clean. Beds are firm and comfortable; sheets are clean. Bathroom is large and clean. The amenities include: shampoo set, tooth brush set, disposable razor, bathrobe, slippers, shower cap, comb and hair dryer; cotton swabs, ladies' personal care accessories; safe, electric kettle and tea bags, as well as a small fridge. There is free (wired) Internet access in the room and complimentary English newspaper is provided in the morning. Free Wifi is available in the lobby area. Currency exchange service is also available in this hotel. We also got a welcome champagne coupon for two and we used it at Asama Main Bar located on the first floor.

There are many restaurants in this hotel and its sisters’ hotels (Prince Hotel Takanawa New and Prince Hotel Sakura). There is also a 7/11 store inside of Prince Hotel Takanawa New. Besides, there is a beautiful Japanese garden in this hotel resort.

TIPS for getting to the hotel from the Narita airport:
At tourist center in Narita airport, we bought a Suica&NEX package, which costs only 5500JPY (for ordinary car) per package, including round trip JR NEX tickets (Narita to Shinagawa and Shinagawa to Narita), a 1000JPY worth of fare for public transportation within the Tokyo area and 500JPY of refundable deposit. By the way, it costs 3500JPY for a single JR train ticket from Narita to Shinagawa station, so it is already worth the money. Suica can be reloaded at any station; in addition it can be used in some stores and even at the vending machine, very convenient! You can return Suica in the end of you journey (This card becomes invalid if it is not used for ten years) at the ticket counter of a JR (Suica) or non-JR (PASMO) railway station. Unused credit can also be refunded (210 yen handling fee applies).

From the Narita airport, it takes about 45 minutes to get Shinagawa Station, which is a big station, very busy, take west exit - TAKANAWA EXIT (WEST EXIT) (see my photo). Here comes tricky part: make sure which Prince hotel you stay with and we learnt it by the hard way. The Prince Hotel Resort including The Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa (old), The Prince Hotel Takanawa New and the Prince Hotel Sakura. There is also a The Prince Hotel nearby, but does not belong to the resort. These hotels are all very close to Shinagawa station.
1. For going to The Prince Hotel Takanawa New, come out from station, cross the pedestrian at green traffic light, turn right and you run into Zakuro-zaka Street in a minute, cross this street first and turn left, then walk up (a small hill, not flat street) about 5-6 minutes and hotel entrance is at your right.
2. For going to both Prince Hotel Sakura and Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa, come out from station, turn right and keep walking until the first traffic light (about 3 minutes, and there is a 7/11 store nearby), cross the pedestrian to arrive at Sakura-zaka Street, walk about 3 minutes to reach Prince Hotel Sakura and 6 minutes to reach Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa. Both are at your left.

There is a complimentary hotel shuttle bus goes to Shinagawa Station from all these Prince hotels, but you need to make reservation in advance at hotel and they do not take reservation for pick-up service from Shinagawa Station. However, you can get on the shuttle bus if you run into it at the station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#18 Family Hotel in Minato
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.