We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but let down by its location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Tokyo to your Saves list
Conrad Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9-1 Higashi-Shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-7377, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #1 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but let down by its location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I spent 7 nights in the Conrad Tokyo for business. Firstly, the "plus points". Very clean and well maintained overall, including the rooms and common areas, modern "business class" hotel with all the usual conveniences. Efficiently run. Staff are very competent and helpful and make the effort to enable you to feel welcomed. The concierge staff go out of their way to help in whatever way possible, which is very useful especially if you don't speak Japanese or if you don't know the city well. The rooms are slightly dated, but still well maintained and housekeeping is excellent and responsive. The Chinese restaurant in the hotel is apparently very famous and the chef creates innovative dishes worthy of any one with a discerning palate. However, the prices are very expensive.

Now the "minus points". The location is definitely not good. While the "Bay View" rooms have a lovely view of Tokyo Bay, this hotel is not well located and the distance to the nearest Metro Station is quite a walk away (about 10 - 15 minutes). The breakfast is quite limited. I opted for the Japanese option on a few days and found the food rather disappointing.

All in all, while it is a well run and highly efficient business hotel, I'm not sure that I would recommend it to the tourist who needs convenient access to the main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Gregor Andréewitch - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback in such detail.
Great to hear that you liked our lobby, the magnificent view over Tokyo Bay and kind words for our staffs, who really appreciate your comments.
We are very pleased to hear that you had an pleasant stay with us overall.
Thank you also for your feedback regarding access here at the Conrad Tokyo. We are located in walking distance to the Ginza, the famous shopping district in Tokyo and the Tsukij Fish Market.
Otherwise, we trust you overall enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    338
    70
    21
    14
See reviews for
282
490
151
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If a hotel deserves 6 stars, this one does. Absolutely brilliant, beautiful facilities. Everything about the hotel, from the lobby on the 28th floor, with the bar and the view of Tokyo Bay, to the interior decor of each floor, the spacious rooms, the amenities, all top notch. The lounge offering is not the best, food is more like appetizers, but food is Japan is so good, this is a good place to start your evening plans with a couple of drinks and snacks before you head out. Location is convenient as well. You are not far from Shimbashi, and Ginza is walking distance away. It's a treat I give myself once a year to stay here. Simply fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Gregor Andréewitch - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Conrad Tokyo!
Great to hear that you liked our service and facilities inclusive of the breakfast selection, spacious bay view room and the stunning view over Tokyo Bay from your room.
Yes, we have great access to transportation and are located within walking distance to the Ginza, the famous shopping district in Tokyo, too.
Thank you again for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I cherish our stays in luxury hotels worldwide. We have stayed at many Relais & Chateaux properties, for example. This Conrad rates high on our overall list. The lobby is on the 28th floor and the hotel occupies floors 28-37. We stayed on the 37th, Executive Floor, next to the Executive Lounge. The decor is elegant and attractive. Special to us was the spaciousness and quality of the rooms, as well as the many amenities. The power shades were not only efficient, but they truly were room-darking. The rooms also were very, very quiet. So, we had superb sleep and could sleep late in a very dark environment. (The closet door did not block the hallway, as it occupied 50% of the passage.) We could not contemplate anything more for the room in this high-rise hotel in a major city. The restaurants we attended, for which separate contributions are placed on TA, were quite good in general, albeit not tops in Tokyo, except for the buffet breakfast at Cerise (see below). Service was spectacular: housekeeping, turn-down, information, restaurant staff, and concierge. Indeed, this hotel had the best concierge service imaginable. We got reservations at top, hard-to-reserve, restaurants with limited seating; excellent sumo and kabuki tickets; travel instructions/ directions; etc., etc. You just name it and these folks delivered with verve and efficiency. As for location, the hotel is around the Shiodome area, which is a short walk from the Ginza shopping district, a walk that can be done largely underground or on and elevated walkway. We had taxi rides of 15-20 min to all of the fabulous restaurants that we opted to dine at. As to the breakfast (see separate TA review on Cerise), yes, the Eggs Benedict mentioned elsewhere, which we were wise enough to not order, looked pretty poor on another table. But what can one really expect for this dish in Japan. My wife is an Eggs Benedict fan and they rarely please her anywhere in the world. The absolute best was at the NYC Plaza's Palm Court some years ago, and we have not had anything comparable since. You could smell the lemony Hollandaise in that dish from 10 feet away; it was perfect and there was plenty of it. The point about Cerise for breakfast are the great selections at the several buffet tables; an amazing diversity of food items! So, if you are staying at the Conrad, it is highly recommended that you stick with the outstanding full buffet. The free standard internet was adequate for all of our many needs, not slow, but we did not stream video. We could have had free premium internet, as Hhonors Gold people, but we had no reason to do so, and we used our computers and devices a lot. The Exec Lounge was very good, not excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Gregor Andréewitch - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Wow, what great feedback we have received from you!
Thank you so much for your compliments on our service and facilities, which will be shared with the team.
Great to hear that you liked our room and the decor.
Thank you also for your kind words about staff, who really appreciate your comments.
We certainly look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Last time I stayed here was 7 years ago. Still same great design that I remember, but having stayed at a lot more hotels in Tokyo since then...

Location
Hotel is located in business district, so a bit dead at night. For instance, Grand Hyatt in Rappongi Hills is a lot more convenient, with plenty of nearby options for a late cocktail/meal/business meeting. Close to public transport (but this is pretty much par for course in Tokyo).

Room service
Most of the hotel restaurants close at 9pm, so I was involuntarily relegated to room service. Room service does not serve Japanese food between 9:30pm and 11:30pm. On top of that, room service menu is probably one of the worst value-for-money I've seen in town -- e.g. 2800 yen for 7 standard-tasting buffalo wings (that's US$4 per wing). Everything else I had off the menu was similarly "just okay", far from being great for Tokyo's high standards.

Bfast
Interesting interpretations here. Eggs benedict came with a practically solid Hollandaise sauce. Huevos rancheros was pretty much a soup. So yeah, definitely some improvement on the culinary front.

Internet
Free "standard" internet is VERY slow, difficult to stream video at times and sometimes just cuts out. "Premium" internet available for a fee.

Room
Design/layout very is elegant and "smart". Standard room feels (and probably is) relatively spacious for Tokyo. Only complaint is that the closet door blocks hallway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Gregor Andréewitch - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much and we are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that you liked our room.
We would like to also thank you for your comments about our food and location.
Feedback is an essential part of our efforts to continuously improve our services and facilities.
Be assured that all feedback is taken very seriously and shared amongst the management team and the team members alike for improvement and further review.
We would hope that you would consider giving us a second chance to make amends and so we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

the location is not as good as other 5 star hotels i stayed at incluidng Grand Hyatte in Roppongi, Peninsula in Ginza, Riz Carlton and Mandarine around Tokyo central st. And if you look at the facilities inside there is a slight difference in the quality of furnishing. Bed quality is not as great as others in tokyo, or the furnishing is cheap (not marble furnishing in the bathroom or the wood used for furniture is not as solid ). Having said so the price difference justifies for me to stay especially on my longer term business trip. One more thing I noticed at the hotel is that the mobile phone connection is poor if you re using KDDI. (softbank headquater is right next to it so i d expect it s ok).

Like any other hotels in Japan the service quality is good. They are generally very attetative. So the experience is not going to be too disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Gregor Andréewitch - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback in such detail.
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We value our customer’s opinions about us to serve you in any better way. So should there be anything that we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable, please let us know.
Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

As charming and spectacular as Tokyo is, I don't think I'd have loved it quite so much if I hadn't been fortunate enough to stay in this excellent hotel. Located in the uppermost section of a Shinbashi skyscraper, the views were awesome and the accommodation and service were also of the highest standards. Room size is slightly above average for Tokyo, furnishings and decor of great quality but all very understated. Other highlights - Great lobby bar with excellent views to the harbour, well presented pool and gym - the latter with more great views and a Gordon Ramsay restaurant. Any downsides, can only think of one.....its slightly tricky to navigate to the hotel by car - it even stumped a taxi driver who was so ashamed he refused his fare. Apart from that the only thing I'd urge you to consider is the location. This part of town is all high density, ultra modern high rise apart from the vista out to the harbour - so if that isn't your thing perhaps consider another hotel in a different part of town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Gregor Andréewitch - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
What great feedback we have received here – thank you!
We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us at the Conrad Tokyo.
Great to hear that you liked our large guest room and the magnificent view over Tokyo Bay.
Come back soon and we look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place is the epitome of a perfect hotel. The foyer and check in area feels like you are on the set of the Matrix. The rooms are how you would imagine a perfect hotel would look in your dreams ... Except this is REAL. Highest quality everything ... even their complimentary slippers felt like designer gear. The gym pool and spa area is world class.

Good location, great views etc BUT getting around Tokyo is HARD, and finding the rail system via the underground passageway from the hotel confused the hell out of us ... perhaps the hotel could creates signage or produce a map with written instructions because the well intentioned staff only aided our confusion unfortunately.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Gregor Andréewitch - General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Delighted to read your fabulous comments.
Great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the magnificent view overlooking the Tokyo Bay, our guest room, Spa & Fitness and swimming pool as well as other facilities and service we have to offer.Thank you for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Tokyo

Address: 1-9-1 Higashi-Shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-7377, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#1 Business Hotel in Minato
#1 Spa Hotel in Minato
#1 Family Hotel in Minato
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Conrad Tokyo hotel, where legendary Conrad excellence meets the calming and inspiring design of modern day Japan. The Conrad Tokyo hotel is conveniently located just 5 minutes from the famous Ginza Shopping Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Conrad Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Tokyo Hotel Minato
Conrad Hotel Tokyo
Conrad Hotel Minato
Minato Conrad
Conrad Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.