We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the b akasaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added the b akasaka to your Saves list
the b akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Little Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent six nights here at the beginning of April. The hotel was really easy to find and in walking distance of the Akasaka Metro Station. The hill upto the hotel was not as bad as people tell you, we managed to walk up woth our suitcases with no problem.
This was our first trip to Tokyo, and found the hotel to be a great base for seeing the city. The area felt very safe, even late at night.
The hotel staff were very polite and welcoming when we arrived, despite being too early to check in we were welcome to relax with free coffee in the lobby until our room was ready. This was very much appreciated having been awake for almost 24 hours and a long flight from the UK.
The room was lovely. We expected it to be small, but we found it adequate for our needs and had no problems with the size. It was clean, as was the bathroom, and the shower was wonderful! The room was quiet and comfortable and we had no problem sleeping. The free internet access in the room was useful as we had taken our laptop and useful for staying in touch with people back home.
We would definitely choose to stay here again, and cannot wait to return to Tokyo in the future, it is such a wonderful city!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi mrslangley

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying at our hotel. As you mentioned, the area is safe yet still urban with east access to popular places throughout Tokyo. I will be sure to share your compliment about our staff.
Thank you again for visiting us. Please come back to Tokyo and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    141
    36
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
52
48
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

first and foremost, who's ready for an international wifi party 24/7 in the lobby!

...free wifi *only* in the lobby yields this. probably the strangest aspect of the hotel from my other experiences. i was reaaaally frustrated to remember i booked here and settled on the wifi only in lobby. not having wifi in your private room is a huge burden to me who was just with smartphone and tablet. if you brought your laptop there is a LAN connection....

oh but *pssshh* i got a wee little secret to share with whoever is smart and reads my review: request a room on floor 3 or below and the wifi works in your room. i discovered this when they mistakenly told us our room was on floor 3, but it was actually on floor 5. though they will state wifi will not work... IT WORKS if you stay on 3 or lower. 3 is the lowest floor for twin bed rooms, so that was the best we could do. after 1 night on floor 5, we brought our belongings back to the front desk and got switched free of charge to 3 for the remainder of the stay. so much better!

no international wifi party in the lobby for me, thx.

issue #2: THE BEDS ARE AWFUL. awful with a capital A. "firm" is a very loose and generous term for their mattresses. i felt like i was sleeping on concrete. it was that terrible. the staff is very friendly and accommodating though, and gave us extra mattress pads to use along with our comforters folded in half to make sleep bearable. but that is the best i can say, it was bearable.

honestly, i like to be optimistic whenever possible but not having strong free wifi in the room and a comfortable bed pretty much squashes all my bare minimum requirements for a good hotel stay.

but positives do include:

• the rooms are pretty and modern
• the showers are AMAZING with multiple sprayers (glassed off divider creating the bathroom is odd, but i guess goes with the modernness)
• the very extensive included breakfast everyday is awesome -- but is exactly the same every-single-day (if you care). i just expected a lame continental breakfast but there was both western and japanese items: yogurt, salad, cereal, fruit cocktail, scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes with bacon, breakfast sausage, miso soup, cooked salmon, croissants and bread...
• free single serve coffee maker in lobby 24/7 is very good. better option to grab with breakfast than the coffee in the dining area
• the staff is very very helpful - even called a local bar / restaurant to make a reservation for us
right next to the TSB station and you always see cool live filmings going on. we watched a gameshow structure being built all week then finally filmed live. was cool to continue and watch on the tv in the room! they also had some team race going on right across from the hotel.
• close to the akasaka station... you walk across the street from the hotel, down the staircase, along the TBS building and it takes you right into the entrance
• the akasaka area is really nice to be staying in. i stayed in shinjuku the first leg of my trip, and it is like night and day. much more mellow (very quiet and low traffic in the hotel area) and the lower area across from TBS and in the station area is a fun hip and trendy area with great shopping and restaurants. there is a multi-level food court down there as well as a variety of restaurants. we ate at the spanish restaurant a bit after the food court and it was VERY good - great pasta and flatbreads.

all in all, the B appears to be a decent chain with a lot to offer. if you dont care about wifi in room and like super firm mattresses, this place would be a 5 star for you.

Room Tip: request/change for a room on the 3rd floor (if booking twin) or lower (for doubles/suites) to access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi Heather W

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for posting your review.
We would like to let you know that we are working on the complimentary WiFi installed at this moment - it will be available throughout the hotel soon. The complimentary LAN in each room will also still be available.

We are disappointed that we could not meet your expectations regarding the bed and could not help you with an extra padding. Please allow us to say that we do have high quality Simmons or Francebed brand in each and every room - however, we do understand your frustrations.

It sounds like you were able to have a great time in Akasaka, which we are happy to know. Please come back and see us again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here because we needed a hotel in this location. Its a business hotel and the twin room we stayed in is not really suitable for travellers with a lot of luggage - very small. It was clean and contained all we needed but the bathroom was glass enclosed and a bit less private than I would have liked travelling with a friend.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean and totally fine for somewhere to sleep while we were tourists in Tokyo.
The buffet breakfast was included in our booking and there was a choice of western or japanese items - or combo if you liked!
The rooms have blackout blinds so it was a good nights sleep with no intrusion of lights and sounds from Tokyo.
Downsides - only wifi in the lobby and the spa no longer existed but was advertised on the hotel website.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi LadyLozreena

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for posting your review.

We appreciate your kind compliment about our staff – I will be sure to share it with the team. Some of our rooms are Tokyo-sized, and we try our best to maximize the space.

Currently WIFI is only available in the lobby area and the Internet via LAN is available in all rooms; however, we are moving towards WIFI available in the entire hotel as this is one of the most frequent requests we receive. The spa is still open and the front desk members can help you make a reservation if you would like upon your next visit.

Thanks again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at the B Akasaka hotel in Tokyo. The hotel itself is to a decent standard, its clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are just about big enough, and the buffet breakfast included in the room rate was a nice way to start your day. There is free wi-fi in the hotel lobby but not in your hotel rooms which can be a little frustratiing but its not a big deal. The check-in time of after 3pm is a tad frustrating as we arrived on an early morning flight but the hotel reception did very kindly let us check-in around midday with no added charge.

The hotel is located in Akasaka which is served by the Chiyoda line of the Tokyo metro. To get to the hotel get off at Akasaka metro station, head for exit 3b, go up the escalator, and you will arrive outside the TBS building. Follow the road around to the right and you should find a slightly hidden elevator. Take this to level 4 and walk forward along the road in a straight line for a 100 metres or so, the hotel should be at the end of the street. The walk from the metro station to the hotel should only take 5-10 minutes. There are obviously other routes and different exits from the metro station that will all lead to the hotel, but this was the best route.

The surrounding area of the hotel is a little quiet but there are some nice places to eat and a few convenience stores nearby. A big positive of the location is that a short walk in any direction will take you to lots of different places within Tokyo city. Roppongi and Roppongi Hills, Shibuya, Ginza, and so on, are all 15-30 minutes walk, so dont be afraid to explore. However, the best way to get around is the metro or JR railway. A good tip is to buy a PASMO card which requires a 500yen refundable deposit, and then you can top it up with as much money as you want and then use it on any of the metro lines, JR lines, and buses. It really is a life saver and saves you having to continually buy rail tickets.

Room Tip: Japan still allows smoking indoors in some hotels and restaurants, so ask for a non-smoking room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi TBakes

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for sharing your experience.

At this moment, WIFI is only available in the lobby and the Internet via LAN is available in all rooms; however, we are working towards getting WIFI in room installed as it is one of the most frequent requests from our guests.
We are glad that you took an advantage of our location to explore in Tokyo - it looks like you were able to visit many different places and locations.

Thanks again for posting your review.
We look forward to welcoming you!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Small but very clean, this hotel best serves those who like to walk as the nearest metro station is some distance. The hotel is on top of a hill, next to the Tokyo Broadcasting Service, and is very quiet at night. It seems slightly out of the way, but your walks in any direction are rewarding.
Breakfast was 1000 yen -- food, nothing fancy, and I had better elsewhere for the same price.
If you have only light luggage then you can walk to the Metro. However, with anything heavy you will need to catch a taxi from the taxis lined up at the large business building opposite. My mid-afternoon (light traffic) taxi ride to Tokyo Station cost 1600 Yen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi carilloneur

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to post the review.

There is a route where you can take the elevator near TBS, and we would love to share it with you – please let us know when you visit next time. We would help you catch a taxi if you would like us to. We are disappointed our Japanese and Western breakfast buffet didn't meet your expectation.

Thanks again for staying at the b akasaka.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms are small, and the bathroom is a glass cube in the corner! The decor is getting on a bit, and has lots of scuffs (as you'd expect in a small room). It was slighlty smaller than other hotels I stayed in whilst in Japan and had no bath in the bathroom (the shower was no good for my 5'11" girlfriend either, as the head was too low, and only just high enough for me at 5'8").

The breakfast was buffet style (Japanese or western), and not great. There are coffee shops not too far away if you'd prefer to sort your own breakfast.

The nearest underground station is Akasaka, which doesn't go direct to as many places as from Akasaka mitsuke (a bit further to walk). It is close to lots of restaurants.

I also stayed at the Hotel Monterey Akasaka, which is better positioned for Akasake mitsuke, is slightly large room, and better decor. If you book in advance you can get the Montery for similar/same price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Jim H

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to write a review.
We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked 1 night here as somewhere to get our heads down before an early flight from Narita the next morning, and we booked it on the basis of how cheap it was.

The room was reasonably small, but it had all of the necessary bits and bobs you usually find in a hotel room. The bathroom was behind a partially frosted glass partition, which was a bit odd, as your room-mate (if they feel so inclined) can quite easily peer over the top of the frosted section and watch you having a number 2 or a shower, and there is nothing you can do to stop it!

Beds were very comfy and the rooms were clean. Location-wise, its very handy for Akasaka and Roppongi if you want to sample a bit of nightlife, but the immediate vicinity is reasonably quiet so there is no problems with noisy traffic during the night.

I would probably stay there again if I had to, but Id look around at a whole list of other hotels first.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Big_Lal

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for your time to post your review.

We are sorry we couldn't meet your expectations regarding the frosted glass partition. Although you can’t see through it, we understand your thoughts. The reason behind choosing the frosted glass instead of a regular wall was to make the Tokyo sized room look bigger and more relaxing and comfortable atmosphere with an urban touch.
As you mentioned, the location is one of our strengths – it is close to restaurants, bars, and more but we are in a quiet area.

Thanks again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the b akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b akasaka

Address: 7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Minato
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#26 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of the business, entertainment, dining and shopping districts of cosmopolitan Akasaka. Close-by is TBS Studios, Akasaka Sacas and two major subway stations providing easy access to Ginza, Shibuya, Shinjuku and Omote Sando. A short walk away you’ll find the Imperial Palace and the popular nightlife and entertainment area of Roppongi including Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown, Suntory Museum of Art and the National Art Centre. The hotel also features Image SPA facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your the b akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Akasaka Hotel Minato
b Akasaka Minato
b Akasaka Hotel Minato
The b Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.