We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the city but it's right in its Heart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the b akasaka

Save Saved
You added the b akasaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
the b akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 93 hotels in Minato
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Out of the city but it's right in its Heart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My mother and I are travelling through Japan for the first time and our first leg was in Tokyo, naturally. We are thrilled that our first stay in this beautiful country was in the b Akasaka.

First off, we got a twin room that was stylishly decorated and well-priced (for Tokyo, no less. Hello??). The price includes a wonderful breakfast in its live-in Italian restaurant. Though the fare did not change the 6 nights that we were there, it was still a delight of Japanese and Western breakfast staples. The closest metro is Akasaka Station on the Chiyoda Line (Exit 3B), and about 5 min walk to the b. The next closest is Akasaka-Mitsuke Station on the Ginza and Marunouchi Lines (about 15 min walk to the b). The walk from Akasaka-Mitsuke is quite the treat though as you will walk through the main thoroughfare of Akasaka. Be prepared to want to give in to visiting all the Izakayas, Japanese fast food joints, wester-style pubs and restaurants on the walk back.

The reception staff, though not exactly Misters and Miss Sunshines-all-the-time, they remain generally helpful and polite as you would expect of the Japanese. The rooms were always cleaned up meticulously. Banzai!

The only real, slight, downside is that it's not easy to find the first time round, and it requires a bit of a walk and a good pair of lungs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    130
    31
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
48
46
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

From Akasaka station closest exit is 3B, 2 ways to walks, depends what you find more easy with your baggage. (1) taking a steep long uphill staircase - walk straight ahead in the direction of TBS building, go along the curve to the right and you see the stairs uphill, you will see the hotel in front of you/or your left side. (2) taking the uphill road - immediately outside of exit 3B turn to your right, pass by some shops on your left and then take small stairs on your left, you will see a curvy path along a street, take the left direction walking uphill, after 10min you will see the hotel in front of you.

Modern room, twin room approx 18m2. Free bathroom amenities, free tea, slippers and PJ for use, little fridge available, comfortable bed, free but slow wifi and shower stream is low. Windows in room can be opened for fresh air. Free coffee in the lobby available. What I didn't like is looking over a cemetery, not sure which side it is of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the Akasaka subway station. It's in a quiet area but there are lots of restaurants, bars etc close by. Front desk staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Room facilities are good. My room was small but very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Beltedcow

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for posting the review.
We are pleased to hear your positive experience at and around the hotel. I will share your kind words about our staff – thank you so much. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hotel is a great choice. While the rooms might be a little small for western travelers, it is not a problem at all. The rooms are all clean, well cared for, and meet all the needs for any traveler. The rooms have several amenities that help make your stay complete. There are washing machines for use by guests. The staff here are all friendly and helpful. Also, getting the breakfast plan makes things much easier, and the food is good. Not only that, but it is very affordable and conveniently located near the Akasaka metro station (about a 5 minute walk or so). You cannot go wrong by staying here.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Leafshadow

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to post the review.
We are pleased to read your positive comments about the rooms, cleanness and breakfast. We truly appreciate your kind comments towards our staff and are glad that we were able to help you. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I spent 5 nights in this hotel and I had nice moments there. The location is fantastic, very close to the Akasaka metro station. The room is small, but considering Tokyo space it is a good size and it has all amenities you need to have a good stay. A fundamental hint is to exit station using TBS exit (I don't remember the number), mainly if you have luggage, because there is an elevator close to TBS building, make easy the way to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Marcelo P

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for taking the time to post the review.
We are pleased to read your experience at and around the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed 4 nights during "Golden Week" in Japan. Paid $150 USD per night including tax. Rate included daily hot buffet breakfast and free wifi access.

The hotel is located about 6-7 mins away from Akasaka subway station. It's pretty easy to find as long as you have a local area map (there are no street signs for the hotel). Lots of restaurant options in the area and some of them are open till pretty late. The hotel was tucked into the smaller street so no noise issue from the restaurants/bars. The 7-11 located right around the corner from the hotel has an ATM that allows for cash withdrawal from oversea banks (easier than finding a currency exchange booth).

Rooms were really good size by Tokyo standard. We have a 2 twin-beds room and there was enough space for us to open up the luggage and stretch out our legs between the beds and the desk. Standing shower stall only - no bath tub. Toilet comes fully equipped with the washing and warming features (pretty standard in Japan these days).

Staff spoke pretty good English so checking in/asking for help was a breeze. Wifi coverage was great - no access/speed issue. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear mcmug2002

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for posting the review.
We are pleased to be able to welcome you and become as your Tokyo base.
We are glad to hear that you did not have any noise issues – as you mentioned we are in a laid back neighborhood although it is centrally located with easy access to different parts of Tokyo.
It is great to know that you liked the room and bathroom. Thank you for your kind words towards our staff – I will be sure to share them with the team.
Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I would only recommend this hotel for travelers conducting business in the vicinity.

Here is why:

1) The hotel is not a good walk from the station. Granted the walk is about 7-10 minutes, there are some very steep slopes that need to be conquered on the way to the hotel. It makes one reluctant to get off the train. I can only imagine how someone would feel if they just spent the whole day shopping and then had to make this walk. Also, if you are making your way from the airport via train. Good Luck!

2) Staff at the hotel lacked a lot of hospitality. I have lived and stayed at many places in Japan and the hospitality of the staff does not compare to anywhere. I don't recall hearing a 'Good Morning' or a 'Good Evening' In any language once during my week long stay. Even when I passed through the lobby alone. The staff cannot attribute this to the language barrier as I speak Japanese. Also never once saw a real smile. Staff gave the impression that they were upset at me for staying at their hotel. It can only be a lack of hospitality and service. Staff also had uniforms that resembled those of pool attendants. I kept thinking that there was a pool somewhere in the hotel. I just don't know.

3) Back to the hospitality. Upon arrival, I asked for water and was given a cup of warm water. Maybe the restaurant was not open but the guy could have just told me that or referred me to one of their vending machines. But giving someone warm water when you notice they are profusely sweating is a little insulting.

4) Rooms are tiny. If you had two people in a twin room, you would need to jump over your luggage to get to the bed. Actually, you would need to do a lot of sideways scooting. The partition for the bathroom is glass. If your roommate is tall, I hope you're not shy. Also, if you make a lot of noises while you are in the bathroom, I hope you are not shy. The television had only a couple of channels. Not worth the energy to press the remote. And the WIFI was a tease. When you waited so long for it to connect and it appears like its finally working, it laughs in your face with that 'lack of connectivity' icon.

5) Facilities are also really lacking. The lobby consisted of two sofas, an espresso machine that sometimes worked, and a laptop on a table with Internet. There is a washer and dryer but if you used the dryer it would take about a quarter of the day for the clothes to really dry. The restaurant was nothing but overpriced. Only comfort was the beer vending machine and these beers too were overpriced.

I understand that this hotel may seem like a value to some people but it really is not. I find the hotel an insult to most people in the stellar hospitality industry of Japan. If this hotel were just a business hotel I would not mind all the disappointments. But after bringing my guests and family to stay here I feel ashamed that I let them down with this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear PhucDong

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for contacting us.
We are disappointed that we could not live up to your expectations including room size, bathroom door, laundry facility, WiFi and coffee machine. We will look into those problems you raised and make sure that they are working properly for the guests.
We are very sorry that you did not know about the elevator that you could take to avoid the stairs and slopes to come to the hotel. We are also sorry about the behavior about our staff. We will share your comments with the team for improving service. We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to the b akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b akasaka

Address: 7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — the b akasaka 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of the business, entertainment, dining and shopping districts of cosmopolitan Akasaka. Close-by is TBS Studios, Akasaka Sacas and two major subway stations providing easy access to Ginza, Shibuya, Shinjuku and Omote Sando. A short walk away you’ll find the Imperial Palace and the popular nightlife and entertainment area of Roppongi including Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown, Suntory Museum of Art and the National Art Centre. The hotel also features Image SPA facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Venere so you can book your the b akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Akasaka Hotel Minato
b Akasaka Minato
b Akasaka Hotel Minato
The b Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.