We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for solo traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the b akasaka

Save Saved
You added the b akasaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
the b akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 93 hotels in Minato
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good choice for solo traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I went to Tokyo alone for the weekend, and the B Akasaka turned out to be perfect. The room was like a mini spaceship, so I wouldn't recommend it for two people, but for one it was great. Centrally located on a quiet street and, thanks to tripadvisor rec's, easy to access the Akasaka subway stop. Every tourist question I had was answered by the friendly staff, and they loaned me an umbrella during a downpour. Asian breakfast was salty and delicious with a little sidewalk seating area. Thanks to the B my weekend in Tokyo was just lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear ritameta9

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for posting the review.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the stay including our room breakfast. We are also glad that you read the recommendations for how to get to the hotel from the station prior your visit – we would love to help you out too though – the route is what we would recommend. We are also happy that we were able to help you with an umbrella – we would rend one if we have any spare. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    132
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
48
46
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in June. The place is easy to find. I highly recommend using the elevator next to the TBS building and infront of the Akasaka Residence building. After a day of sight seeing, the last thing you want to do is climb stairs up to the hotel. The hotel is located close to Akasaka subway station, The Biz tower (filled with upmarket restaurants). There is also a supermarket called Maruetsu Petit which is fantastic for stocking up on snacks, water and meals such as Gyoza, Sushi and bento boxes for those times when you want to eat on the go. Theres also a coffee machine in the lobby for a quick pick me up.

The Room itself is nice, modern and very clean. Of course quite small compared to other places but this is Japan. I recommend getting the Twin room as I believe this is a tiny bit bigger than the double. The bathroom is great but since the wall of the bathroom is frosted glass, I would only be comfortable staying here with my husband. I would imagine some awkward moments with friends or family members. The room makes use of every inch of space and i quite liked the fit out of the room. At first small, but after a while I felt quite comfortable. Room includes tea making facilities, slippers, pyjamas, hairdryer and internet access via cable. We stayed on the 3rd floor so we could access the wifi which was convenient.

The area itself is quite safe, there's security guards around the TBS building and the biz tower and surrounding streets are quite lively cause of the restaurants. The Akasaka line isn't the most convenient as you do have to change at least one station to get to any major attraction but i guess with anywhere in Tokyo you do have to take the subway to get around. For those on the JR pass, the closest station is Shibuya which is 4kms away.

Overall a good stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear tracey2586

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to hear your positive experience at our hotel and in Akasaka. We do recommend the route that you can use the elevator because it is easier and more convenient. Please come back upon your next trip to Tokyo! We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Before I get to the review of the hotel, if you chose to stay here after reading the reviews, DO NOT walk up the hill to get to the hotel. There is a much easier way to go:

1. Take the metro to the Akasaka stop on the Chiyoda line.
2. Use exit 3b (using all escalators through the small shopping area). This exit will drop you at the TBS outside entertainment square.
3. Go straight off the escalator and follow the curve of the road to the right for about 100 meters
4. On your right, there will be an elevator just before a large set of stairs. It is hidden in a small, concrete alcove.
5. Take the elevator to the top level (there are only two levels).
6. Exit out of the elevator and walk straight (and flat) to the end of the street where the hotel is located.

About the hotel:
The rooms are small. And, for some strange reason, the wall separating the bathroom and the bedroom is made entirely of glass! This is not a hotel room to share with your parents or casual friends, as you will quickly become acquainted with their bathroom habits. The included breakfast was not very good (after our first morning, we skipped it).

The hotel, however, was in a quiet neighborhood with access to good shopping and restaurants. For Americans, there are several familiar chains close to the hotel (McDonalds, Burger King, Starbucks, Pizza Hut, Subway). Also, the new Akasaka Sacas shopping area really diversifies the neighborhood's appeal.

All told, we would stay here again if our travels took us to the Akasaka neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear gburg2000

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for posting your review.
The direction you gave looks great - that’s the route we recommend! Taking the hidden elevator would definitely help when you have a luggage with you. Some of our rooms have a smoked (not see through) glass wall for design and a purpose to make the room feel bigger and more comfortable. We are disappointed that our Japanese and Western breakfast buffet did not meet your expectation. As you mentioned Akasaka offers great dining and shopping experience. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were a party of 3 couples and booked 3 rooms at the hotel.The way to the hotel is on a very steep slope and I wish to be notified about it before I booked my room based on the proximity of the metro station. My husband suffered an CVA few years ago and found it hard to reach the hotel after having to climb up the metro stairs so we had to take a taxi from the metro station to the hotel. The room was clean, comfortable, with all amenities but small and we felt lucky to book a twin room. Breakfast is OK even repetitive. WIFI is available in the lobby only but there is cable for laptop in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear jeannette r

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to write your review.

We are sorry to hear your experience with the stairs and steep hills.
There is the way we recommend to the hotel, which our guests can avoid both stairs and steep hills – there is an elevator and escalators available. Please let us know before your next stay so that we can show you the way.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent six nights here at the beginning of April. The hotel was really easy to find and in walking distance of the Akasaka Metro Station. The hill upto the hotel was not as bad as people tell you, we managed to walk up woth our suitcases with no problem.
This was our first trip to Tokyo, and found the hotel to be a great base for seeing the city. The area felt very safe, even late at night.
The hotel staff were very polite and welcoming when we arrived, despite being too early to check in we were welcome to relax with free coffee in the lobby until our room was ready. This was very much appreciated having been awake for almost 24 hours and a long flight from the UK.
The room was lovely. We expected it to be small, but we found it adequate for our needs and had no problems with the size. It was clean, as was the bathroom, and the shower was wonderful! The room was quiet and comfortable and we had no problem sleeping. The free internet access in the room was useful as we had taken our laptop and useful for staying in touch with people back home.
We would definitely choose to stay here again, and cannot wait to return to Tokyo in the future, it is such a wonderful city!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi mrslangley

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying at our hotel. As you mentioned, the area is safe yet still urban with east access to popular places throughout Tokyo. I will be sure to share your compliment about our staff.
Thank you again for visiting us. Please come back to Tokyo and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

first and foremost, who's ready for an international wifi party 24/7 in the lobby!

...free wifi *only* in the lobby yields this. probably the strangest aspect of the hotel from my other experiences. i was reaaaally frustrated to remember i booked here and settled on the wifi only in lobby. not having wifi in your private room is a huge burden to me who was just with smartphone and tablet. if you brought your laptop there is a LAN connection....

oh but *pssshh* i got a wee little secret to share with whoever is smart and reads my review: request a room on floor 3 or below and the wifi works in your room. i discovered this when they mistakenly told us our room was on floor 3, but it was actually on floor 5. though they will state wifi will not work... IT WORKS if you stay on 3 or lower. 3 is the lowest floor for twin bed rooms, so that was the best we could do. after 1 night on floor 5, we brought our belongings back to the front desk and got switched free of charge to 3 for the remainder of the stay. so much better!

no international wifi party in the lobby for me, thx.

issue #2: THE BEDS ARE AWFUL. awful with a capital A. "firm" is a very loose and generous term for their mattresses. i felt like i was sleeping on concrete. it was that terrible. the staff is very friendly and accommodating though, and gave us extra mattress pads to use along with our comforters folded in half to make sleep bearable. but that is the best i can say, it was bearable.

honestly, i like to be optimistic whenever possible but not having strong free wifi in the room and a comfortable bed pretty much squashes all my bare minimum requirements for a good hotel stay.

but positives do include:

• the rooms are pretty and modern
• the showers are AMAZING with multiple sprayers (glassed off divider creating the bathroom is odd, but i guess goes with the modernness)
• the very extensive included breakfast everyday is awesome -- but is exactly the same every-single-day (if you care). i just expected a lame continental breakfast but there was both western and japanese items: yogurt, salad, cereal, fruit cocktail, scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes with bacon, breakfast sausage, miso soup, cooked salmon, croissants and bread...
• free single serve coffee maker in lobby 24/7 is very good. better option to grab with breakfast than the coffee in the dining area
• the staff is very very helpful - even called a local bar / restaurant to make a reservation for us
right next to the TSB station and you always see cool live filmings going on. we watched a gameshow structure being built all week then finally filmed live. was cool to continue and watch on the tv in the room! they also had some team race going on right across from the hotel.
• close to the akasaka station... you walk across the street from the hotel, down the staircase, along the TBS building and it takes you right into the entrance
• the akasaka area is really nice to be staying in. i stayed in shinjuku the first leg of my trip, and it is like night and day. much more mellow (very quiet and low traffic in the hotel area) and the lower area across from TBS and in the station area is a fun hip and trendy area with great shopping and restaurants. there is a multi-level food court down there as well as a variety of restaurants. we ate at the spanish restaurant a bit after the food court and it was VERY good - great pasta and flatbreads.

all in all, the B appears to be a decent chain with a lot to offer. if you dont care about wifi in room and like super firm mattresses, this place would be a 5 star for you.

Room Tip: request/change for a room on the 3rd floor (if booking twin) or lower (for doubles/suites) to access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi Heather W

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for posting your review.
We would like to let you know that we are working on the complimentary WiFi installed at this moment - it will be available throughout the hotel soon. The complimentary LAN in each room will also still be available.

We are disappointed that we could not meet your expectations regarding the bed and could not help you with an extra padding. Please allow us to say that we do have high quality Simmons or Francebed brand in each and every room - however, we do understand your frustrations.

It sounds like you were able to have a great time in Akasaka, which we are happy to know. Please come back and see us again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here because we needed a hotel in this location. Its a business hotel and the twin room we stayed in is not really suitable for travellers with a lot of luggage - very small. It was clean and contained all we needed but the bathroom was glass enclosed and a bit less private than I would have liked travelling with a friend.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean and totally fine for somewhere to sleep while we were tourists in Tokyo.
The buffet breakfast was included in our booking and there was a choice of western or japanese items - or combo if you liked!
The rooms have blackout blinds so it was a good nights sleep with no intrusion of lights and sounds from Tokyo.
Downsides - only wifi in the lobby and the spa no longer existed but was advertised on the hotel website.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi LadyLozreena

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for posting your review.

We appreciate your kind compliment about our staff – I will be sure to share it with the team. Some of our rooms are Tokyo-sized, and we try our best to maximize the space.

Currently WIFI is only available in the lobby area and the Internet via LAN is available in all rooms; however, we are moving towards WIFI available in the entire hotel as this is one of the most frequent requests we receive. The spa is still open and the front desk members can help you make a reservation if you would like upon your next visit.

Thanks again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to the b akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b akasaka

Address: 7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — the b akasaka 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of the business, entertainment, dining and shopping districts of cosmopolitan Akasaka. Close-by is TBS Studios, Akasaka Sacas and two major subway stations providing easy access to Ginza, Shibuya, Shinjuku and Omote Sando. A short walk away you’ll find the Imperial Palace and the popular nightlife and entertainment area of Roppongi including Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown, Suntory Museum of Art and the National Art Centre. The hotel also features Image SPA facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your the b akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Akasaka Hotel Minato
b Akasaka Minato
b Akasaka Hotel Minato
The b Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.