We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGH END PROPERTY - COMTEMPORY FINISHES AND VErY COMFORTABLE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Conrad Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conrad Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9-1 Higashi-Shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-7377, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #1 of 93 hotels in Minato
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“HIGH END PROPERTY - COMTEMPORY FINISHES AND VErY COMFORTABLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This property is smack in the middle of the Tokyo. Close to subways underground. Wonderful service , very comfortable beds. Although food is very expensive - you would do well to venture out to one of the many restaurants underground.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Heinrich Grafe - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Yes, we are located right above the subway station called Shiodome on Oedo Line and also within walking distance to the famous Ginza shopping area. Glad that you appreciated our location!
I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Conrad Tokyo soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    872
    301
    66
    17
    14
See reviews for
253
428
139
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Room rates more than we usually pay, but well worth it. Outstanding locale in the Shiodme Complex that is connected to Shimbashi Station that is big enough to have access to multiple subway, rail lines and an array of shops and restaurants, but not hugh and confsing like Shinjuku or Tokyo stations. High level of service, that is not surprising since this is Japan. What is unique is the quality of design, amazing art work, and attention to detail. Have stayed in hotels that are as comfortable,and had larger rooms (our's was sufficiently large) but have never had a room that was that was as practical and well thought out as the low level room we had at the Conrad. Our son and his famly live in Japan and this will be our new base ofoperations when we visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Heinrich Grafe - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Wonderful to hear that you were happy with our service and guest room facilities.
All 290 guest rooms and suites boast minimalist Japanese design, the latest technology and panoramic views over Tokyo.
Yes, we are located right above the subway station called Shiodome on Oedo Line and also within walking distance to the famous Ginza shopping area. Glad that you appreciated our location!
Come back soon and we look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Rooms appear well used. Even though they are modern, they look like they have been knocked about. The Staff doesn't seem to be as well trained to give service as their other Conrad Asia counterparts.

Children dominate the Executive Lounge. Perhaps it should be renamed Children's Playground with snacks instead of Executive Lounge. Staff of Executive Lounge are more interested in playing with the children than attending to the service of adult guests.

Given the high price of hotel, it didn't meet standard. Even through I am a Hilton Diamond member, it is unlikely that I will return to this hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Heinrich Grafe - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.
Without knowing which room you stayed in I can tell you we have a continual refurbishment program in the hotel updating various areas on an on-going basis. We are confident this will keep the hotel in an excellent condition going in to the future.
With regard to your comments on the executive lounge, it is not normal to have a large amount of children in our executive lounge as we are primarily a business hotel.
I apologize if our team were distracted with them and did not provide our normal levels of service, as you can see from other comments this is not our normal standard. Thank you for your feedback it is only with such comments we can learn and improve going in to the future and I would hope you would allow us a chance to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Have just returned from a food and shopping fuelled trip to tokyo with my family. The hotel was superb in every way and I would highly recommend. Take a deal including breakfast as it well worth it. Will look forward to staying there again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Heinrich Grafe - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Great to hear your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We value our customer’s opinions about us to serve you in any better way. So should there be anything that we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable, please let us know.
I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Conrad Tokyo soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel during a conference.

This hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in so far, this was mainly caused by the lowered rate as part of the conference (the rack rate would have been substantially higher and thus you would expect a very high standard from this hotel).

Check in and welcome by the reception was very good. English is always a bit of a challenges, but I was quickly directed to a check in staff member with good English. Check in procedure was quick and efficient.

The room was huge, which was unexpected for Tokyo standards. Floor to ceiling windows, a large desk, a large couch, huge bed and even bigger shower/bathroom. Everything was clean and meticulously organized as you would expect in Japan. A nice touch was the fact that the mini bar consisted of both normal drinks as well as a special section with special whiskeys (unfortunately significantly overpriced).

Breakfast was included and the breakfast buffet had plenty of choice. On top of this there was a selection from the á la carte menu. Quality and selection were very good. As the lobby floor/restaurant floor is on the 28th story the view is spectacular.

Locating the hotel is a bit of a challenge. Obviously the easiest is to take a taxi, but if you do take public transport finding the entrance on this multi level pedestrian labyrinth is a challenge (no tips I can give you there....hope you can find an English speaking local who can direct you).

There was lots of construction going on in the neighborhood, so there were plenty of detours. There is lots to do in the neighborhood and the fish market is within walking distance.

All in all an excellent hotel (although a little pricy)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Heinrich Grafe - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
What great feedback we have received here – thank you!
We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us at the Conrad Tokyo.
Great to hear that you liked our large guest room and the magnificent view over Tokyo Bay.
I'm very proud to hear that our team took good care of you and I can assure you that I will share the good comments with them. For us its always important to hear what our guests thinks in order for us to improve and we will continue doing so in the future.
Come back soon and we look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Conrad for two nights and loved it. Our room "only" had city views, rather than views of the bay and park, but those were still arresting by day or night. Our room was very large by Tokyo standards and flawlessly equipped. We signed up for the executive lounge, where we had wonderful breakfasts; the later-afternoon appetizers were an excellent selection from the restaurants below and, for us at least, enough for dinner. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, giving five-star personal service with a smile. Regardless of whether you're just arriving after a long flight or an exhausting business meeting, you'll be pampered and leave refreshed. As long as I can afford it, this is my Tokyo hotel!

Room Tip: City view rooms are wonderful, no need to spend more for bay views, which you can enjoy from the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Conrad Tokyo at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Delighted to read your fabulous comments.
Great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the magnificent view overlooking the Tokyo Bay, our guest room, the Executive Lounge facilities as well as other facilities and service we have to offer.
Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Conrad Hilton tokyo is in a great location with easy access to the metro and monorail and sites such as the fish market and Ginza shopping. Recently stayed there for 12 days on business and found the hotel to be perfectly sited for business needs and relaxation. Room is large and comfortable for a long stay and staff are attentive. Great fitness center as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Heinrich Grafe - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous comment.
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We all appreciate your kind comments about our staff and our convenient location.
This will be shared amongst all the management and the staff.
Thank you for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conrad Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Tokyo

Address: 1-9-1 Higashi-Shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-7377, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#1 Spa Hotel in Minato
#1 Business Hotel in Minato
#1 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Tokyo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Conrad Tokyo hotel, where legendary Conrad excellence meets the calming and inspiring design of modern day Japan. The Conrad Tokyo hotel is conveniently located just 5 minutes from the famous Ginza Shopping Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Conrad Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Tokyo Hotel Minato
Conrad Hotel Tokyo
Conrad Hotel Minato
Minato Conrad
Conrad Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.