We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about room space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of the b akasaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added the b akasaka to your Saves list
the b akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“All about room space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel belongs to the category "Japanese Business Hotels", hotels designed to provide economical (for Japanese standards) and no frills accommodation to domestic business travelers. Japanese travelers are familiar with the type of place and know what to expect. For foreigners, it may be a little trickier.

Hotels in this category are generally modern and of good (midrange) quality, tailored to cater to individuals not spending any leisure time in the hotel and willing to pay just for the essential space, service and amenities to rest and sleep.

About "The b Akasaka", key item of interest to international travelers will certainly be the size of the rooms. The hotel provides accurate and truthful representation on their website and at time of booking you will know a Single Room comes in a size of 10 sqm (107 sqf) with a bed large 110 cm (3.6 ft), a Double Room comes with 13 sqm (140 sqf) and a bed of 140 cm (4.6 ft), a Twin Room comes with two 97 cm (3.2 ft) beds in 17 sqm (183 sqf). Whether you travel alone or with a companion, these may easily be some of the smallest rooms (and beds) you have ever stayed traveling.

I spent at this hotel three days in a Double Room in a business trip. The first impression as I walked through into the room was of disappointment, barely the space to drop the luggage and walk around the bed, which actually turned to be basically no space after opening my luggage and hanging my clothes on the wall (no wardrobe); but I got quickly adapted and in the end enjoyed the experience as a kind of fun. Had I traveled as a couple, my Double Room would have been too small even for my easygoing standards.

If you can cope with the space, all the rest works fine for the hotel grade. The hotel is housed in an elegant building on a quiet hill in an upscale part of town. Service is efficient, infrastructures and amenities are modern, rooms are (i.e. my room was) clean. Wireless available in the lobby only, internet cable in the rooms. TV with Japanese channels only but I believe you may buy pay TV card for an extra charge. Breakfast is very basic but you won't leave hungry. Location also works pretty well, with large choice of restaurants and bars just a few-minute walk away. Subway station is also few minutes away.

All in all, this hotel is ok so long as you understand you are choosing a place suit basically for just resting and sleeping and are willing to live with the discomfort of staying in a very small space.

Room Tip: Twin Room has the largest size but smallest (two) beds. Double Room has size smaller than Twin Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b akasaka, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear gdilieto

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are quite accurate in relation to the hotel. While the focus is on value with the b hotels group, you will see there are less equipped than you would expect in a five-star hotel.

This is typical of many hotels across Japan, and particularly in Tokyo where space is at a premium and the rooms sizes are smaller that the higher category properties. This is why we make the point to list the room sizes and the bed sizes very clearly so guests know what to expect when they visit us.

This model is very popular, not just with domestic guests, but also with foreign travellers who are quite happy to experience Tokyo from a great location, and not pay for a lot of extras they may not require during their stay.

As you mentioned though, the rooms are clean and well-equipped, and all offer fantastic central locations from which to easily explore Tokyo. We do have CNN in English in all guest rooms at the hotel for your reference for future visits.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide an explanation for future guests' information, and we also hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards


Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    142
    36
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
52
48
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kandy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A small but very good hotel. This was the first stop on our visit to Japan. The room was small, shower great and lovely to have fridge and kettle. A big plus was the wonderful coffee machine in the foyer. We arrived about midday, jetlagged, but could not access our room until 3pm, which was a negative for us. The area is very quiet, ..a short walk from the metro, restaurants bars temples etc. Breakfast was good. It was a great introduction to Japanese hotels for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b akasaka, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Eithne E

Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the b akasaka.

We apologise that you were not able to check in before 3pm. The hotel runs a very high occupancy and we do try to accommodate early arrivals as much as possible, but on some occasions we are unable to have the rooms ready in time for early arrival.

As you have mentioned, we do try to add the little extras that help to make your stay more comfortable.

We really hope we have the opportunuty to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TXL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We enjoyed three nights at this hotel. We arrived fairly late due to the flight schedule and the first thing happening while walking through the door was the staff greeting us by name. Apparently they have been waiting for us and we were the only guests "missing" that night. Check-in was flawless and we enjoyed a free coffee from the publicly accessible Seaco Espresso machine in the lobby.

The room is quite small but functional and sparkling clean. The bathroom is indeed only separated but a glass wall (partially blinded), so this is something to get used too. The shower is awesome, a rainforest shower type with many heads and sufficient water pressure. The beds are nice with two pillows on top and a sufficiently soft mattress. The in-room a/c was efficient as well, very important since the outside temperature was over 90F when we stayed there.

The breakfast is okay with many western and Japanese choices providing a good start into the day. There is a free Saeco coffee machine in the lobby making way better coffee than what is provided at breakfast.

I would also like to address issues from other reviewers here:

- The hotel is indeed located at a steep hill, however, a public lift eases that and circumvents any climbing. Fortunately, the lift is right by the metro station and about 150m away from the hotel (2 minutes). Just go straight out of the hotel into the little side road and you will see the lift on the right hand side before the side road curves to the left. Easy and very convenient.

- The room, at least for Japanese 3-star hotels, is not particularly small. Although I am far away from calling is big or spacious, you may encounter many smaller rooms while in Japan.

- We paid a fixed fare of about 100$ to the hotel (including the night surcharge and all tolls) and about $80 from the hotel to Haneda airport. Taking a cab from Narita is just a bad idea, I mean honestly who would take a cab for more than 50 miles in a high-price country like japan and get upset with the price afterwards? Furthermore, the taxi driver had no issues at all in locating the hotel.

- location: Minato is a very quiet, safe, and somewhat upcoming area in Tokyo. While it is not very close to all the sights and it is true that you need to change metro lines at least once, we liked the quiet environment with no interruption to sleep at all. There is a sufficient (if not overwhelming) number of restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b akasaka, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear super-grobi

Thank you for taking the time to not only post your own review, but also address some of the comments made by other reviewers.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel - indeed it is very handy, and as there are so many sights in Tokyo it always invlolves jumpnig on and off trains to see them all.

We are also pleased that you were so warmly welcomed by the team at the hotel - we like to offer the personal touch, and I am sure the coffee on arrival also was a very welcome addition.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, and we would expect that you will receive the same fine service.

Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

A perfect base to explore the city whether by foot or public transport. Akasaka itself was great and had temples, restaurants, bars, shops and metro stops.

The room was very well equipped with high quality appliances. The shower was the best ever and the fridge was great for cold drinks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b akasaka, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear David C

Thank you for your comments.

We love that you enjpyed yoru stay at the hotel - so central, all the facilities you need and a fantastic shower.

We hope to welcome you back to this wonderful city again, and of course the b akasaka.

Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great location, within walking distance from the nice restaurants and shops of Akasaka and Roppongi (look for the shortcut that brings you to Roppongi Mid Town commercial centre in 10 minutes).
Rooms are clean and well equipped, but really really small. There are no closets, and you will always bump into your suitcases on the floor.
Beware: if you are taller than 5.6 ft/170 cm, you will find it difficult to sleep and to move around!

However, given the level of hotel rates in Tokyo, this is a good base for exploring the city without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b akasaka, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear mc582

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share them on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

As you mentioned, the rooms are small, but being in such a wonderful city guests spend most of their time out-and-about, and the money saved on the hotel room also comes in handy for the extra shopping and sightseeing.

As mentioned, the location is very good, and you can easily access all that Tokyo is famous for.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Good hotel, clean and with a nice and efficient staff. In my opinion the location is pretty convenient, central to the main Tokyo neighbourhoods, and close to many restaurants and convenience shops, and to a subway station (Akasaka). The only problem with location is that to get there from the station you have to climb a steep (and a mean steep!) uphill street. A possible alternative is to use the Akasaka-mitsuke station which is maybe just 10 minutes farther away but serves more lines and the way is much easier.

Rooms are small, clean and well organised in the usual Japanese way (no closet or drawers), so no surprise here. I didn't like that the bathroom walls are in fact glass panels, translucent up to about 50 cm from the ceiling and transparent above this. I suppose the idea is to save space, but it's pretty inconvenient: complete lack of isolation for noise (you know, these very private and personal noises...) and light (you illuminate all the room if you use it at night, which will disturb your roommate sleep).

There's free Internet available at the lobby with both a portable PC and wifi. Free good coffee and tea are also available there.

Breakfast buffet is OK with a short selection of Japanese and western style food.

I can't comment on price/performance because we stayed as part of a package trip.

All in all, a pretty good alternative for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi elviatger,

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are sorry that we were not able to share the route without the hill - there is a way you can take an elevator to avoid the hill. Please let us know before your visit next time. We would love to give you the direction!

Thank you again for your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a great place to stay when vacationing in Tokyo. As we were out sight seeing the whole day, the small room did not bother us at all. And since it's located within a business area, you wont need to worry about noises and will be able to get a good nights sleep.
Access to the hotel, always walk from Akasaka Station Exit C06. Any other exits will be a hike up a long flight of stairs or a really steep slope. From Exit C06, walk towards the TBS Broadcast Centre's parking lot, hidden just before a flight of stairs is a public elevator open 24hrs that you can use. After a long day of sight-seeing, walking up another flight of stairs is just torture.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi Ann W,

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for writing a review of the hotel.

We are beyond happy that you have rated us five and call us "great place to stay." We are happy to be able to be your base in Tokyo!

Also thank you for sharing your direction - we are sure that will help our future guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the b akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b akasaka

Address: 7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Minato
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#26 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of the business, entertainment, dining and shopping districts of cosmopolitan Akasaka. Close-by is TBS Studios, Akasaka Sacas and two major subway stations providing easy access to Ginza, Shibuya, Shinjuku and Omote Sando. A short walk away you’ll find the Imperial Palace and the popular nightlife and entertainment area of Roppongi including Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown, Suntory Museum of Art and the National Art Centre. The hotel also features Image SPA facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your the b akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Akasaka Hotel Minato
b Akasaka Minato
b Akasaka Hotel Minato
The b Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.