We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of the b akasaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added the b akasaka to your Saves list
the b akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small but comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in March and overall the hotel is up to standard. The location is around 10 minutes from Akasaka subway station but you need to walk either uphill or along a long stairway before reaching there, as it was still pretty cold at night in March and I returned to hotel usually after 11pm, the walk might be quite a struggle given the strong winds along the way but in general it's not a too difficult walk. I took taxi from Tokyo station upon arrival and also taxi to the nearest hotel to get on airport limousine to Narita airport though because it might be kind of difficult to get there just by walking uphill. Staff speaks good English and is ready to help to book limousine tickets from the nearby hotels. Rooms are in general typical Tokyo room size but is comfortable enough for us Asians. Might be a bit small for foreigners of larger body build but I note a lot of foreign tourists staying here. Breakfast is buffet style. One thing however though the hotel is a new one and kind of "business-type" style, only the lobby offers free wifi but not in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hi mmys704

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for posting a review of your stay.

Getting to our hotel is not the easiest thing to do with a lot of luggage, and that is why we have a stay plan called the Taxi plan. If you book it, we will gladly reimburse your taxi cost for one meter, which is enough from Akasaka station, the nearest rail station to our hotel.

There is a route where you can take an elevator to skip the hills and stairs. This elevator is near the TBS building right near the staircase as you exit Akasaka Station. Please also contact the hotel before your arrival for additional details.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    142
    36
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
52
48
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We found this location and hotel after a long search. The hotel itself is as advertised and commented upon by other guests - very clean with a very friendly and courteous staff. The rooms are fairly small but adequate for tourists - we were out and about during the day and just wanted a comfortable place to sleep. We found the place, Akasaka centrally located to all major tourist destination - easy access to shops, places to eat and the subway. There are great place to dine at the Biz Tower, located within a 5 minute walk to the hotel.
The coolest thing we found was convenience that the 7-11's offered, fruits, snacks, personal care items etc..- there are a couple of them within a few minutes by walk. Also, btw , the ATM machines at the 7-11's will allow you to access your accounts (we had ours at a local bank in Palo Alto), in the event you need to withdraw cash, like we had to since the places around there would not take TC's and it was close to midnight on a Sunday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear B G

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for writing a review of your experience with us.

We like the restaurants in the Biz Tower as well as many other places around the hotel. We also have an Italian restaurant called Liana at the hotel. They serve great pizzas so please check it out next time you are here. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Cosy hotel, only a 5-minute walk from the nearest Tokyo Metro station - Akasaka. Quiet neighbourhood considering it's a couple stops away from Shinjuku, Shibuya, etc.

Room was on the small side, as is the norm with Japanese hotels (see photos). The buffet breakfast was served at the restaurant adjacent to the lobby and had continental as well as Japanese options - meaning that having the same breakfast for 7 days wasn't an issue.

Exit 7 from Akasaka station takes you down the main road, filled with convenience stores and restaurants or take Exit 4 for a more picturesque stroll past the high-class diners and illuminated trees. Both exits have steep inclines and unfortunately we took Exit 7 when we first arrived, having to drag our luggage uphill.

TIP: We followed some locals one morning and discovered an elevator. Exit 3B from Akasaka station will take you up two escalators. At the top of the second, there will be a covered path - follow this path (it will wind to the right, with the TBS building on your left). The path will then wind to the left and by now, you should see the dreaded stairs. However, at this 'corner' (where the path turns left), on your right there should be a small entrance. The elevator is hidden in this corner. Hop in, take the elevator to level 4 - the hotel is a short, 1-min walk down the road. Easy!

Overall a cosy place and not too far from many big areas in Tokyo, would recommend if you're looking for a good, quiet night's sleep just out of the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Obses2ion

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for taking the time to write a review of us.
We are happy to hear that you liked the b breakfast. Your tip looks great as that is what we would recommend at the hotel.

As you mentioned, although we are centrally located, we are in a quiet neighborhood. We are glad that you would recommend us.

Thank you again for the review. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great hotel tucked in a quiet area in the business district but still within 5 mins to the subway and restaurants and bars. Small but modern and serviceable rooms. Just realize that in Tokyo, space is a premium and do expect the rooms to be small. Travelling with kids could be a challenge due to this but singles and couples should find it fine. Staff speak English and there's internet (Ethernet cable) connectivity in the rooms and wifi in the lobby. It is in the middle of most major areas in Tokyo (around 10-15mins Subway) and Roppongi is a brisk 15-20mins walk away which lends to its central but paradoxically quiet location. Just perfect to escape the hyper energy after visits to Shibuya or Shinjuku.

Room Tip: Make sure you insist on a non-smoking room if you're a non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear DonaldLim75

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Yes, our rooms are Japanese sized - we try to make our space as efficient as possible. If a guest prefers a bigger space, we would recommend a superior twin room because it is almost a double space compared to a standard single room.

We have noticed that many travelers find it too much to stay in those fun but loud areas such as Shibuya and Shinjuku. Although we are close to Roppongi, Shinjuku and other busy and energetic areas, we try to provide a sense of calmness, cleanness, and a “laid back” feel at the b akasaka. We hope we can be a special Tokyo base and more.

Thank you again for choosing the b akasaka and posting your review.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great hotel. Good location with a subway station just 5mins walk away and plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Central too which means you aren;t more than 10-15min (by subway away) from any attraction. Good range of food for breakfast including western stuff like cereal and toast! Rooms are small but modern but no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear DublinBrianDublin

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the b akasaka.
We think location is one of the most important factors for choosing a hotel, so we are happy to know that you find us close to most of the popular attractions. The Tokyo metro subway system might look overwhelming and confusing but it is not hard once you get used to it, and it can be fun.

We are happy that we were able to provide a good breakfast for you. Yes, our rooms are Tokyo sized – we try to make them efficient as possible.
Please come back and see us again. We look forward to welcoming you!

Best regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a lovely hotel in the business district. Was quite close to the subway, yet we got lost the first time trying to find the hotel and took a taxi! The only time we ever took a taxi as getting around Tokyo is easy once you understand the train system.
The rooms were small (I've stayed in smaller believe me), but were very comfortable with all the amenities one could ask for. Breakfast was pretty average, not really catering for westerners! Toast, croissants & scramble eggs don't really cut it when there is a big variety catering to the locals! Close to the heart of Akasaka and the best Curry in Tokyo! Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Not much really as am guessing all the rooms are pretty much the same size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear tassh

Thank you for taking the time to post our review.
Sorry to hear you had trouble finding the hotel and had to take a taxi. Please give us a call next time so that we will be able to guide you to the hotel.

We are happy to hear that you felt very comfortable in your room with all of the amenities installed because it is our everyday goal to meet our guests’ needs and comfort. I will share your opinion about the breakfast with our culinary team – we could consider adding more Western options.
Please come back and see us again! We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Best regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 10 day stay at the B Hotel in Akasaka. When reading this review, you have to realize that one is visiting Tokyo, and the rooms will be somewhat smaller than one is probably used to when traveling abroad. I thought the rooms would be smaller and was somewhat surprised that a desk and a small fridge was provided. We had a room with two twin beds, the beds are somewhat firm, but we had packed two pillows and adjusted ourselves to be comfortable. Great size bathroom, the toilet seat is heated, that is correct, heated. Great blinds that lock and block out the sun so you can sleep longer :). CNN International is provided, just hit "bilingual" channel on the remote to turn off the Japanese language. The breakfast does not vary, so we did skip breakfast a couple of days due to this fact. Breakfast options include rice, eggs, yogurt, bread, miso soup. Down the steep hill (3 minute hill), there is a bakery called the New York City Bakery (NYCB), just turn left down the hill and turn left again at the light, and the bakery is in a small alcove on the right. The baker actually lived in New York and speaks good english. So, alternatives are available in the area for breakfast.

The hotel does not mention this, but right across the street is a small store available so one does not need to walk up and down 3 minute hill to make it to the 7-11. Just walk across the street and say "ATM" to the guard, and he will let you in the building and you can go to the ATM or the small store.

My uncle lives in Tokyo, and overall, this place is a great location next to a lot of great things in Tokyo. Great lighting, great staff, free coffee in lounge, good vending machine with soda or noodles, and laundry.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear TDabbs

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to write a review of us.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to provide you and your boyfriend a comfortable stay and you would call us a “great hotel in Akasaka.”

Our rooms are Japanese sized but we do try to make the space as efficient as possible. We are also equipped with technologically-advanced bathrooms (including heated toilets!), bilingual TVs, free freshly brewed coffee, free internet, vending machines and more.

We are happy to hear that you found them useful and helped your stay more comfortable. About our breakfast, I will share your comment with our breakfast team for improvement and maybe a little more variety.

We would like to thank you again for posting your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best Regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the b akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b akasaka

Address: 7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Minato
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#26 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of the business, entertainment, dining and shopping districts of cosmopolitan Akasaka. Close-by is TBS Studios, Akasaka Sacas and two major subway stations providing easy access to Ginza, Shibuya, Shinjuku and Omote Sando. A short walk away you’ll find the Imperial Palace and the popular nightlife and entertainment area of Roppongi including Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown, Suntory Museum of Art and the National Art Centre. The hotel also features Image SPA facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your the b akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Akasaka Hotel Minato
b Akasaka Minato
b Akasaka Hotel Minato
The b Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.