We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale area for affordable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the b akasaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added the b akasaka to your Saves list
the b akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Scarsdale, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Upscale area for affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed in B Akasaka in July 2014 for price of 75US per night. Room was small but fine for single traveler. Much better choice over capsule options. Neighborhood is high end. Walking distance to Ferrari, Aston Martin and other such car dealers and saw several pulling out of adjacent buildings. I did long treks to sights in Shibuya, Shinjuku,Tokyo Station and Intercontinental Hotel for view of Tokyo Bridge. Got lost at some point on every trek. Maps were difficult to use. Twice I had to give up and use Tokyo Subway to get back (very easy after I got used to it). Every aspect of B Akasaka very nice and great value for the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theb_akasaka_Ito, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear 61Icefire

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for taking the time to post the review.
We were very happy to hear your warm comment. Please try trekking the neighborhood by all means when the next coming. And so that it does not get lost... We leave to offer a friendly map.
Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Jinichi Ito
Hotel Managetr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    137
    34
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
50
47
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed at the B for a full week during the end of May.

I don't go on vacation to lounge around hotel rooms -- the only thing I do in the hotel is sleep. What I require is a clean hotel, an especially clean bathroom, and good public transportation access. The b akasaka fulfills all of those criteria.

Hotel: As other people mentioned, the rooms are small, but I doubt you're going to find many other hotels in Tokyo that are as cheap and clean (and it still feels relatively new). Water pressure in the shower was excellent. Internet speeds blow away what we have in the United States. There's a washer and dryer in the hotel that's very cheaply priced; the washer automatically ads detergent.

Location: Tokyo is so large and spread out that there is no centrally located place to stay for tourists. There are several subway stations/lines between a 5 and 12 minute walk that will take you to most places in the city without the need for a transfer.

I'd actually say that the neighbor is good for tourists. It's not as congested as lots of other places in the city -- it has as close to a neighborhood feel that you're going to get in Tokyo -- and there are plenty of cafes and restaurants in walking distance (none of the restaurants are all that memorable, but they're decent enough for dinner).

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theb_akasaka_Ito, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear von_levi

Thank you for choosing hotel "the b akasaka and taking the time to post the review.
And than you very much for received a comment for details.

Our concept as the "b" as below
Good "b"reaakfast, Comfortable "b"ed, "b"alance in your life, ideal location for your
"b"usiness requirements!

We will try with the goal of better hotels in the future. We are looking foward to serve you soon!

Best regards,

Jinichi Ito
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the B Hotel for the first 2 nights in Tokyo. Had a very comfortable stay and the adjoining restaurant provided the Japanese/western breakfast (a buffet with a good variety of dishes) as well as other meals if desired (indoor and outdoor seating). Smokers could smoke outside at the tables at the restaurant. The hotel was non-smoking, so smoking was outside, down the hotel parking drive where an ashtray was provided. The drawback for the location which was a small walk to the Akasaka subway, was it was up a steep hill - a mission for less fit people especially after a days sightseeing. There is a public access shortcut through the school that has steps. All in all a pleasant experience. NOTE there is another B Hotel in Akasaka amongst the main lanes nearer the subway - I suspect while easier and closer to get too it may be noisier as its amongst the bars and nightlife of Akasaka.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theb_akasaka_Ito, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for taking the time to post the review.
We are glad seems to have enjoyed the hotel stay. And thank you for comment in detail that our hotel. We are looking forward to serve you next time!

Best regards,

Jinichi Ito
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I confirm the other reviews. The location is excellent. Be sure to read the directions from the Chiyoda subway line, Akasaka exit 3b and locate the elevator on the outside of the curving sidewalk after you pass the large TBS building. It is behind a partial concrete wall and will save you dragging your luggage up the steep stairs at the end of the sidewalk. After checking in, you can go back to the subway and explore the restaurants below ground, in the Biz building, or on the nearby streets. There is a small, but popular, grocery store that sells wine and beer across from the subway exit 1. Also, an excellent sushi restaurant on the upper level of the Biz building. The B rooms are small, but there is space under the desk for a large suitcase. The shower works great and the rooms have excellent track lighting with dimmers and reading lights by the beds. We had breakfast on the outside patio and enjoyed watching the local kids walk to school. Very quiet area, but folks drive very fast on street in front of hotel. Don't step out until the light changes. My favorite hotel of the 6 we visited in Japan.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theb_akasaka_Ito, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Kathy P

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for taking the time to post the review.
We thank you for up to detailed directions and also we are very pleased that It seems to have enjoyed the stay this time. Please come back and see us again! We are looking forward to serve you soon!!

Best regards,

Jinichi Ito
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel was very clean and comfortable, although lack of storage for clothes. Good location, close to subway, restaurants and cafes. Shops and Culture all around. Nothing negative worth mentioning. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Bob J

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for your review.
We are beyond pleased to read it and learn your experience at the hotel.
Please come back and see us again!

Sincerely,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My mother and I are travelling through Japan for the first time and our first leg was in Tokyo, naturally. We are thrilled that our first stay in this beautiful country was in the b Akasaka.

First off, we got a twin room that was stylishly decorated and well-priced (for Tokyo, no less. Hello??). The price includes a wonderful breakfast in its live-in Italian restaurant. Though the fare did not change the 6 nights that we were there, it was still a delight of Japanese and Western breakfast staples. The closest metro is Akasaka Station on the Chiyoda Line (Exit 3B), and about 5 min walk to the b. The next closest is Akasaka-Mitsuke Station on the Ginza and Marunouchi Lines (about 15 min walk to the b). The walk from Akasaka-Mitsuke is quite the treat though as you will walk through the main thoroughfare of Akasaka. Be prepared to want to give in to visiting all the Izakayas, Japanese fast food joints, wester-style pubs and restaurants on the walk back.

The reception staff, though not exactly Misters and Miss Sunshines-all-the-time, they remain generally helpful and polite as you would expect of the Japanese. The rooms were always cleaned up meticulously. Banzai!

The only real, slight, downside is that it's not easy to find the first time round, and it requires a bit of a walk and a good pair of lungs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear ViandeFumee

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to post your review.
We enjoyed reading it as you mentioned about the hotel and area around the hotel - we are glad that you experienced some Japanese izakayas and more places on the way back to the hotel. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff - they are trained to be polite and helpful to our guests.
We hope you did find the elevator, which would provide an easier access to the hotel. It is right by the TBS building near the stairs.

Thank you again for your review.
Please come back and see us again!

Sincerely,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

From Akasaka station closest exit is 3B, 2 ways to walks, depends what you find more easy with your baggage. (1) taking a steep long uphill staircase - walk straight ahead in the direction of TBS building, go along the curve to the right and you see the stairs uphill, you will see the hotel in front of you/or your left side. (2) taking the uphill road - immediately outside of exit 3B turn to your right, pass by some shops on your left and then take small stairs on your left, you will see a curvy path along a street, take the left direction walking uphill, after 10min you will see the hotel in front of you.

Modern room, twin room approx 18m2. Free bathroom amenities, free tea, slippers and PJ for use, little fridge available, comfortable bed, free but slow wifi and shower stream is low. Windows in room can be opened for fresh air. Free coffee in the lobby available. What I didn't like is looking over a cemetery, not sure which side it is of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, オーナー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hi blossom28,

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for posting your review.

We thrive to keep our rooms and clean and efficient as much as possible.
We apologize for your experience with slow WiFi and low water pressure. We will make sure it has been working correctly.
We truly hope you used the elevator near the TBS building as it would be a big help when you have luggage.

Thank you again for your review.
Please come back and see us again!

Sincerely,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the b akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b akasaka

Address: 7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Minato
#26 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of the business, entertainment, dining and shopping districts of cosmopolitan Akasaka. Close-by is TBS Studios, Akasaka Sacas and two major subway stations providing easy access to Ginza, Shibuya, Shinjuku and Omote Sando. A short walk away you’ll find the Imperial Palace and the popular nightlife and entertainment area of Roppongi including Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown, Suntory Museum of Art and the National Art Centre. The hotel also features Image SPA facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your the b akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Akasaka Hotel Minato
b Akasaka Minato
b Akasaka Hotel Minato
The b Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.