We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plate Tokyo

Plate Tokyo
2-10-1 Nishiazabu | Nishiazabu Asia Bldg.1F, Minato 106-0031, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)
+81 80-4689-9059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 7,644 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $111 - $171
Cuisines: Italian, French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: French, Italian, Tokyo cusine Located in the center of Tokyo, just a short walk from Roppongi, Nishiazabu, Omotesando, Nogizaka and Hiroo station, plate is the perfect place in Tokyo to enjoy tasty meals in a friendly atmosphere. Plate's chefs combine French and Italian gastronomy with local Japanese ingredients ; example hint of soy sauce; to make a "world cuisine", always aiming at providing the people in Tokyo with tasty dishes.Feel free to come enjoy chef's creativity for lunch and dinner, or simply to have a taste of the cheese selection, along with a glass of wine.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I live near this place, but having hundreds of options to choose for, I end up going to Plate Tokyo whenever I want to eat well. Great terrace and lovely ambiance, this is the place famous Tokyo people choose to go for dinner. I've met architects, designers, wine critics and even one tenor here.
Recommended visit if you are alone, you will end up talking to someone for sure, and maybe becoming good friends!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Plate tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant in Minato. Friendly owner and delicious food. Highly recommend a visit. The owner speaks English well and makes it easy to order!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jbd925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous restaurant. We had the set menu which was course after course of divine tasting dishes. Fabulous wine list featuring Australian wines. The owner/host and staff are attentive and friendly. A perfect evening.

Helpful?
2 Thank jade737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and unassuming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had the set menu for ¥8,000 yen. Food was absolutely beautiful and delicious . Only way to describe it is a mix of italian/french/spanish in a very modern style using ingredients from abroad and Japan

Sometimes this kind of cuisine can be a bit "overdone" but chef managed perfectly.

The service was happy and casual, yet professional, great wine suggestions made by the owner and sommelier.

Restaurant had a nice overall atmosphere classy without being pretentious. Sometimes I feel restaurants in Tokyo can get stuck in a time warp of the classic french way. Plate Tokyo just does great food, great wine, great service in a nice relaxed environment.

Will be back when visiting tokyo!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a party of eight for a business dinner. We each ordered the same course menu and the sommelier on staff helped us pick wines to go with each course. Each course was presented like a work of art. This is not a place to go if you are in a hurry but the wait between courses was reasonable given that we were eight people getting eight little works of art each time. The food itself was very well considered -- meaning that there would be a little dot of something unexpected that added a additional dimension to the flavor.

I didn't pay the bill, but my sense was that the prices for the food were reasonable for Tokyo. I have no idea what the wine cost.

I would definitely go back soon but I think that a party of more than eight would be a challenge without making some very specific arrangements in advance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plate Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Plate Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing