We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the b akasaka

Save Saved
You added the b akasaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
the b akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 93 hotels in Minato
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for our first 2 nights in Tokyo, and very much enjoyed our stay. The room was quite small (although in Tokyo, that is to be expected), but they had made use of the space brilliantly. The bathroom was unique, and had a really good shower. As with a lot of other hotels in Japan, Shiseido toiletries were provided. Don't bother packing shampoo, etc! The blackout blinds in the room really helped for a good night's sleep too.

We arranged for our luggage to be couriered on to our next location, and the staff at Reception were more than happy to do this for us. Also, breakfast was included in the price of the room, which was pretty handy. I would definitely stay here again - it's in a good location, it's clean and the staff are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear tassimo84

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for posting the review.
We are happy to know that we were able to welcome you and you find us worth staying again. We appreciate your comment about our room and bathroom as we try our best to make them as efficient and comfortable as possible. We are delighted that you liked the breakfast and amenities as well. We must say thank you for your kind comment about our staff – I will make sure to pass it onto them.
Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    131
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
48
45
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, Wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Firstly, a big thank you to gburg2000, John P and others for the fast track directions of how to get to the B the easy way. The hidden elevator actually looks like a concrete prison entrance on the ground floor as you approach it, but the directions are all spot on.

If you are arriving into Narita, I highly recommend the Suica-NEX card which gives you return journey on the train for the hour or so transfer from NRT into Tokyo Station, then also gives you credit on the Metro system (we still had credit remaining after our 3 day stay) for the 30mins or so Tokyo Station to Akasaka. The card costs 3,500Yen, approx £37 per person and is very convenient and saves hunting around for change. As mentioned by others, the nearby Akasake-misuke actually has better links to areas and may save you swapping lines once you become familiar with the hotels location. Often you are better getting off the Metro near your destination and maybe walking for a few minutes, rather than swapping multiple lines just to get a little bit closer as most stops are not really very far apart.

We arrived on an early morning flight so the room was not ready, but the pleasant lobby staff took our bags and provided us with a local map to get us started.

As far as the hotel, it was advertised as a four star by BA, but I'd class it more like a good Tokyo 3 star. If you've ever stayed in a budget Etap hotel in Europe, this hotel has some common modular themes, but to a much nicer standard. Our twin room on the top floor was clean and well prepared with all the nice touches like dressing gowns, slippers, toothbrush, fridge, flat screen TV etc, great multi head shower.

The bathroom with a glass dividing wall was also as I've seen in some other Asian hotels, but not really sure it is the best option in such a compact room. Although it looked good, I think I would have preferred a solid wall to divide the living space. We traveled light with just one bag each, so did not find storage much of an issue.

Beds were firm but fine, aircon was powerful (30C in the daytime during our stay) and the room had blackout blinds. The hotel is in a very quiet location, so no problem with noise. In fact the hotel's location is in a pretty modern business area, but within 5 mins you can be in a busier area to have coffee/drinks or snacks, or onto the Metro to head out to other districts.

Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment so we only went down once, but in fairness there is a nice area to sit out in the sun and have a coffee and cereal. It might just have been that we didn't know what to expect in a Japanese breakfast, but the Western offering was just OK. Nice bean coffee from the machine in the reception area though. If I head back to Tokyo I'd like to check out the B Roppongi, as I like the style of the B hotels and would recommend them as excellent value. Oh yeah, WIFI works well, even on the 8th floor.

When you are in Tokyo, areas we really liked were Shinjuku daytime/evening for plenty of hustle & bustle and some good tourist shops (The Loft, Tokyu Hands), Akihabara (Electric City) for all the gaming, gadget and toy shops, also Harajuku to check out all the oddly dressed people and also close to the Royal Palace.

Enjoyed our stay and met our needs - recommended for a no nonsense, good value, well located base to enjoy Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear M4RK_H

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for posting your review.
We are happy that you liked our location and some amenities in the room – blackout blinds, aircon, slippers, toothbrush, fridge etc. The frosted glass dividing wall is private, although it provides an open feel to the room, which can be a nice touch for a Tokyo sized room.
We are disappointed that we could not live up to your expectation for our breakfast. We cater both Japanese and Western breakfast daily. I will share your comment with our culinary team.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the b hotels!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my husband and 2 teenage children. Rooms were small but very functional and well designed so the space was not a problem. Location was great close to the subway and we had no problems getting everywhere we wanted to go. Good range of restaurants nearby including a great sushi place and bakery in the mall at the subway station. The pizza restaurant next to the hotel was also good especially when we got back late one night and my daughter was really hungry and tired and we just needed something quick and convenient. Staff were friendly and wifi worked well - essential with two teenagers. Overall, we thought this was amazing value for a city like Tokyo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear wheretogonext44

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to write your review.
Our rooms are Tokyo-sized and as you said we try our best to make them comfortable and functional as much as possible. We are beyond happy to be chosen for your Tokyo base. We are also delighted to hear you and your family had a great time in Tokyo.
Please come back and see us again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we were in the hotel from the 13th to the 18th of august - five minute walking to the metro station - lot of restaurants in the nearby - walking distance to Roppongi Hills (15 minutes) and Omotesando (20 minutes) - near the Sony studios you can meet your favorite soap opera actors - the staff is very kind and helpful (for reservation in restaurant, for renting cars) - good free coffe at the entrance - very lovely stay in a very quiet place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear flox_1965

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for posting the review.
We are beyond pleased to be called “perfect.” Thank you so much.
It sounds like you got to experience many things in Tokyo and we are happy that we were able to be your Tokyo base while your stay. We appreciate your kind comment towards our staff – I will share it with the team.
Thank you again – please come back and see us!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed there for three nights on my first trip to Tokyo, which I went alone as a big layover coming back from Shanghai to Mexico.

I arrived to Haneda and took the train to Tokyo and then a cab, which was an awesome experience, but the driver had a little trouble locating the hotel. Once that got solved, I got there and had a room at the second floor, right on top of the lobby so I had wifi signal which was great.

The hotel room is smaller than my closet back home, but it is packed with functionality: full bathroom with heated seat, awesome water pressure, toiletries, comfortable single bed, robe, tv, alarm clock, hangers.... It seems like these are things you'd expect from a hotel and you're right, but to have all of this and more in such a small space and yet feel comfortable in the room was something I was definitely not expecting.

I did not eat there since there is SO MUCH to see outside, but what little time I spent in the hotel it certainly exceeded my expectations. You can't compare this to a hotel in a town with more room to spare, and it is not a luxury hotel either, but if you're looking for a simple, clean, not that expensive place. This is it!

Also, being close to Akasaka subway station is quite convenient. Use the elevator, not the stairs like I did the first 3 times hehehe.

I plan on going back to Tokyo sometime in the mid future with my wife and daughter. If there is a bigger room that can take us, we'll stay at the B Akasaka!

Room Tip: Learn your way back and forth to the subway station Walk around the area, there are some nice parks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi CMemoG

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to write a review.

We are beyond pleased to read your experience at the hotel. Yes, as you mentioned we try to make the space as efficient as possible and we are truly happy that you liked it. We now have free WiFi in each and every single guest room. As for a bigger room to cater you and your family, we do have more spacious twin rooms. However if you would like bigger space, we have bigger rooms at our sister hotels in roppongi, ikebukuro and other locations. Please let us know when you return – we would be more than happy to help you!

Thank you again for your time to share your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again! Hasta luego!!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading other reviews and were not disappointed. In a quiet area, centrally located with easy access to the Metro (use the 24hr elevator, not the steps to climb the hill). Akasaka has lots of every type of restaurant and shopping within easy access.
Room was clean, quiet and compact with all the space well utilised. Bathroom is only separated from bedroom by frosted glass, but well stocked (toothbrush, razor, hairbrush etc). Shower was wonderfully refreshing after a long day sightseeing. Toilet has heated seat plus full wash, rinse and dry facilities.
Staff very helpful, storing cases both before check-in and after check-out. Hotel maps had every language except English so had to use French map. WiFi only worked in the lobby even though we were only on the second floor. Only free coffee available in lobby, although tea & coffee making facilities provided in the room. Included breakfast was basic but adequate to get you going.
I would not hesitate to stay here again if we revisit Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear JohnP

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to post your review.

We are happy to read your positive comment from our room, bathroom, amenities and staff. I will forward your comment regarding our breakfast for our culinary team for any improvement we can make. WIFI is now available in all rooms and lobby for free! Each room also has a complimentary LAN cable as well.

We truly appreciate your feedback. Please come back and see us again upon your return to Japan!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I went to Tokyo alone for the weekend, and the B Akasaka turned out to be perfect. The room was like a mini spaceship, so I wouldn't recommend it for two people, but for one it was great. Centrally located on a quiet street and, thanks to tripadvisor rec's, easy to access the Akasaka subway stop. Every tourist question I had was answered by the friendly staff, and they loaned me an umbrella during a downpour. Asian breakfast was salty and delicious with a little sidewalk seating area. Thanks to the B my weekend in Tokyo was just lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear ritameta9

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for posting the review.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the stay including our room breakfast. We are also glad that you read the recommendations for how to get to the hotel from the station prior your visit – we would love to help you out too though – the route is what we would recommend. We are also happy that we were able to help you with an umbrella – we would rend one if we have any spare. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to the b akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b akasaka

Address: 7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — the b akasaka 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of the business, entertainment, dining and shopping districts of cosmopolitan Akasaka. Close-by is TBS Studios, Akasaka Sacas and two major subway stations providing easy access to Ginza, Shibuya, Shinjuku and Omote Sando. A short walk away you’ll find the Imperial Palace and the popular nightlife and entertainment area of Roppongi including Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown, Suntory Museum of Art and the National Art Centre. The hotel also features Image SPA facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your the b akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Akasaka Hotel Minato
b Akasaka Minato
b Akasaka Hotel Minato
The b Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.