We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is fine, but just a little too small.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the b akasaka

Save Saved
You added the b akasaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
the b akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Minato
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Everything is fine, but just a little too small.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Service is good, the room is good, the environment is very clear, and everything is fine but the room is tooooo small. I stayed at a single room for three nights, and I know it is a normal situation of "small" of room in Japan, however I still do not like such small space (in such price).

每個環節都很棒,唯獨房間真的太小了,單人房小到令人不耐待在房間。浴室空間卻很舒適,也很方便使用。早餐ok,地點離捷運站五分鐘腳程,雖然要爬上赤坂的小小山丘。以這個價錢來說,太貴了一點,也比較適合出差或只是回房睡覺的旅人。

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi pomelo66

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for sharing your experience.
We really appreciate your comment – we are beyond pleased to find out you are satisfied with everything. As you said, the Tokyo standard room size is different – if you prefer a bigger room, we would recommend our superior rooms as they are bigger. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any help choose the right room for you.
Thanks again for your review. We look forward welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    134
    34
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
50
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here our first few days in Tokyo. The room was a well thought out space that made use or every inch. While it is smaller than most people in North America are used to, once we got used to it, we didn't have any problems. The bed was comfortable but the pillows we found to be a bit flat, which we've discovered is a common hotel problem and doesn't reflect on just this hotel.
The staff was most helpful to two travelers on their first adventure in Japan and helped us locate things on maps, told us how to get to the subway and even helped us make dinner reservations for a popular restaurant. We did have the hotel breakfast one day but landed up going elsewhere the other days for what we were looking for. (Non-buffet basically).The hotel is in a quiet area just outside of the business district, so it was very quiet during the evenings. The train stations are a 10-15 min walk down the hill and there you will also walk thru a district full of dining options.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi LB1982

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for your time to post the review.
Thank you so very much for your compliments about our front staff members – I will make sure to share them with the team. We are so happy that we were able to help you out and make your trip easier and more comfortable.

As for the pillows, we are sorry you found them flat – next time, please don’t hesitate to let us know so that we will be able to switch them with the better fitted ones for you.
Please come back and see us again upon your return to Japan!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I have nothing but positive comments about the B Akasaka. We spent 2 nights there, location suited us perfect. Room was small (normal for Japanese standards) and Internet was good and fast. The bathroom is very nice no complains on that either. Only 2 things I would improve: there's no closet whatsoever (not that I needed for 2 day but maybe yes for more) and the bed could be better quality (more comfortable). Breakfast was good and staff excellent. Will come back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Eddiecreagh

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for sharing your experience at the hotel.
We are glad you like our bathroom – it definitely is one of our strengths and popular amenities at the hotel. We are sorry we did not meet your expectation regarding our beds and closet. Was your bed too hard or too soft? We have placed francebed, which is known for their great quality beds in Japan. Although the clothes can be still hung in our “closet” space, there is no door to it. It is to make the space more efficient and for the designing purposes. Thank you for your comment regarding our breakfast. I will make sure to share your compliment with our culinary team. Please come back and see us again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed here for 12 nights in the Superior Twin room (the rooms with the double bed was actually smaller smaller so decided against it). Overall, I really liked this hotel and initially my wife hated the size but ended up liking it a lot because of the shower and the toilet! (It's pretty rare to find a shower that is a stand alone shower i.e. isn't part of a dirty bathtub in a Japanese hotel)

Pros:
- Hotel was clean, some of the staff could speak a decent level of English
- Laundry facilities onsite (Washer and Dryer)
- Located away from the hustle and bustle
- The Bathroom was amazing, had your automated 'japanese' toilets (i.e. heated seats, heated spray, deodorizer) and a really cool shower which had a detachable head on the side, a waist level massage spray.
- Wifi downstairs, however, each room had wired internet.
- Pretty cheap!
Cons:
- Room was pretty small, but I expected this. This being said, we were able to fit 60kg of luggage in the room (bags under the desk with suitcases at the end of the bed)
- Dryer is an electric dryer so it takes a while to dry your clothes (about 2.5 hours to be honest)
- Breakfast was the same every day, which would have been ok if we had stayed for less than a week....although, to be fair, the selection was quite good. You could choose - Salmon, Scrambled Eggs, Rice, Miso Soup, Sausages, Potato Wedges, Fruit Salad, Yogurt, Croissant, Japanese pickles.
- I'm 6 foot 2, and struggled to fit under the shower so had the shower head hitting the back of my head, surprisingly, the single bed fit...
Tips:
- Please do not take the steep stairs to the hotel, especially with luggage. As the reviews have mentioned, take Exit 3b at the Akasaka Station which will lead you towards the TBS building. You will walk straight for 2-3 minutes and then there will be a right turn. Walk along this and just as you see a bend towards the stairs turning left, there is an elevator in a concrete shelter. Use this to go to Level 4. Walk straight and look up. You should see a big B sign. That's your hotel.
- I took the Taxi twice, to Roppongi it was about 1000 yen and to Tokyo Station, it was around 1700 Yen. The trains should get you everywhere quite easily, but sometimes, it might be helpful to take the taxi (i.e. With heavy luggage from Tokyo)
- There is a 7 eleven you can go to which is a 4 minute walk but the hill is quite steep. If you head back to the hotel before 11pm from Akasaka Station, go into the Akasaka Biz tower and go to the 7 eleven there. Otherwise, you might have to go to the one which is 24/7 BUT is on a steepish hill.
- Get a PASMO Card (it saves you a lot of time on the trains and you can get a refund afterwards for it). The PASMO Card works on the JR too.
- There is a supermarket nearby (Exit 5) which operates 24 hours and a McDonalds nearby the Station if your desperate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Womble_marley

Greetings from the b akasaka!
Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for sharing your experience.
We loved reading your detailed review as we were sure some travelers would find it very helpful. We really don’t need to add anything to it, do we? We think it is very fair.
We are beyond pleased to be able to cater to you and your family.
Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The staff were super helpful, stored my luggage 4 hours before check-in time. The room is super-cool and modern looking! The shower has a rain-style head, a detachable hand sprayer, and some waist-level sprayers as well! Electronic toilet as is common in Japan (but also looks like brand new). Lots of glass fixtures in the bathroom give it a very airy and relaxing vibe. Bed and lighting are comfortable. Cooler, nice robe, slippers, and tea maker in the room as well as internet cable/plug-in. Not a room you'll be doing morning calisthenics in, but superb for a solo person crashing after walking around Shinkuku/Harijuku/Asakasa all day. I was in the single non-smoking room, btw.

Room Tip: If you close the shower doors right after you get out, the bathroom won't fog at all (and doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Nick C

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for posting a review of your stay.
We are delighted to know you had a great stay and enjoyed the bathroom - the multi-functional shower is definitely one of our guests' favorites!
Thank you also for the pictures! Please come back and see us again!

Best Regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My third stay at The B Akasaka - excellent friendly & helpful staff, fantastic location with a metro stop a few hundred metres away. The rooms are small but well laid out (particularly like the bathroom layout). My 1st winter stay and I found I needed to keep the window open (heating only in winter) so keep that in mind if you like the room a little cooler (wasn't noisy). Wifi was only available in the foyer too (LAN cable in rooms).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Jmpow2

Thank for being a royal guest of the b akasaka and for sharing the comment!
As you have mentioned, our location is one of our strengths - Akasaka is in the middle of Tokyo and has easy access to many of the famous Tokyo sites. We hope you were able to experience great restaurants and bars around us. Please come back and see us again!

Best Regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at The B Akasaka for 7 nights - in short.... awesome!

Hotel is in great location - short 5min walk from Akasaka metro station therefore you have great access to the whole city.

Staff welcoming, friendly and happy to help with local information. Wifi available in reception as well as PC to surf the web were really useful. Breakfast had good variety.

For value, location and staff you cannot fault this hotel.

Would re-book and recommend in an instant.

Thanks to all the team for a great stay in a great city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b akasaka, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Craig S

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you were so happy with your visit to the hotel and will certainly pass on all your wonderful comments to the team.

If you come back to Tokyo, we would be more than happy to look after you again.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards


Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the b akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b akasaka

Address: 7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Minato
#26 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b akasaka 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of the business, entertainment, dining and shopping districts of cosmopolitan Akasaka. Close-by is TBS Studios, Akasaka Sacas and two major subway stations providing easy access to Ginza, Shibuya, Shinjuku and Omote Sando. A short walk away you’ll find the Imperial Palace and the popular nightlife and entertainment area of Roppongi including Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown, Suntory Museum of Art and the National Art Centre. The hotel also features Image SPA facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Venere so you can book your the b akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Akasaka Hotel Minato
b Akasaka Minato
b Akasaka Hotel Minato
The b Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.