We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!! Wonderful service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince Park Tower Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Prince Park Tower Tokyo to your Saves list
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4-8-1 Shibakoen, Minato 105-8563, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!! Wonderful service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Prince Park Tower and wish we had stayed longer. The service was perfect from the time we stepped off the complimentary shuttle bus. Our check in and check out was seamless and the staff could not have been more polite and friendly. We loved our room, Park Suite, and would recommend it to everyone. We would happily return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    425
    80
    12
    10
See reviews for
274
390
132
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

I stayed here for two night, and wish I could have stayed longer. This is a great hotel. The lobby is elegant, and the service upon check-in (and throughout my stay) was impeccable. My room was big by any standard. (Note: I stayed in a "Superior Comfort King" room since I found a good deal online. Superior rooms are on higher floors with restricted access.) The room was well-apportioned, and had a very comfortable bed! There was free (wired) Internet in the room.

There are some negatives. The restaurants in the hotel are expensive, and you have to walk a bit (5-10 minutes) to find something else. I found the location the biggest problem in general. The hotel is not really near anything you will want to see, although it is just a 2-minute walk to two different subway lines (Akabanebashi on the Oeno line, and Shibakoen on the Mita line).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We booked the hotel by taking advantage of a special deal we found on hotels.com for 4 nights or more. This made the Prince Park Tower way less expensive than any other 5-star hotel within the main areas of inner Tokyo for the dates of our stay, excellent value for money. However, while the hotel mostly deserves its 5* rating and has many very good features, it does have some drawbacks.

The greatest drawback, and probably the reason the hotel frequently has good deals available, is that its location, realistically, is far from ideal – certainly, for the needs of most tourists. It is about a 20 minutes walk from the nearest JR train station, Hamamatsucho. There are a couple of subway stations that are closer, but these lines do not connect directly to many of the destinations most tourists wish when sightseeing in Tokyo. (We were fully aware of this issue, having been to Tokyo before so knew where it was located, and had borne this in mind when we made our booking.) The distance from the JR train station is mitigated slight by a complimentary shuttle bus service, but this is shared by the other nearby Prince hotel - so there is a risk that the bus may already be full when it arrives to take guests to the station, and the journey to the hotel has to go via the other hotel, when you work out where the pick-up is.

Further, the hotel is not in an area of good or interesting restaurants. The best and biggest selection in walking distance are on the walk from the banqueting entrance of the hotel to Hamamatsucho JR train station, but you do need to use public transport to find better options and a wider choice. You either need to take the JR Yamanote Line one stop to Shimbashi and head towards Ginza or the Toei line subway to Roppongi for an greater, more Westerner and tourist friendly choice of restaurants, bars and other evening entertainment.

The good features worth mentioning include: The hotel staff – everybody is very well trained, very courteous and polite, efficient and helpful. They also all speak good English, except seemingly the drivers of the shuttle bus service to the JR train station.

The setting – it’s effectively within Shiba park so it is surrounded by a lot of greenery with pleasant areas for a stroll, and it is right beside Zojo-ji temple, where some of the most popular New Year celebrations take place, which is worth a little exploration.

The bedroom - it was a very good size for a standard room, the largest we encountered in any hotel in a major city. The décor was fairly neutral, clean and fresh. We were able to fully unpack all our luggage and find somewhere appropriate to store all our clothes, toiletries and other paraphernalia – no mean feat this is Japan! The beds were huge, very firm and comfy and had the best quality cotton linens we have encountered in a hotel for a long time. The windows were huge and the doors onto the narrow, balcony actually opened – unusual when you’re on the 18th floor! The black out drapes really did work – we needed to set the alarm, even on very sunny mornings. The flat screen TV was huge and received several satellite channels including the usual suspects, eg. CNN and BBC News24. Almost unheard of for a 5 star hotel, the in-room wireless internet was free of charge, and they even provided a LAN cable, too.

The bathroom – this too was very spacious. There was a separate shower cubicle and bathtub. The shower enclosure was a very good size and the shower good and powerful and there was even space inside to rest personal products. The tub was the longest and deepest encountered in Japan and had Jacuzzi jets built in. Sensibly, and a nice touch – they provided lovely smelling bath salts that do not foam to enhance a soak after a day foot slogging your way around the stores and major sights of Tokyo.
The vanitory unit was wide with room for some personal care items, but they also provided a wheeled cart to hold more. The mirror behind this was heated so never steams up, however long you stand in the shower! The toilet was in a separate small room. The light came on automatically as you opened the door and the seat lifted, and it flushed automatically after use. The control panel to operate the toilet and all its wondrous features would not have looked out of place on a starship!

As you would expect of any 5* hotel in Tokyo, the prices in the restaurants and bars are high. However, you do get what you pay for. If you wish one splurge in the hotel, treat yourself to a cocktail in the Sky Lounge on the 33rd floor when it’s not raining. You get great night-time views directly onto the Tokyo Tower and the Rainbow Bridge in the distance. (You can, if you take advantage of the hotel’s green eco programme and don’t have your room cleaned in return for vouchers, trade these against the drinks bill!)
The patisserie off the main lobby, which also took the vouchers, sold breakfast goods at a fair price, if you wished to avoid the hotel breakfast charges or only wanted a lighter bite. The atmosphere perhaps of the restaurants was very ‘hotellish’ rather than tasteful or cozy, and some of the public spaces looked rather old fashioned, but were clean, bright and spacious.

Obviously, it is a very large hotel. It is used by large groups, so there are times when the lobby is quite crowded and noisy, but the efficient staff handled them very effectively so this wasn’t an issue. Overall, it was a great place the stay, and we’d go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondiAustralia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Didn't mind spending the big bucks as we only had 3 nights in Tokyo, so why stay in a dump if you can afford luxury? Having said that... I'm not super rich either and this is what you need if you want to enjoy your stay here.
After you spend $700 US on a room per night, you would expect not to have to pay to use your computer, breakfast or go for a swim and a workout.. but this is what is expected. Those little hidden extras are mean.
If I was to stay in Tokyo again, which i would love to as it really is a fab city, I'd stay in Shinjuku, as it offers better restaurants, shops and nightlife and generally a better style of person.

As for that hideous monstrsity that is the Tokyo Tower, that the Park Tower looks over, I'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Also I am not even sure if Hotel is a correct way to describe this place. I felt like I was a Princess living in my Palace. The only negative if anything is just that it is hard to move around from the hotel to other attractioins. We have to get a bus from the hotel convenient but doesnt leave as often as we would have liked and we never figured out how to get the bus from the station back to the hotel so we had to get a taxi back. So the location was a tad inconvenient in getting to the station (it is a long walk trust me) and getting to attractions, however the neighboring area is pretty and the park downstairs next to the temple is very awesome. The tour buses to get to tour things do stop there it is a major hotel so that is very convenient.

The restaurants are great, the food is great (the Chinese restaurant is just awesome (expensive but the food is still in my mind after all these months. We still talk about it.)). The spa was amazing and considerably cheap!

I just love this place so much.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lLondon, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We stayed here for a week and used it as our base for exploring Tokyo. It is a little way out of the centre, but this as as much an advantage as a disadvantage. Within the hotel there wasn't anything we could fault. I recommend paying the extra for the Superior rooms on the top floors. The rooms are excellent, roomy and well equipped and the extras are fantastic -including free champagne in the room, free afternoon tea and drinks in the special lounge on the 32nd floor with brilliant views of the Tokyo Tower and across Tokyo, free and good internet access and free use of the spa and the 10 pin bowling in the basement. All the staff were very helpful and courteous. Despite the size the hotel feels welcoming and is well maintained, giving the impression of newness. I wish that all the hotels I stayed in were like this.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Premise: I work for an airline and travel quite a bit. I have stayed in all classes of hotels. I stayed at this hotel because I got an industry travel package

This hotel is located in Minato-ku but not in the center. The entrance is nice and the staff is very courteous There is a language barrier even with those that do speak English.

The breakfast was not great but the view was wonderful and again the service is great. We only tried the American one. The coffee is really good.

The room is 3.5* and the hotel is dated but nice enough. The bathroom is fine, toiletries are very generic--no lotion so make sure to bring. Bed is comfortable enough.

I got a massage in the room and it was awful. I got another in Le Temps on the lower level and it was wonderful. We did not check out the spa, but you have to pay to use it. Yes, I have had massages all over Asia and am familiar with the difference styles.

There is no wifi available, not even in the lobby. But there is a business center right behind the concierge desk--250 yen for 15 minutes.

My issues with the hotel were the location and the difficulties presented by the language barrier-- it was hard to find restaurants and our way around. For example, the 1st night we arrived we asked the concierge where we should go to eat, drink, etc. Mind you, it was raining outside. They sent us to Daimon crossing, on foot, which I later realized is the Minato central area. This is all outside and all the signs are in Japanese. We wandered around for quite awhile, jetlagged, at night, in the rain trying to find a restaurant. I personally love a good adventure and this was ok at the time--not ideal but when in Rome (or Tokyo)... But another day, we went to Roppongi which is just 2 stops over on the train and there is a mall there, indoors, with a lot of trendy restaurants and bars with English translations more available...(if you're not familiar with Asia... it is normal for the good restaurants to be located on the upper floor of malls and the lower floors) why didn't they send us there?? I think it's because they were probably too limited by the language and so did not attempt to tell us to take the train to Roppongi. That would have definitely changed the entire experience for us... because after that 1st night my friend was very intimidated by the restaurant situation and it made things difficult.

They never even told us where the metro station is. We discovered it on our own. They sent us to a JR Line train station which is further from the hotel (not by much but still after walking around all day...) and has less accessibility to the metro lines.

So, if you're staying here. When you exit the hotel turn right and go to the intersection. The Akabanashi metro stop is diagonally to your left underneath the overpass. From there you can go to Roppongi, 2 stops or Diamon, 2 stops or connect to other places.

There are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, you have to travel. If you're trying to decide where to stay. I would say that Roppongi is a very nice area and the Hilton looks fabulous. Or in Ginza, there is a Peninsula, the Imperial, and a few others I forget the names of. Ginza is like 5th avenue and very nice--and right next to the imperial gardens.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#10 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,870 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#7 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Nikko Tokyo
Hotel Nikko Tokyo
#3 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Park Tower Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Park Tower Tokyo

Address: 4-8-1 Shibakoen, Minato 105-8563, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Minato
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince Park Tower Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 626
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your The Prince Park Tower Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo Hotel Minato
The Prince Park Hotel Tokyo
Prince Park Minato
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince Park Tower Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.